How important is an engagement ring to you?

Re: How important is an engagement ring to you?

No ring, no wedding. :snooty:

it is veryyyyyyyy deep topic....ring is a multicultural tradition dats y every1 expect to hv from his or her fiance...but the thing is,dat its only a symbol for being engaged...we some1 is strongly commited then its more important than a ring....many n so many times i hear dat his or her engagement has been broken for some reason so wat is the use of dat ring??actually the commetment is important n loyallity between 2 should b strong...n offcourse as a present or gift money or anything could b given....wat say rite?

Very important as it signifies you are officially off the market :P

I posted in May last, and we got our nikkah done randomly! Anyway so I got a ring, and it was a complete surprise for me. I was really taken by his thoughtfulness because I really wasn't expecting anything from him.

Later one of my aunts was looking at it (closer inspection), and my other aunt commented, oh it's a 1 karat? then the other commented NO NO 1 KARAT IS A LOT MORE! And the whole time I had the biggest smile on my face, because I know it is a very small ring, not big or 1 karat at all. I was just waiting for them to kindly pass my ring back! It means so much to me big or not big. Just the fact that he got me something means more than any 1, 2 or 5 karat ring!

Then he got me a beautiful delicate bracelet for Eid and I just got him a box of chocolates. It's really the thought that counts.

It's important cuz its something you wl cherish all your life hoperfuly, a good memory :). Now how big or small it is, shouldnt matter much. I would want mine to be 4 carat (thapars to me) lolz but han 1 carat bi chalega :P.
On a serious note, one hopes ke sab k kismat ache hon warna 1-4 carat kuch meaning nahi rakhta.

^aww i agree lol. i think 1 karat is coming close to tasteless/obnoxious anyway.

I didn't get an engagement ring as we did not have an engagement as such, instead we exchanged rings at the nikaah, however it was an 'engagement type ring'. I bought a band later.

Before I got married, I placed a huge importance on a ring, always wanting a classic solitaire, western influence of course. My fiancé wasn't interested in the ring, so I just picked what I liked. Although because it wasn't something he chose, to me it wasn't a token of his 'love', and just another piece of jewellery I have bought over the years. But at the time it still made me happy.

A few of you may know me from life - the one that got divorced :)

So as my marriage failed, and I came to see the person that he was, my ring obviously became a burden. I can't even remember the amount of times I actually threw it in the bin only to reclaim it later. No one in their right mind puts something so expensive in a kitchen bin, but it just goes to show that the price, how pretty it is or how big the rock is does really not matter. It is the meaning behind it, what it stands for that does.

The ring should be a very personal thing, something that signifies a couple’s relationship, desi weddings are showy enough, it’s a shame that the 'ring' has become another excuse to show off about or even have to justify to other people. While I was still married I often used to get compliments from friends about my ring, and instead of making me happy it used make me feel sick and like a hypocrite in that my ring portrayed 'picture perfect' when it was far from.

I have partner - don't know why calling him my boyfriend just doesn't seem right, and I am waiting on him to pop the question, sooner rather than later I hope lol. He is of the thought that one should propose with a ring, I guess because we are a couple and it’s not arranged. So to me how he proposes... what we are as a couple.. and what we mean to one other means far more than the actual ring. I want him to choose it, I don't want to see it and so its signifies his love for me. However that is not to say that I will not appreciate it, of course I will but if he didn't place any importance on a ring, then I would be perfectly happy with that too. It is my relationship with him that matters.

So in saying all this, I think your friend should definitely focus on her relationship. I don't think any man in today age is oblivious to what an engagement ring is. So if he hasn't got her one then obviously it’s intentional for whatever reason that maybe. Her asking for a ring now I don't think will gel well with the family especially since it’s an arranged setting and if he did get a her a ring upon request then I think it doesn't signify what it is meant to in the first place, I think she would eventually see it as just a piece of jewellery. Maybe he will get her a wedding band, she could talk to him about that, possibly bring it up by asking him what kind of band he would like. So look forward to that. As for what to say to friends, then yes she should just say it’s not a cultural necessity, which indeed it is not :)

I still have the ring, so I’ll post a pic.

x

just realised this was an old thread..sorry!

x

thanks for sharing!