How do you decide????

Re: How do you decide???

^ if i ever go to pak i’d get ur bridal dres :hugz: (nto pay for it mind u…just pick it out, and get it :D)

Re: How do you decide????

why don't you girls visit some desi stores in toronto to see their selection and get inspiration?
or pick a jewellery set and design your outfit around that. or pick your favourite colour and design around that. all you need is a starting point to build around- it could be your favourite flower, an outfit you get lots of compliments on, a style you love (victorian, arab, olde indian, etc.)...

there are people in toronto who will also have your dress made for you. this is how i got my mehendi and wedding clothes. i believe this has been discussed elsewhere with phone numbers and addresses- can't remember the name of the thread though... anyone?

thank you sara…thats so sweet of u :hugz:
i knw if i go to pak early enough i shouldn’t have a problem, but i wont be able to do that :frowning:

I just wanna go to pak. and shop. and not feel guilty :(

Im deciding on colors based on what suits my skin tone. My family tells me the love dark colors on me, but i absolutely love light pastel colors and peachy colors. I was gonna go with a pink or peach lengha for my nikah, but i will end up going with a ruby red, because i feel like i can wear other colors on the waleema, so why not wear something in the red family and feel like a traditional bride. For the waleema i will probably wear a nice peachy pink.

I wish Sara , you and I were neighbours , I would have begged you to do my wedding shopping for me … yeah yeah i would pay …:cb:

I hate shopping:no:

CB.... HOW CAN U HATE SHOPPING lol... No im joking. Sometimes it gets really annoying to try on clothes, take one thing off and put on another.

It's very stressful when you are shopping for occasion as big as ur wedding.

I always knew I wanted to wear deep red and nothing too full of kaam....I fell in love with the bottle green and red combo the same year I was getting married....So that was it!...I wasn't thinking much about the design aspect of it but it still turned out amazing...

I have decided the color (red) for my wedding day but can't decide the style. Will do once I'm in Lahore. But have decided my mehndi dress, fell in love with a pic, just have to change the color. Going with a completely non traditional look for my mehndi.

I always wanted to wear a gharara on the mehndi and a gharara on the valima, and lengha on the shaadi.

I thought I'd get my shaadi lengha from here, and gharara made in pak, so the first thing I did was drag my bhabhi and cuz around the shops to try on various styles and shades of red. Just as well I did as I realised the shape I'd orginally opted for (A line), didn't suit me as much as the a fish-tale (not a really fitted one), and I got a cutting of the shade I really liked.

But my in-laws decided they wanted to shop with me for the Valima outfit, so then I decided to switch to a gharara in the shaadi and lengha for the valima. The valima outfit was easy - I fell in love with an outfit and bought it.

The shaadi outfit, I started to get a mental picture of, as I knew the shade, the style, and the kind of embrodiery I wanted. I also had my jewellery, so I designed my outfit and sent and a pic of the type of embroidery I wanted to pakistan for it to be made.

Inshallah it'll come out as intended. But I was only able to narrow down options after trawling through thousands of pics and trying on various styles.

i would say make a careful decision.. u can look at an outfit of something pretty, but clothes look different on everybody.. take ur body type into account, colors to flatter ur skin tone, and the overall look u want (a really bara-hua outfit or something on the simpler side)... and u dont have to worry about "whats in" and whats fashionable these days... because a good bridal outfit is always CLASSY and never goes out of style ;)

took me 5 months to decide on my wedding dress!

But i'll tell u one thing...when you do finally decide on what you want, stop looking at bridal magazines and pictures! B/c u'll always see something else u like better or wish u'd done this or that and thats just torturing urself!!

^ so true. The more pics I see the harder it is to decide.

Same here, but my wedding is passed!

Thanks for the idea, SGC. I think I need to start with a colour first! And I want to design something on my own coz I have yet to see a dress that I have madly fallen in love with. I wish I could go to Pakistan and get a good designer, like Maria B. or Fahad Hussayn to make my dress but since I am not going, I am not willing to trust anyone by giving them an order over the phone or online. It's too risky no matter how good a designer they are!

Ive tried on a million different color schemes and styles so I kind of know my body type and what will suit me.

I didnt want a short shirt for two reasons:

A) I like long shirts...they elongate the figure.

B) My outfit cost me an arm and a leg...Im making some pants/shalwar to go with it so I can wear it again to family weddings later.

I love boat necks and round necks but they dont suit me...it accentuates the bust area on me and I do not need that. V necks work really well so I got a double layered shirt. The bottom layer is round and the over layer is a coat-style shirt that is stitched to the under shirt. The over shirt is a V neck and lays perfectly...its beautiful.

The color combo I got lucky with. The girl who did my bridal has met me and knew my skin tone. I wanted to stick with greens so she got the palest of greens and that really makes the work stand out a lot.

see this is whats making my process even more difficult. I love … love this one by Nickie Nina and she just emailed me the price for it…and its RS 450,000 :frowning:
now i think thats just toooooo much (might be ok for some of your girls to spend that much but i wont be able to :frowning: )

i need a hug :frowning:

awww,rabia,i know what you are going threw rite now!!!
hugssss:)
i am so in love with a bridal by rouge and i got quoted 500.000 by them.
thats too much for me!
and how did you got in contact with nickie nina,i emailed them several times and never got any reply!

my friend got married a few months ago,she reached lahore 4 days before her mehndi,she bought both her bridal outfits within this four days ,got them fitted according to her size ,plus she got her jewellery for both days.
no headache for her!
and MashAllah her outfits were gorgeuos.
but oh well not everyone would take that risk and i doubt you can find nice ready made lenghas in rwp/isb anyways.

thanks Shaz for the hugsss, i used this email address: [EMAIL=“[email protected]”][email protected]
she emailed me back in a day.

but i got good quotes frm monica couture…here is there FB acct. Login | Facebook

her bridal are under 2lakh…something i could try to work with :slight_smile: