How Do you Fire a Volunteer?

What would you do if you are in a volunteer committee in your place of work and you need to dismiss a volunteer that does not contribute in any way to the activities but wants to have recognition in the form of his/her name being advertised on the events?

Considering the committee is very small (maybe two or three people at best), there is a great deal of input and effort expected from each person and this one person has done nothing and shows zero initiative.

Because there is no real hierarchy in place, only seniority in terms of participation, how would you address this with the member and ultimately replace him/her?

Re: How Do you Fire a Volunteer?

its a mod isnt it? is it LKK? i hope it is. :\

hehee....no..I've recently been told that we have an excessively large team of volunteers there so no.....

Isnt there still like a required number of hours needed to get any recognition and if you don't meet it they kick you out or don't give you the certificate or letter or whatever at the end.

Hello Muzna.. Sis/Bro

I just read ur post and felt dissappointed... this is a family forum right ?? and good families dont insult their members outside.. you should keep it to your committee.. or the best thing is you go straight to that person and talk to him/her instead of insulting... secondly is it jealousy or someone else ?? if someone wishes to appear on the top then why dont the head of committee act like a parent and show kindness ?? thirdly if he is volunteering and you are not paying him/her then I think that person should have some relaxation...

but as now that person is squeezed here so much... committee head should kick him/her to get mental satisfaction... :)

Dont take it offensive.. as I am just a member and sharing what I felt while reading it... Thousands of people will read it too...

I wonder what will they think about PAKlinks.com...

Dujeyaan Di Izzat V Izzat Hundi Ay...

matata to TS ka bhi baap nilka :hayaa: this time i dont even get it..

aap kafi ginti kerte hein janab

What makes you think that Muzna was talking about any of GS Mod?

dont u think ??

No. Such issues are not discussed in open forum. We got an admin forum for discussing these issues :wink:

Hakuna Bhai, you might be fasting but seems that your aqal is not fasting. Ghaas charnay gaee hui hai iss waqt.

Ok that was a joke, but you must admit it was a good joke

Did you really think Muzna was discussing abt a GS Mod!!! She would NEVER do that…!!! We even discourage mods disagreeing with each other in public…so why would she ever do something like this!!

Trust me..this has nothing to do with a GS mod! :cb:

HM bhaisaheb…

My post has nothing to do with Paklinks.com.
Hope that puts your mind at ease.

on a side note: :smack: :smack: :smack:
whyyyyyyyyyy???

:frusty:------> Muzna

ok I guess I get it wrong…

ha ha ha...

Quiet!!!

hmm my mistake… but I didnt read the reply of Muzna after queer’s and thought it’s a MOD :slight_smile:

I get it wrong so I admit my mistake… thought u talking abt a MOD… hope u wont mind :slight_smile:

Muzna, to answer your question, here's what I would do...since their is no real hierarchy in charge, it does make it little more difficult, but I would in a casual way, take the volunteer in question aside and just say that the project/task doesn't require as much manpower/volunteers as originally thought, and since all major action items are being completed, their help is not needed at the moment? And then of course thank them profusely for their contributions and hope they get the point

that's a good suggestion.....the problem is that contribution is needed......and there are others that want to be active participants but can't because the position is full......

More diplomatic way is to announce in the next meeting that we need to hire one more volunteer if we want to get the things done, unless we want to pick up more load, and to make it smooth, we can delegate tasks and check on status every week.
That way, it well be pretty black and white in a week on who is doing the work and who is not. At that time it would be easy to talk to the person about replacing him or her