My family always drinks ‘English Tea’. We brewed the teabags in hot water and added warm milk to our cups. But my mil thinks this is a terrible way to make chai. She has to have ‘cuti’ chai. She boils the water, milk and teabag in a pot together. I can drink it either way. I’ve even enjoyed Indian chai with spices. But I hate the Starbucks chai…yuck. How do you guys like your chai?
i need to have an ilachi in my chai.. n i make it liek u do saima... i hate the milk water patti )dhoodh patti" chai... My hubby loves that one but ugh.. i hate the way it tatses super stronggg
i love karak ilaichi wali dudh patti thats been cooked long with all the ingredients [milk, sugar, patti…patti n sugar added after milk boils n ilaichi added a lil before the end..tastes great even without ilaichi if its cooked well]… ![]()
and i love well made kashmiri chai [the pink one] with a generous sprinkle of meway [dry nuts] on the top drools
its sooooo good ![]()
the taste of the chai also depends on which milk u use, how good the patti is, and if u use proper sugar…i reckon making good chai is an art…
the best chai i had in my life was at this khokha in thatta, a small town in sindh…sigh it was soooooooooooooooooooooooo yummilly good :love: ![]()
I'm not a big fan of milk so I prefer "karak chai" (with a stronger taste of tea)....
mee too as above ,i dont like doodh patti chai, but i like very strong chai, with very little milk( my family calls it truck driveron wali chai).
i dont mind if it is mix or seprate.
Hey I have a question about that pink Kashmiri tea. I'm half Afghani Pathan and half Kashmiri, but my husband is full Kashmiri. He says he loves pink tea. I asked his mom how to make it and she said it's just green tea that you add baking soda to and mix it around. Is this the correct way to make it?
strong chai,with lille milk added on top of it and very lille or sometimes without sugar,just can not take meethi chai !!
I drink both chai Doodhpatti and that seperate chai.
My hubby like's more that doodhpatti chai.
Doodhpatti is very heavy if you drink it after
your dinner but seperate chai is very light.
Nilu
strong chai :D
I ONLY drink English style chai. Pour boiling water over a bag of Brooke Bond Red Label in a mug. Brew for two minutes covered, add sugar and microwaved hot Whole milk. Stir and drink.
Can't stand the doodh patti wali. Too heavy for my Americanised stomach. Everytime I drank doodh pati, I got diahrreah.
Ilaichi, masala all that crap is for the Indians.
Kashmiri (pink) chai is quite good. I also like mint tea. I'm not much of a housewifey kind of girl so all I do is warm up water with the teabag in the microwave and then add milk and sugar (if I'm preparing for one). Simple, uncomplicated, and still comes out pretty tasty.
*Originally posted by saimanyc: *
Hey I have a question about that pink Kashmiri tea. I'm half Afghani Pathan and half Kashmiri, but my husband is full Kashmiri. He says he loves pink tea. I asked his mom how to make it and she said it's just green tea that you add baking soda to and mix it around. Is this the correct way to make it?
Hi Saimanyc, I'm also half kashmiri from my mothers side and she also makes her tea with added baking soda :)
I like making my tea in a coffee maker with lipton yellow label wali khullee pattee not the tea bags(occasionally use tetley tea bags) with no sugar. Add some boiled hot milk to it and dunk cake rusks in it or some other dunkable cookies.
Kashmiri tea is yummy too, salty or sweet with ground nuts.
I boil the water, add the teabag, and then some milk. Only when I'm drinking green tea, do I boil everything together. :)
yasmin tea i love it! especially when ure ill it makes u feel so much better
otherwise normally i dont drink tea at all, my parents drink only 'English-Tea' they dont really like the other kind, but ive tasted Kashmiri tea, its kinda heavy but lovely to drink occasionally
what i want to know is how do you make iced tea ?? im dying to know, and where does the cream come in??
i like my chai with cookies.. lots of them.. i don't care if my chai finishes.. i grab the chai of nearest person present and continue to dunk away... muhahahahah
Pakistani Dunkin' Cookie Monster Abroad
Dunking is fun. A friend's kids aged 4,5 would HAVE to dunk their cookies in their parents chai before they took a bite. I thought it was so cute cause their parents would just pull their cups down to the kids level and let them put their cookies in.
PA What if their tea is full of remains from cookies they themselves dunked??? muahahah to that ![]()
My sisters kids always do that too Saima. They take turns dunking cookies in everyones tea, one by one.
Oh yes i Love kashmiri chai too :-)
Kashmiri Chai is nice.
Indian Spice tea is horrible, once my mates mum made me some and I tasted and almost puked, has a horrible smell, I don’t know if that was ‘cuz I kept having the thought of them probably using the same cups for drinking urine or it was the taste of the tea itself, but I just let it sit their on the table and then said “aunty meri chai thandi ho chukki hai” and she’s like “mein aur bana deti houn” and I went “no rehnay deejiye, I’ll warm it in the microwave” as soon as I went to the kitchen it went down the sink and I told them I drank it in the kitchen, loll…
And English tea is not strong enough.