How Do You Advertise Favourite Pak Movies?

bollywood movies!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

not becuase i watch indian movies and dont like them, but because i dont watch indian movies at all. well, to be more honest i used to watch indian movies a long time ago but quit 'cuz of ONE very good reason…around 8-9 yrs ago Sonia Ghandi (i hope u guys know who she is) recorded a statement with a local newspaper.

She said that maybe in the near future there wouldnt be any armed war between India n Pakistan, but there is one war still going on…and that is the media war. and India is doing very well in flooding Pakistani houses with Bollywood movies and invading youths mind with true indian culture.

sHaId Ke UtTaR jAyE uNn Ke DiL mEiN mErI bAaT :sigh:

pumpkins forever!

May all the Gods of Hinduism save Pakistani homes from the blight of Bollywood. movies!!!

WOW - Sonia Ghandi's comment bites. It goes to show how immature politicians can really get. I don't see a problem in appreciating Indian art. After all, don't we Pakis (indians too) appreciate American art, European Art, Latin art, etc? Art really should not have political boundaries - and films fall under art, not politics. I used to have this huge issue with "i wont watch indian movies cuz i'm not an indian". Now, i'll only watch an indian movie if i think its good enough to watch (by the way, i still don't watch indian movies, hint hint Andhra). After all Andhra, if Indians are so patriotic about their mothership, then why do I see Indians swaying to Junoon, J. Jamshed's, Hadiqa's, Haroon's, NFAK, Noor Jehan etc's beats? Indians do not seem to have any problem accepting paki entertainment (for the most part, you always have hot headed Indians who wouldn't touch a paki with a 10 foot pole), so why should pakis be blamed when they appreciate Indian movies? Let me go on further to say that Reema was recently really appreciated by an Indian viewers at some show she did abroad. So please, cut the nonsense, learn to distinguish between politics and art, and lets accept each other for who we are. Just cuz pakis watch indian movies and appreciate them, doesn't mean that we want to become Indians. And for God's sake, Indians just need to let their hurt egos over partition heal and accept/respect that Pakistan is its own country and culture.

so why should pakis be blamed when they appreciate Indian movies?<<
Not at all. My point is why watch them surreptiously like you are doing something wrong?
If you read the posts you will see Indian movies are banned in Public in Pakistan. You can't advertise them in theatres.
Why the Hypocricy?
After all, just because you like Things Indians don't mean you are Indian!!

I dont know what you’re blabbering on about given the fact that your government banned Pakistan Television from being broadcast. We havent even touched any Indian chanells - and God knows there are many of them flying around these days !

And why dont you talk about the millions of indians who watch PTV dramas and serials on a daily basis - not only in India but in North America as well.

Arent they hypocrites - given the fact that your govt had banned its own people from listening to Pakistan Radio and watching Pakistann Television - not to mention banning Herald and Newsline.

Lets talk facts.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/devil.gif

Yasir, I know it is difficult for you. But concentrate.
Now, look at the topic. If you want to talk about Indian Government’s Censorship and Indians watching PTV stuff you are welcome to do so. But please stick to the topic and let’s talk about
‘How DO You Advertise favourite PakMovies’ which happen to be Indian as admitted by many Pakistanis in this Forum.

Assalam Alaikum

Andhra -

Twada dimagh kharaab hai

Favorite Pakistan movies are seperate from the Bollywood trash you losers come up with on a daily basis.

The people who watch indian movies are, in my opinion, a bunch of losers who have too much time on their hands. There - satisfied?

Now as far as getting them into Pakistan goes - why dont you ask your Bombay buddies why they smuggle their crap to Pakistan?

Its a sellers market, thats why. The reason behind that used to be cos Pakistan movies were not good enough. Now, Pakistan movies are getting better day by day and in a few years time it would be you guys who would smuggle our movies into your country.

Either way, Id rather see my people work than to watch movies - but then again - people find different ways to chill. To each their own.

Great point made, Yasir...I had totally forgotten about that one. By the way, is PTV still banned. And what about Indusvision? Indians control Channel V and MTV Asia. Very seldom do you see Pakistani entertainment being promoted on those channels. Is that not bias against Pakistanis? Yet, your public enjoys pakistani music and pop culture. So what about the hypocrisy there? Ch. V and MTV Asia may not have a written policy or official ban ag/paki entertainment - but you can't deny that the bias is evident. Let's face it - both cultures can't help liking the entertainment of the other - they're just too ashamed to admit it.

I am not saying both Cultures should not enjoy each other's stuff.
I am pointing out to the Hypocricy in publicly banning Indian movies and privately seeing them!!
I don't have the stats on how much Pakistani TV or movies penetrated Indian market.
Frankly I never even heard of a Pakistani movie and was surprised to find Pakistanis are so knowledgable about Bollywood crap.
Sorry I think the same of Indians who watch Bollywood movies too. It has been a while since a good movie came out of Bombay.
Lagan was good.

Woah Andhra - sorry bhai - we’re not trying to start another war between Pak and India here. It is wrong that Pakistanis watch Indian movies while they badmouth India as a foe country. I have a lot of friends who do that and God knows how many fights I’ve gotten into with them - they refuse to listen to reason. Pakistanis who do that are hypocrites. That’s not to say that Pakistanis should not watch Indian movies - its up to an individual what type of entertainment they take on as long as they’re not hypocrites about it. Why do they do it? Cuz Paki movies just aren’t cutting it these days and haven’t been for a while. Maybe things’ll change with paki movies get better (we’re still kinda working on that one). But any paki with a brain doesn’t classify Indian movies under Pakmovies (although plenty dummies do). The reason why Indian movies are banned in Pakistan are the same reason Paki telly is banned in India - so that the people aren’t influenced to stop hating each other. Its apparently not working since we have so many Indians who frequent these message boards, like your fine self. Why they do it, how they do it? - well, what can i say other than that these people are screwed up. Patriotism in pakistan has been waning due to the horrible socio-econ-pol conditions. (Thanks to Musharraf - i think that’s changing

) While the typical paki isn’t as patriotic as he/she should be, that paki doesn’t want to admit the loss of patriotism - hence the “yea man i hate india” sentiment and “chalo, yaar, shah rukh khan ki nayi movie aayi hai - dekh na hai?” behavior.

Thanks PyariGudia!!! Well partly it could be censorship. I guess Censor will be stricter in Pak than in India.
As for being upto mark, frankly Money rules.
Why Pakistani, even some south and North Indian language movies can never hope to compete with Bollywood

Apart from the pleasure of pointing out even the smallest hypocricy in Pakistan, an admirable sentiment that is enthusiastically returned by Guppies

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

I have the following observation to make.
I always thought Bollywood movies indicate how frustrated an average Indian is. I mean consider, they show an avreage Indian a lifestyle he can never hope to live even for a day, a storyline that will stretch the credulity of a child, a most unnatural jump and hoop routine songs, and a good that etrnally triumphs over Evil in the End.
And he laps it up on a regular basis.
I was surprised to hear they are popular in other Asian countries.
Even Middle East. Like Egypt. They are big on Amitabh there.
So am I seeing an increasingly poor & helpless Asian audience, an increasing cultural influence of India, effect of great talent and cheap labor that is a standard Indian Export, strict social mores in the target countries or what?

I didn't understand you last question there - but some of your comments do get me to make another point as to why Pakis like to watch Indian movies. They are a retreat from reality. You don't get that with Pakistani dramas too much - most focus on real social/political/economic issues plaguing the country - the whole point of drama writers is to present the reality of pakistan to its citizens in hope that some people may be inspired to get up and make some changes. Indian movies show the fantasy life that most Pakistanis can only dream of - in some ways its healthy entertainment, since the average paki labor worker is so tired at the end of the day that they only want to watch something that can make them laugh and smile. The other reason i think that Indian movies do really well in Pakistan is that there's a lot more in store sexually. Yes, pakistan is sexually deprived and hence all the "blue-print" films sold in brown paper bags in every nook and cranny of Pak. (They are available in India too). So when they sexually deprived average paki hobo is in need of entertainment they think "hmmm I'm in the mood to see some cleavage, figure-tight clothes, sexy figures. Can't get that out in the street. Too poor to go to a paki "club". Heh. I'll get an Indian movie". thus, you see Indian movies more popoular w/ the working and middle class of Pakistan. Most upper class people tend to go for American movies. As for "money talks": Pakistani movies would get financially supported if the people in the film field would open up to change. You have the same small group of people that controls most of what goes on in the film field and directors/producers who want to make a difference are often not supported. That's what directors like Shaan, sam peerzada, javed sheikh, s. gul, syed noor etc all complain about. Its like a closely knit family that doesn't want to change its ways. But things are looking better and the filmi family is beginning to see its days numbered. Insha'allah we'll have a film industry just as successful as Bollywood and which will not produce only realistic-fantasy filled filmed, but art films, and socially geared films. I encourage you to keep your mind open when it comes to Paki films and not to doubt the talent that abounds there. That talent hasn't had much of a chance to develop, but its beginning to see fresh air - so lets wait and see before we declare bollywood the official winner.

Are there Pak actors who act in Indian films and vice-versa?
The avreage Pak tiredof reality and craving fantasy is equally true on the other side of the border.

Some actors/actresses have crossed over to India - Zeba Bakhtiar (back in Pakistan now), A. Sami Khan (we all know about him!), Somy Ali is Pakistani, but she never worked in Pakistan to begin with, Shah Rukh Khan has paki pathan lineage (I'm not too sure about that one). I think there are others too. I don't know of One Indian actor who has crossed over to Pakistani soil to act there, unless if you count Shashi Kapoor and some others who acted in the movie JINNAH. Hmm... that says a lot doesn't it? Oh and there is this one case going on right now in pakistan - some fools decided to release a movie DOULAT in which Manisha Koirala is being advertised to star in it. Apparently its a hoax to lure in investors' money. they took some of Manisha's clips of other movies and incorporated them into a cheaply made paki movie with a sunny deol look-alike. Yeah, I know. The things some pple do for cash!

very good, pyari gudia, u seem to know a lot about paki movies, keep writing. we dont know much about them.

who r the promising directors and actors in pak movies in coming time?

Yep, she seems to know a lot about Movies.
Please tell me this. Amreeka and Russia in cold war made a lot of movies trashing each other.
In India I don’t think Pakistan was ever directly castigated openly except in recent years , like starting from late 80s.
I remember the trend started with Mani Ratnam’s Roja. Though I have to admit, ROja was a good film. I am talking about the theme in general.
How is it, on the other side.
In the few movies they do make in Pakistan, who is the stock villain? Indian who wants to destabilise Pakistan

Wow ZZ and Andhra - the two of you have made my day! I'm probably the only Pakistani not living in Pakistan who could give you a freaking cumultive dissertation on Pakistani cinema!! Its not that i don't have a life - its just that directing is one of my ambitions n i would love to make a paki film to show Pakistanis and Indians what talent we've got! This whole time I had been putting up posts up on lollywood news and no1 would respond - but i'm glad some people are interested.

There are a lot of promising directors coming into the field. Sameena Peerzada (she and her husband worked mostly on tv, now they're into film). Javed Sheikh - TV actor and film actor turned into director - Shaan (actor also) now directs. Asghar Nadeem Syed - the dude who wrote Chand Girhan i think - is now also ready to make a movie. Syed Noor was a really good director and he's the one who got the industry back on its feet after a 30 year lull. But his wife, Rukhsana Noor wrote all his good scripts but now she doesn't since he's been having an affair with Saima ( a really ugly actress who happens to be able to act good!). So now she doesn't write scripts for him - so his movies suck now. Shaan's "Moosa" and Shahzad Gul's "Chalo Ishq Larain" is set to release this eid. Watch out for it - they should be good.

