How do you know...

Re: How do you know...

ccznbvvdfjbxmma sjt

Re: How do you know…

Wow, I am like that too and also ahead of my time.

Let’s exchange notes sometime. :smiley:

Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

Okay well i guess they just do everything together lol

hahahah :omg: wtf

this thread caught me by surprise....i didnt expect to hear about too many desi dads being affectionate. :)

yea i usually hear aunties and uncles saying that it took yrs for their love to grow. i suppose it’s because most of them had arranged marriages?

:cb:

my parents are your typical desi parents.
never seen 'em hold hands, hug each other - so yeah, desi :p
not the very touch, feely type.

but it's there. they'll crack up with an inside joke of their own, i seen my dad play footsies with my mum before :D
and my mum'll be like 'ki karday payoo?' and they'll be a smirk in her voice.
but that's like once in a blue moon. it's all good. they love each other =)

do your parents need to show you how much they love each other?

:rotfl: hahahahhahaha :rotfl:

My parents are funny and they did everything which we generation are doing.They love each other tooo much.Actually my dad cannot do anything without my mum's mashwara.Even they used to play like kids in front of us and abbu ji ammi ko itna chakkar dete they ke ham hamste rehtay thay:CareBear: and now after retirement my abbu cooks for my mum:CareBear:and when he was on job my dad used to cook on weekends for my mom aur ammi her waqt kehti rehti theen "bache dekh rahe hain khuch sharam ker lo":CareBear:IT was so much fun MASHALLAH oh i cannot imagine.I love this thread muzna:)

well yea obviously. it was all chaos in the beginning, different ways of dealing with different things etc. but i think living here, almost alone, might have brought them a bit more closer, and they might have realized it is ok to be all mushy gushy. (ofcourse, i go ewwwwww :p). also, i think on my end atleast, there was huge pressure for them to…for the lack of better word, accept each other.

like i love the relationship between my khala and uncle right now. my khala said it takes years and a lot of practice to get the relationship they have right now. she doesn’t disregard the fact that they had a lot of fights, and a lot of disagreements. but she does say that it paid off. they belong to the older generation, so for them, there hasn’t been touchy feely, but just their actions, and their little arguments. Aww mashallah! :cb:

Because I freqently find myself saying "Ewwww, cut it out!"

the point of this thread was to find out how many of us have seen public displays of affection within out own families.

those that have are happy to have witnessed it.....at least most of them are.....
and those that haven't, I'm sure, would not have minded seeing it.

so why are we so critical when we see young couples behaving this way?
why is it so taboo for a bride and groom to whisper in each other's ear at their valima?
why is it so bad for a guy to put his arm around his wife and walk down the street?

Muzna jee, there is difference between two people making out in public. It depends on you social belief, if you are conservative, you will either be angry or embarssed. If you are use to such things, you will think that "let them be happy", but when it comes to watching your own parents making out. It is simply gross and taints your memory for entire life.

About 10 years ago, docs found a spot on my Mom-s chest x-ray and said lung cancer. She underwent huge surgery to remove/test it....came back non-cancerous. My dad, this stoic navy-fighter-pilot guy broke down in tears to the point that he couldnt speak when he heard the news. If thats not love then I give up

What a beautiful story! :)

yikes ,

we're not talking about making out. we're discussing subtle public displays off affection like whispering into each other's ears....a slight peck on the cheek, arms around shoulders, placing head on shoulders. that would taint my memory...in a really good way. i dont see how that would be bad influence on kids. rather it would make kids have a healthy attitude towards love