Suppose, if there’s someone very close to a certain person has passed away,and that certain person is one of your family members, like, parents,spouse or a sibling, then how do you break the news to them, when the death of that person is already shocking/unbelievable to everyone, as that person was well & all. Would you ask an elder person do that?
Re: How do you break the news of someone's death?
i have never done so and wish i never have to do this in later years of my life.
Oooohh we get taught this in medschool, will post about it properly later today when I have time :)
I am waiting for that! :)
Fortunately, I have never done this before. Its hard for me to even do condolence to someone on their loved one' death. I feel hard to find words.
I started recieving sms messages from wife to be strong and that my family needs me more then ever waghaira waghaira .... about 30 minuts after my father's death. Timings of those messages were odd(3P.M my time-2a.m PST) so i fugured out what had happend. It was up to me to break the news to every one in calgary...so i sent out a mass sms about the tragedy and after recieving everyone's delivery report i turned my phone off...call karnay ki himat naen thee mujh main.
Fortunately, I have never done this before. Its hard for me to even do condolence to someone on their loved one' death. I feel hard to find words.
This for me too. I don't even know what to say. Usually if I go to a janaza namaz, I'll just give a hug to the family members, and maybe make dua for the deceased.
I am waiting for that! :)
Ok having actually properly reread the original ques, then no we don't get taught this in this context that it's your own relative rather than a patient that has passed away.
However, general principles for doctors if you're interested:
Take them to one side to a quiet private area where you won't be disturbed (and switch your mobile off)
Give a warning 'signal', like saying that you have some very bad news to tell them
Is better for the person you're about to tell the news to, to have another family member such as a spouse present for support
Tell them very in very clear terms that this particular person has died. We're told to use the term 'died' specifically rather than saying 'passing away' or anything else, because the message has to be clear to avoid confusion.
Be prepared for all kinds of responses, from sheer shock to hysteria
At some point, you will have to enquire about logistics like what to do next with the body, religious rituals etc that need to be respected, possibility of organ donation etc
There was more stuff as well but I can't remember. All this stuff that I've said is fine for a doctor, but in a personal family situation I can imagine it being very difficult. I had to break the news to my father that his father had passed away. My dad already knew that my grandad was seriously ill, and had been told earlier in the day by my uncle that it was the end now, so he'd had that 'warning signal' already. I had to call him and all I could say was 'I think it's happened', I couldn't even say it in clear terms because of course my grandad was beloved to me aswell. It's an awful tragic moment, but it happens in life.
What an odd question
I had to tell my dad, mom, and sister that my dadda had passed away. I was so shocked that I sat on an icy bench for 15 minutes during a snow storm talking to my dad. I didn't have a single goosebump, because I was completely shocked that I was telling him that *his *father is gone.
About 30 seconds before I called him he had gotten a call from Pakistan, but he was in disbelief, still standing, without emotion. And when I said "Daddy I need to tell you something," he said "so it's true?" It broke my heart, he was like a little boy :(
I had to tell my dad, mom, and sister that my dadda had passed away. I was so shocked that I sat on an icy bench for 15 minutes during a snow storm talking to my dad. I didn't have a single goosebump, because I was completely shocked that I was telling him that *his *father is gone.
About 30 seconds before I called him he had gotten a call from Pakistan, but he was in disbelief, still standing, without emotion. And when I said "Daddy I need to tell you something," he said "so it's true?" It broke my heart, he was like a little boy :(
:(
I really hope that i never face a situation like OP suggested
Re: How do you break the news of someone’s death?
What is so odd about it? :khums:
What an odd question
What an odd comment :)
I remember when my nani passed away,we had to tell ammi.Kisi ki bhi himmat nahi thi,so I rang her closest friend..who started bawling on the phone..
She took ammi to one side and said 'mujhe tumse kuch baat karni hai....'...then we heard ammi crying.
The worst thing was that ammi had done sooo much khidmat for nani...to-ing and fro-ing to Pakland and at the end she was the only sibling not there...and the one my nani kept asking for...:(
I don't think I could break this sort of news to anyone...too heart breaking...:( :(
Me and khala were in the hospital with nanijaan when she passed away...i had to call home and inform...and when i called...i just could not speak cuz of the tears flowing..tht is when khala took the phone and informed home...
It was a very tough time...
Its hard for me to even do condolence to someone on their loved one' death. I feel hard to find words.
likewise...