As for the Hindu villain thing - yeah that is in vogue and was for the past 30 years (ya know, when the industry was at its all time low). It was a cheap gimmick to get the poor man to the cinema. But now the more refined directors and producers stay away from that. I've seen a couple of dramas actually that have shown indian hindus in a positive image. If you want a good idea of the filmi condition - see Shahzad Gul's Tere pyar mein. heroine is Indian (not in real life) and the hero is pakistani. The villains are Indians and pakistanis who cant accept marriage between and indian and pakistani.

Thanks PyariGudia, educate me further. Do you have 'Dynasties' in Lollywood?
Like we have this Kapoor Clan. Not that I need single out Kapoors. Every Movie Star's kid seems to want to become a star.
It is the same story in Bombay as well as Madras & Hyderabad.
Ofcourse they get all the good breaks because Papa knows all the ropes.
That still doesn't stop the unknown boy breaking through, but still I find the very concept nauseating.
Is it the same in Lollywood as well?
Also,Do you have the tradition of making films based on stories of great writers(Like you have Sadat Hassan Monto).
I remember seeing a film based on Amrita Pritam's story 'Ek Chaddar Biwi Ka'. There are several films like that in India.

I would not say we have “dynasties” in Lollywood, mainly because our industry is just not as old as Bollywood’s. Nepotism is definitely a vogue. It doesn’t always work though. For example, Shaan (probably one of our best actors in the industry) is the son of Neesho ( i believe ) who was an actress herself. Waheed Murad, the “chocolate hero” of the 50’s and 60’s has a son who tried to venture out into films - he failed miserably mainly because he really could not act. ON the other hand, despite Amitabh Bachan’s son’s horrible acting skills, that guy is still in the game. Most industry wallah’s don’t like their children to go into the industry really since they’ve had bad experiences. The industry is often associated with prostitutes, and all other vulgar portions of the lower classes. So the tabloids have a ball spreading the nastiest rumors (something that they’ve recently aren’t doing as much), so most people in the industry don’t want their kids to face the nasty reputions. What you see now is a anti-parallel trend. You still see that section of the industry that is constantly getting a bad rep, mainly cuz they are promoting nothing more than pure vulgarity in their films (something that sells well to a sex-starved working class). The anti-parallel thread is the segment that is trying to bring in new talent (usually of no blood relation to someone already in the industry). Actors and actresses are now being pulled fresh from colleges, modelling agencies, television, and a good number of our top models are venturing into the field. Writers are slowly coming in and they are mainly our TV writers. Actors and actresses who are tired of the same hish-hash nonsense in films are trying their hands at directing, etc. Unfortunately, our industry hasn’t reached that point where we can make films based on stories of great writers. yes, in the golden oldies, films based on folklore were made. Right now, the new blood that’s trying to bring the industry onto its feet is trying to produce “normal” films about “normal” people facing social issues or “normal” love films. To someone from India, I’m sure that’s not impressive. However, i’d suggest you try to get your hands on some old films of say the 1980’s and compare them to a new film made now and you’ll see the stark difference. Here, try going to janubaba.com and looking under “dhamaka” category - you’ll see the trash and vulgarity I’m talking about. Then go to perhaps a website called www.entertainment-world.tv and check out our new filmi stars. You’ll see the difference.

Andhra Mian, don't know why you ask about Lollywood! Anyways...

One thing I'd like to suggest to you if you're actually interested in the Pakistani entertainment scene is to go to some Desi preferrably Pakistani store (I'm assuming you're not living in India). If you can find them, rent serials like "Tanhaayian", "Ankahi", "Dhuan", "Alpha Bravo Charlie" (you might not like the last one)...

The quality of acting (comedy or tragedy) and the story-telling in these shows is unparalleled. Hollywood, Bollywood or Lollywood don't even come close to these classics, I'm pretty sure ppl who have seen these dramas will agree!

You might be wondering why these amazing actors/actresses don't act in movies. Simple! Like PC said, it is the vulgarity and bad rep associated with filmi ppl that brilliant actors like Shehnaz Sheikh, Noman Ijaz, Talat Hussain, Shakeel, Marina Khan, Shabbir Jan (the list goes on) either don't go to the films or came back to the small screen after horrible experiences.