How do you feel when....

Re: How do you feel when....

Okay, why are you complaining?

Less work for you!

"Ammi, apke haat ka khana khaney ke liye ye itney dinon se kehrahe hein"

Put your feet up, relax, get a pedicure, shop...let them kiss him till he is blue in the face!

gaaassshh so much irritating…:smack:

I don't see what the big deal is if his parents kiss him. My fiance is the youngest so all his siblings and parents still treat him like a baby. I think its realy cute.
But sharing all the details of marriage with parents is a whole different thing. I wouldn't like that either. Tell him that he shouldn't be sharing his marriage issues with his parents at all. thats something personal between you guys.

If one cannot look past oneself, normal is only what one is accustomed to.

Woho! Sorry this is gonna be pretty rude but my very honest reaction to your post is....WTF? What is your bloody issue if they happen 2 be a close knit, emotionally connected and loving family? every family has their way of life and as long as it doesnt hurt you i dont think you have any bloody rite to whine about it. Are they asking you to show your love in the same manner? Even if they were, it wouldnt be wrong cuz when you get married into a family you should also try and pick their way of things as long as it doesnt hurt your morals, views or sentiments. I dont see the bloody big deal about this whole case you have put in front here.

To all such women out there, pleaseeeeeeeeee dont get married into such families if your intention is to break the family. kindly look for guys who r willing to be your puppies and nothing more.

I can so related to this. Everything.
I don’t mind them loving their son a lot. Because I think, because of my husband, they love me a lot too.
But yeah even when my in laws are in Pakistan, we have to tell them daily what we did, what we cooked, what we wore that day. lol.. its funny.

Well said. Double Standards is what this is called :-)

Thats not the case at all here. I was just wondering how common is it in desi culture. Plus let me tell you the big deal about this issue. Due to the overly affectionate parents he has, my husband is not capable of making his own decisions in life. He always depends on his parents for EVERYTHING. Do I like that .. NO. We live alone here in the US and we have to deal with everything on our own. He wasn't even allowed to drive until now because he is the baby and he needs his parents to pick him up and drop him off.

^ Ok. But do you realise you are making a big deal out of such a small issue. I just read your other posts where you said how you husband n even yr inlaws are very loving towards you. That's great MasAllah. Nobody can have a perfect life whether married or not and there are small issues one needs to ignore or let go of. In your case, i absolutely dont think its even an issue if yr hubby and his family are very lovey dovey. Believe me, I myself am very private person n find it hard to express my luv or take it when somebody does it openly. However, i would never want my husband or inlaws to change their way of expressing luv for me. Why yar?

As far as driving is concerned, you talk 2 them let them know how important it is not only for him but yourself to know driving since you live in a country where you guys wont be affording a driver and you can anytime need 2 drive somewhere so you shud know driving. Its as simple as that. Where there is a stake like that you talk to them but dont feel euww at their expression of luv. be happy for them...they r different than you but the bottom line is they r loving and dats what you shud be proud of.

I am sorry if i was lil too mean in my earlier post but its just that what i m seeing nowadays is really angering me. I am a girl myself and mind you very private kind of a person. But i know when i get married i wl have 2 change myself and be open 2 adapt to a diff way of life if need be. And i always pray to God that never give me that strength or rather evilness where i even think of breaking another family for my silly wants or desires.

Hope you understand.

just cannot believe what problem people have. Even my parents tell me if you're 30 or 60 we are still your parents and you are our little baby/child!

are you looking for problems OP or are you jealous or don't you have a life?

My husband's parents don't kiss or hug him but they still show a lot of care and concern for him and for his sisters in front of me knowing that I'm alone here and my parents have passed away but i've never felt this way. I'm happy that my husband is happy because his parents are happy with him.

I see another side to this. A woman likes to know that she married a man. And to see your man being treated like a 6 year old can be a huge turn-off. Its made worse when the husband actually enjoys being treated like a 6 year old.

Its one thing for a parent to show love and concern for their grown children but tis quite another to treat them like little children.

I have no understanding for this side of view Aunty. That's a fatal blow. Yes she is married to man, but for his parents he stays a child. He is a man, otherwise they would not let him marry!

^kissing and hugging a 30 years old son is not necessary.

Re: How do you feel when…

hmm I can share something with you regarding this issue, my husband’s mother is undoubtedly a good mother and she takes good care of his diet. she forces him what to eat and what not to eat, this is good for health and this is not good for health. I don’t mind all this, infact I believe that this care is good for him in future. but sometimes when he wants to eat anything and wants me and her mother to make that thingi then she harshly refuses and says “ye faiday ki cheez nahi hai issliye ye nahi khana” I sometimes think that it’s not necessary that we always have to eat for faaida, we can eat just to have a good taste. haina? I am not very sophisticated that’s why I get surprised when she makes him remove brown spots from roti :s I didn’t know ke roti main to brown dots hotay hain unn ko bhi nikaalna chahye coz me to aise hi kha jati hoon.I don’t get why she is so conscious about such minor things. Still when she is scolding my hubby I try not to interfere and pretend that I am not listening or watching. I do eat according to her advices but I can’t be that much sophisticated ke har chees ko dekh dekh kay khaon :blush:

Bottom line is that this pampering type thingi also makes me surprised. and there is nothing wrong if wives get irritated but try to talk to your husband peacefully about it and make him realize that you don’t want him to ignore his parents’ care but he is married so he needs to act like a married son who is supposed to be mature, emotionally strong and hides those confidential matters which are related to his wife. That’s all.

I wonder what would be the parents' reaction if their daughter-in-law too starts kissing and hugging their son in front of them?

I knew one grown man whose mommy would talk baby-talk to him. Feed him. Comb his hair. What an UTTER turnoff!! I would (lol) picture this grown man with a huge paci in his mouth and a big fat diaper on his bottom. NOT quite the type I'd find attractive.

Re: How do you feel when…

^lolzzz…:k:

But your wife can kiss you? Not your mother who had you in her womb and gave life to you, raised you up and was there when you needed her most? And the father who secured your life by giving you a roof over your head and a good education so you one day become a succesful man.

But your wife has that right!

Come again when your kids have become 30 and tell me you don't hug 'em and kiss 'em...See you then!

Okay…:hehe: