As for us, we all wake up super duper early in the morning..specifically the gals in the house…and get the food preparations started for breakfast plus get eid clothes ready. Do a small prayer at home together and then head out for Eid Namaz. After namaz we get chance to say whasszup to family/friends at the masjid. Then aferwards we normally visit few relatives to wish them, or people come over to our place.
Once we get home we cook some more yummy food for lunch and dinner and go crazy eatig, plus enjoying visitors. Sometimes we have an eid milan party day of Eid or the weekend after. I love Eid Milan parties…its so much fun, plus you get to enjoy time with family.
Re: How do you celebrate Eid?
Wait! This year if Eid is on a weekday...im unable to take a day off :(
GRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well neither is my husband so we will both be at work...totalllly sucks!!!!!
usually chaand raats are more fun. i go out with friends and watch movies and get mehendi, churian and just walk around town in desi clothes (damn right i like it the traditional way)
i usually dont take a day off on eid....get home and all of our relatives have a tradition of gathering at the eldest person in the family's house ( this year it will be my parents). I usually put up diyas and flowers in the house (which r all destroyed by the kids at the end of the day) my aunts divide the cooking among them while the girls usually just get dressed and look pretty. eidees are given out on day 1. day 2 and 3 everyone visits other people's houses. and leftover eidees are given out.
im planning on taking a day off this eid though. to feel the true spirit of eid ;). oh yes and my mom makes this channay ki daal ka halwa and hunter beef steak every eid which is absolutely irresistable.
oh and i think my dad and brother go for eid prayers in the morning too. im asleep and they usually slap me awake and make me wash my face and come and say eid mubarak to them.
Im gonna celebrate my Eid taking a midterm ![]()
bechaari u:teary1:
ill make sure i give u a call in-between just to tell u how much fun im having
And my mom wants to come with me to college.. :hinna:
So no no no no dressing up and churiyan forme.. ![]()
Aww well you got the weekend to celebrate. This is my 1st Eid with my hubby, so it sucks that we'll both be at work, but unfortunate circumstances...kia hosaktha hain.
this is my first Eid being engaged, but kya faida he’st here and i’m here ![]()
same with me…
awww sara cheer up
it will be my baby's first eid InshaAllah!!
congrats mahru! sara don't worry it isn't so bad. Remember once your married and living with him, you will look back to all these memories and cherish them.
memories of what? staying home, doing nothing, not even going for eid namaz, no eid parties, no meeting ppl..![]()
Why not Sara...is Eid? Before my family would sometimes take Eid lightly...but the way I see it...look at how the Christians celebrate Christmas....how much effort they put into it...shopping, getting ready...family usually always comes together no matter what. I am trying to instill those ideas into my family. That Eid is our big holiday that we should make the effort for, to make sure we are together to celebrate, visit our family/friends....i support gift giving, its fun!
Namaz for guys is a must, but I think the women should also attend eid namaz and pray in masjid wherever. Plus you get to meet so many people that way that you normally never see. I love going all out and getting dressed up. Being this year im a little immobile due to future baby, I had special maternity shalwar kameez made for me that fits and is cute :) Even though I wont be home during the day, I sure plan ot party at night :)
If your family doesnt do anything, you should plan an event/party and invite friends over to chill out and eat yummy food.
i wish it was that easy
im lookin forward to the next Eids with him.. is that bad ![]()
Well here in Vegas, we go to the masjid and pray Eid namaz, then we go outside and meet our friends, usually there are like a thousand people there, so some people have to pray outside on the lawn, I will take pics this year and hopefully post them on the forums, just check the images section, probably the religious section or general…anyway…they also have a shaadi tent outside cuz during iftaar there were so many people, the men had to eat outside. Last year we had a petting zoo and pony rides for the children, wonder what we’re gonna have this year…
We also have police on the campus in case some idiot does something stupid, and that isn’t only because of 9/11 we had them before too, but because the parking lots get filled up so quickly that the police have to escort the cars.
Eid should be how they do it in Pakistan…for 3 days, I just don’t have enough time to say Eid-Mubarrak to everyone. And it should be legal to light fireworks on Eid in the US.
I guess thats about it…oh yeah by the way, we have lots of donuts!!! But those are for after Eid prayers…![]()
same way that i have been celebrating for last 4 yrs..i am away at uni and will be going to praye alone by myself and after that maybe get hang of some friends who don't have their parents/families here as well (come to think of it i only know 2 such guys and not even sure if they are going back home) .. then if no one is found i go to tims grab tea, and go for a nice walk, call my parents and get their blessings and duas.. and raat mein party by myself if i can.. in between either i have had a midterm to give, or an exam to give or go to work.. this yr i have a midterm to give.. which to be honest i don't give a damn about.. so just have to show my face in the midterm.. i am not able to concentrate on studying for it coz i miss my home :(
hmm what else.. o yeah i also try to make sawaiaan (sp?) .. last 3 times the output wasn't that good.. but this time i have a plan.. there will be 2 practice days before the acutal eid day so this should help in the final product quality :)
tips are welcome
I’ll feel lonely this eid as my wife and kids are visiting Pakistan. I’ll be alone at home so there are no other plans of celebrations other than Eid Namaz. I’ll most probably go to work ![]()
^ They’re still not back yet? ![]()
Awwwwww… u don thav any other family closeby with u? ![]()
Nah they are in Pakistan. Long trip. Actually miarey SALEEY kee shadi-khana-aabadi hai. I’ll go in Dec and then we all will come back in Jan07 ![]()
and nearest relative I have lives at around 5 hours drive from my place. Ager eid Sat ko hotee tu i would have gone to their place. Friends k sar per bhee sara din sawar hona acha nahi lagta. Pata nahi kia kia plans hoon un k (ahme ahem) but eid dinner per all of my friend will gather on dinner, its the day that will kill me ![]()
I got a whole week school holiday next week and eid comes in it yipeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee................!!!