How do you get this point across

Salam all,

I have a dilemma, we have this acquaintance (meet occasionally at different ppl’s home) . They have grown up kids who are between the ages of 25-18.
Now this couple is 10-12 years older to us and we in turn are 10-12 years older to their kids.
Their kids call us uncle and aunty, and it makes me cringe.
How can I tell the couple’s kids to call us bhai and bhabi.

Re: How do you get this point across

So many witty replies. So little time.

:wsalam:
call their parents uncle and aunty ji, masla hal. next prayshani. :chai:

Wasalam..just deal with it. Is there
Any specific reason why you are offended by this? Doesn't seem like sucha huge issue

ask them ... "do we look like aunty and uncle?" ... If NOT, then call us Bhai N Bhabhi :)

You start calling them uncle and aunty, this older couple. Either they'll get annoyed and talk to you about it and then you can share your grievance with them too. Or they won't get annoyed and you'll have the satisfaction of payback.

STA, you're fast.

I knew there would be more witty answers than serious ones.

Kish Mish, the only reason I am offended is when ppl don't act their age and they feel the need to call anyone or everyone who is married aunty. There are many ppl we meet who look older than us, have kids older than ours but I call them by their names reason that they are a couple of years older to me. and They have pre-teenager kids who call us uncle and aunty no issues there.

I just don't like being called aunty by a 25 year old when I am only 7 years older to that person.

Just laugh and say it sounds weird and ask them to say bhai, etc.

I think, in our desi culture it is normal to say aunty.

^ I can never get myself to call someone uncle or aunty, unless I know them really well. I can always finds a way to address someone without using uncle/aunty or even their name, cause that might come across as disrespectful.

Just a minor point - if you are 7 years older than the 25 yr old and their youngest kid is 18 then you are 7-14 years older than their kids. And if your husband is same age as yours the range remains unchanged. If the kids' parents are 10-12 yrs older than you they are 42-44 yrs old. So they are 17-19 years older than their oldest kid. Probably married very young.

On a serious note when speaking to their kids say things like Salim bhai this Salim bhai that... while referring to your husband (whose name for purpose of this post is Salim). And he refers to you as automne77 bhabi. Keep at it. They will get the message.

We both are 32 and their oldest is 25 while youngest is 17.
I call their mom baji and their dad bhai. Even though we know they are quite older than us. It just feels awkward when their oldest child calls me aunty.

if you are calling them baji and bhai, then dont expect their children call you baji bhai too. as per my understanding, if someone is calling to my mom and dad baji and bhai, then i will call that person uncle or aunty.

Sta aap young couples ko bhee uncle aunty kehtay hain? Anyways I don't think u are understanding the point bas khamakhawa kee behas laga rahey hain. As has become the norm.in life1

Okay, so here’s what I think:

As STA put it. Maybe the 25 and 17 yr olds are seeing you call their parents bhai and bhabi which makes you rishtay se their aunty. So out of respect and of course the unspoken rules of our desi culture…you’re kind of in the same category as their parents even though you’re not nearly as old as them.

The way I’d deal with it is find a clever moment to say something. Meaning, don’t make them uncomfortable about it. I called someone uncle once who looked much older because of his hair (lots of premature grays…even more than my dad’s) and he just looked at me and laughed…“mein apko uncle lagta hoon?” I was a bit embarrassed but the way he said it was funny so it was no big deal. There is a lady who I call aunty and my BFF calls her baji. Reason being, lady’s husband calls my mom baji. I’ve grown up calling him uncle. Unki biwi meri aunty hogayeen na? :cb:

The point is, it happens and people just need to be corrected. Its nothing serious so don’t be afraid to say something. The trick is just to say it in a way where no one minds.

Agreed, but again the “kids” should use their brain. I know some people who are friends with my parents but clearly they are much younger. Like in their 30s so I call them Baji. Even though they call my parents Baji and Bhai as well.

you could say something like

"Aunty? Do I look that old to you? I'm offended!"

unless you look old then :(

Just start treating them like kids, call them baiti, baits. Have them cater to you, ask them questions about work and school and start giving them unsolicited advise.

Thanks guys will try that.