How do you gals feel about this?

I was down at my uni campus yesterday talking to a couple of female aquaintances (Pakistani) and the topic of marriage came up. So I told them that I planned on going back to Pakistan to get married, InshAllah, because I felt the Pakistani girls in the West were too modern; these girls basically freaked out (not literally), they started talking about how not all girls are like that and how its typical of men to go back to Pakistan to look for “nice” girls when they themselves are not “clean” (Not talking about me in particular; just general).

So I’m wondering, why do you girls get upset when a guy says he’s gonna go back home to get married? I never said that I thought they were too modern; I was just talking generally and they had the nerve to get ticked off.

Re: How do you gals feel about this?

Like it or not but it does happen Anil, i have seen so many guys spending half their lives in night clubs, drinking and sleeping around and when they get tired of all that or come under pressure from parents, they marry a nice and shareef larki from Pakistan.

It doesn't happen with guys only, i know a girl (Pakistani) who knew she was gonna get married to a shareef(but educated) guy from pakistan, she was stressing how she was gonna live with a freshie from Pakistan so she started sleeping around with as many guys as she could before she went to Pakistan.
Now she wears scarf and acts as the shareefest girl ever to touch the planet earth.

See everyone has this nerve in them to tick off and get ticked, its OK.

I would assume the same would be true in the opposite sense. A "shareef" larka/larki from the West may get married to a complete a^&hole from back home. Plenty non-shareefs back home as well.

wat is shareef n watt is not

at the end of the day... everything is the same ( maybe)

I would've got annoyed too, primarily because that's a silly and naive assumption about girls who have grown up in the West and the ones in Pakistan. All kinds are everywhere, and there are really no guarrantees.

Best wishes.

They Got upset because you insulted them indirectly, going back home to get married is one thing but putting labels on others another.

As sahar said, thats a silly assumption. I live in Pakistan and I know that you bump into girls of every kind, just like western or abroad ones.

they probably felt insulted by it:(

lots of girls abroad would want to marry desi born abraod like them...but if desi male go to pak to find a "traditional" bride...it means they will also have to go to pak to find a desi husband...and i know lots of desi gal who think back home males are too freshie for them

Like someone said, its one thing to go back and marry whoever you want to but another to label someone indirectly as too modern and not worthy of being married to :) I would have felt offended too and i wasnt even brought up in the west.

sighz its just how u say it .. khair, too late for that.. next time just say.. "one that i have my mind set on is backhome"

simple.. :-)

Thanks for stepping up and saying this because everytime we “western girls” say it people take it as “sour grapes” when really it’s not.

whats even more stupid is.. mothers of sons born and raised in a western country looking to bring bahus in from desiland.. YET have daughters of their own born and raised in canada, arent you indirectly dissing your own daughter?!.. un se kaun shaadi karega?! they would get along prefectly well with someone raised in the west too.. but then there is a shortage there cuz those guys get married to girls from desi land.. and round and round it goes… :cuckoo:

i just dont get this.....why not marry someone for who they are....not where they live.....why is no one any different? ugh'd out

COZ YOU INSULTED THEM !!! :smack: **

Guys here will fk around, sleep with grls, tell their gfs “yeah we’ll marry” but when time comes, they go back to Pak becoz they have the nerves to say grlz here are slutty, that we’re “too opinonated and stronG.” Good women for good men; bad women for bad men. If you’re clean, you have every rite to ask for someone who’s just as clean; teh only thing I c wrong with going to Pak is that everyone thinks paki grlz are angels, and 100 times better htan grlz here, which is wrong. :rolleyes: Its a general rule, ther’es good and bad everywhere. Then again, maybe we are really bad, horrible grlz because we:
have opinions,
we have opinions
we have social lives
some of us work for personal desire and satisfacton
oh and we talk to guys and- :eek: - have them as buddies because we find them fun to talk to and hang out with!!!
and the kicker–we stay out late :eek:
If you think grlz in pak are the opposite of that (like my familY) you really need to grow up and open ur eyes.

Dude, if grlz in real life are getting mad at you for hte way you think/talk, maybe you should change? No matter how “nicely” you talk, you’re just masking ur double standards and hate. You’re full of crap; I’m surprised you have any female acquaintances.

:hmmm:

ok so both were talking just generally…u dissing western paki girls just generally and they dissing western settled desi men only generally.
tou masla kee hai?
dil pay mat lay yar.:blush:

Sara, for girls to have an opinion is haram according to desi standards, dont you know? :nono:

:bummer:

Its a lot easier for a girl to come to western country and get adjusted. She wants to be a little open want to be free and her husband wants that at the same time. We learn to adopt the culture and life style of in laws very quickly so its sort of easy.
When it comes to a girl to get a guy from back home things are different. There is alot of emotional drama. During the relationship i swear to you it feels if guy is getting pms- due to rapid mood swings. A close friend of mine is going through those issues at the moment. I would have given up on the guy already but she is sticking up for him, doing everything possible- supporting the entire house while he is studying, doing laundry, cleaning, cooking, working- you name it she does it. What does she get in the end? Guy’s mood swings. Since he is not working currently and concentrating on his exams there is a huge problem. The other day we all went to olive garden - the way that guy behaved in public was so embarrassing. Guy is pretty funny but has his painduness.
Sometimes i so feel girl is so much in love with the guy and guy is sort of in his own world.

Anil - The only thing you and the girl from back home would have common is the word " back home". There are other things that one has to worry about as well. The society they live in , the way girl was brought up etc.

If all the guys who live here decide to go back home and find a girl for themselves what will happen single girls who reside here?

we all will end up marrying either a Joe or Howard from college :rolleyes:

^ And then we see guys complaining "Why do desi grlz date/marry white guys?"