How do you react to a 'Hafiz-e-Quran' RISHTA ?

Of course, ideally speaking we all would say that this should be the first priority, but in real life, what reaction does the family get ? Ohh..does she do niqaab ? Does he have a beard ? Shouldn’t I accept him/her as s/he is, because that is part of his/her personality ? Is s/he going to throw away the TV, Movie CDS,…etc ? Is he that aggressive type of extremist, or very polite tolerating tableeghi type ?

Or Thats great ! We would get a chance to listen to his/her Qirat, improve our ‘tallafuz’…etc.

There might be bad individual examples that might have ruined the general impression to a certain extent. But, even though I myself am not a Hafiz (I would have if my parents hadn’t forced me to do Ph.D in civil engg.), I believe that Quran, the WORD of Allah (swt), when associated with anything/ anyone raise its value to maximum. After being associated with the nazool of Quran, Jibrail (a.s) got the highest status among angels. The land on which Quran was first recited, became the most HOLY land of ALL (Makkah). The month in which Quran came, become the holiest of all (Ramadan). The Prophet (saw) who got asscoiated to Quran became the “Imaam-ul-Ambiya”. Even an ordinary and cheap cloth that if used to cover the Holy Quran becomes so honorable that people kiss it every time they pick the Quran…and so on…

THEN, why does the chest in which Quran is preserved, not more valuable than the one in which the worldly knowledge is preserved. (talking in general. Of course their ALWAYS are exceptions) Even though His/her worldly salary might be relatively just reasonable, but the infinite blessings that s/he brings along to our home can’t be seen with naked eyes.

Re: How do you react to a 'Hafiz-e-Quran' RISHTA ?

A Hafiz shouldn't be taken at face value. Most Hafiz friends of mine are actually not very good Muslims at all.

Is he a Hafiz that can actually understand the Quran, or just recite Arabic while rocking back and forth?

^ Lets say, not only understands the Quran, but also 'knows' and tries his/her level best to practice, to the extent possible what is allowed, and what is forbidden in terms of Quran and Hadith. (without imposing his views on anyone else)

^if he/she is that kinda person then he/she doesn't necessarily have to be a hafiz to be considered a good rishta

This, definitely

But of course s/he would be a pain to tolerate (for few people), when he refuses to indulge into anything that is part of modern fashion + enlightened moderation and conflicts with his beliefs.

Hafiz or one with world knowledge shouldn't determine the kind of person he/she is. Like Rizla said just because someone is Hafiz doesn't automatically means they are good muslims. Likewise, if someone is highly educated in worldy knowledge doesn't mean they are good muslims or a good person.

Sorry I was been facetious, in an ideal world everybody would be a Hafiz but then we might not have any doctors, nurses etc. To be honest I don't really understand the question, since when has it been a negative to be learned about your religion?

^ Of course everyone can't become a hafiz. But I am sure I am not the only one who has seen eye brows raised among the 'educated' Muslim families when it was mentioned that the guy is very religious and Hafiz-e-Quran.

Well, if we speak generally. Just like education mostly brings along with it good manners, understanding, courtesy...etc. Similarly the "taseer" (effect) of Quran is such that it does have a great impact on a person's character, wisdom, sincerity...etc. unless the person is too determined to resist the positive impact of reciting Quran. If a hadith says that reciting Quran washes away the rust of the heart, then it must have done a lot to the heart of the one who has been reciting it continuously, day and night, for years.

Re: How do you react to a ‘Hafiz-e-Quran’ RISHTA ?

it is a noble deed no doubt…but it doesn’t not guarantee a persons piousness at all…most of the molvi politicians are haafiz…didn’t have an effect on them at all…:rolleyes:

To be honest I have never understood the point of reciting something that you can't understand. Sure, been a Hafiz is great and shows an ability to memorise vast quantities of words, but can they apply any of that knowledge to their daily life? If not then I would rather take a non Hafiz who can read the Quran, try to understand it and apply it to their life.

Well, even if we consider a non-hafiz, who can clearly understand Quran, he can still become really irritating (unintentionally) on a lot of occasions for 'certain' families. Because s/he would try to take every step considering how the prophet (saw) would have taken it in present times. S/he doesn't have his/her own views because s/he can't ignore the 'Islamic perspective' even for a second in any situation. Of course s/he has the right to do whatever is related to him/her. But if that makes him look different than many others in the family and hence his/her **actions **leads to the exposure of non-Islamic behaviors of many people in the family, he is going to have many enemies.

^ Parents usually look that far while considering Rishta for their child.

Knowing what I know about deen now, if I was unmarried and have 2 choices - a hafiza and a non hafiza (everything else remains the same), I would go for the Hafiza.

This is beyond Hafiz or not Hafiz...I think you're trying to say that If a person is religious, he may create himself some enimies because he disapproves of non-islamic behaviour??

I dont know why people raise their eye brows on Hafiz... Hafiz-e-Quran or a religious person doesn't mean he or she has will be rigid and will not enjoy things in life... i know few people who are Hafiz and actually try hard to implement this in their life... but they do enjoy things like they do wear normal clothes and go out ... they just dont do sick things ...

yes i do agree there are some people who have made things bit difficult and i dont wana comment on their believes but i guess you need to analyze on case by case basis its hard to generalize in either way.

i know a couple of hafiz guyz .. n boy o boy r they the furthest thing from a good pious practicing muslim .. they are worse than guyz who are not hafiz .. its quite shocking when u listen to them speak n their actions .. WOW !

a hafiz-e-quran's rishta for me is a no. cause all the haifiz-e-quran i have seen are quite religious like naqaab, beard etc etc. i am not like that and i want my life partner to be like me (not exactly the same but similar) so that we can both live a peaceful life. however if they are just hafiz quran and lead the life pretty much like me then yes i wont mind then....mashallah it will be a blessing that my life partner is a hafiz-e-quran and will help our children.

Most hafiz are good, true,

...but being hafiz does not necessarily mean the person will be nice.

Yes they do lie or can cause problem for others.

Human being are weak and being hafiz does not change that fact.

And yes, to what TLK said...a hafiza has added quality.

Re: How do you react to a ‘Hafiz-e-Quran’ RISHTA ?

paison ki chamak ne andha kiya hua hai, religion, mulk kuch nazar nahi ata.