How do you get this point across

Reha is right, usually when kids see someone address their parents as bhai and baji, they automatically aunty-zone you. I did that with my ami's friend too but now I sorta switched myself to calling them bajis. Be tactful if it really bothers you because age is about the most sensitive issue when it comes to desihood. We are the only nation who proudly skew birthyear like its the hottest thing to do.

^lol . I don't mind the preteens calling me aunty but a 25 year old ...Dil naheen maanta

Re: How do you get this point across

Yea I know how it must sound. Mom always cringes when a colleague/friend of mine, who herself is just a few years younger to mom, calls my mom aunty. But personally I never saw anything weird about it. Its just the way people call us. Could be anything. At the end of the day, we don't really get to be called as something we don't like that often. Can be bearable.

Personally, I wouldn't be offended. It really isn't a big deal to me what someone calls me. A lot of people close to my age call me aunty because I am married, have a kid and I probably do look like an aunty :D.. Its all good. What I do expect from some one younger than me is respect. As long as I see that they respect me, doesn't matter what they call me.

This!

It's all about respect for me. If they respect you, who cares what they call you. It's just in the head. I get called aunty by one of our family friends daughter and she is just 7 years younger than me. =D

Oh no, I was not intended to *bheas *with you. :flowers: I wrote what I understood from your posts. I myself belong to that age group, if someone request me to say bhai/behan, I would simply accept his/her request. If you are feeling awkward to request him/her, then better to start calling that 25 yo bhai/behan, he will get the hidden message and would act accordingly. If you think my post # 3 was making your fun, then you are so wrong. I have given my explanation in post 14. :slight_smile:

I can relate!! When I had just gotten married a girl .. who was just TWO years younger than me called me aunty (funny cos she calls my husband bhai) :mad: Maine usko sunadiya .. and now she calls me by my name :smiley: You should just tell them that listenn oye I’m only 10 years older than you, don’t call me aunty! :nahi:

I have an “aunty” whose is about 15 younger than my mom and call my mom by name and her daughter is 13 years younger than I am, so I call her aunty.

But her youngest kid, is a year older than my sister’s oldest child, so she tells my sister to call her baaji.

So I call her aunty and my sister calls her baaji and me and my sister are only a year apart :cb:

What the hell? Chill maro uncle :P

Oh, and I have ANOTHER two situations that just leave me scratching my head!

Okay, so my other sister’s oldest nand is three years younger than my mom and her son (my sister’s nephew through marriage) is two and a half years younger than my sister. My sister’s nand calls my mom aunty and so does her husband. The nephews call my sister by a nickname so they don’t have to say either maami or her name. The ages are so messed up - the nieces and nephews kids are older than my sister’s youngest.

The other situation - my mother’s second cousins - the oldest two call Mama baaji (their fathers were cousins) and the rest call her aunty. And the ones who call her aunty and are older than me, call me baaji as well :vivo: Some people just want to pretend to be younger than they are :rolleyes:

calling UN :teggy:

haaaLOOO haaLOOOO. Suspend discussion on Kashmir, Burma and Palestine. We got bigger issue here…

look at it this way. not everyone is lucky enough to live long enough to be called uncle/aaanteeee

and if you must change the situation then start treating them like kids, they will realize soon…

^ LOL! But I AM an aunty! It's not being called an aunty that's annoying, it's being called an aunty by someone who's doing it to jataa the age when there is nothing to jataa.

But hey, aunty, dadi amma, aapi, baaji, bacha, beti, behna - kisi bhi naam se pukaar lein, it really doesn't matter.

:mudhosh:

i know one thing for sure.......if you call aunties on GS aunty....they get really really really mad...

what defines an aunty? :hmmm:

Ha - the same dilemma arises with my parents and some of their friends. We call them "aunty and uncle" even if they are hardly older than us. That's what they prefer because they are friends with my mom and dad and NOT us. lol Don't know what to tell you.

Haha, this is also the case in my family.

Some of my mums mamus and khalas are younger than her or around her age, so a lot of her cousins are very young and some even younger than my mums grandchildren. It can be quite confusing when you enter a family with such mixed generation of relationship. When we were younger we used to tease my mums uncle who was around 18 years by calling him “Babu”.. lol

Actually my mumani is 2 years older than my brother and one of my chachi is 6 months older than him. He calls them both “aunty”. I think they both probably found it weird in the beginning, but after all its the rishta.

Sorry aunty, could you repeat that?

its a state of mind…yeh aik Kaefi’yat hai…

So how are the girls on GS aunties?? :confused: