I think it is so degrading the way some family's come to a girl's house, stare her up and down and then go away and make some lame excuse as to why she is not suitable. My family is totally against this and would never allow a family to come in the first place if they didn't think there was going to be a potential match. Recently, a family friend (aunty) called my mom and told her that one of her friend's was looking for a girl for her son "jou bohath zyaada khubsurath hou" and that I immediately came to mind. Simply hearing this made my mom feel uneasy because she thought that a family who focused that much on a girl's looks is not one who we would want to create an alliance with. It didn't matter that apparently I fit the description; the fact of the matter is that a girl shouldn't be judged solely on her looks. Indeed when my mom starts looking for girls for my brother her preference will not be a gori, thin girl with gorgeous features even though MA my brother is very good-looking. Our preference will be to find a sweet, caring, educated and respectful girl who understand the importance of family values. Sadly though the majority of aunty's do not think in a similar manner and want the girl to be perfect even though, most often, their son isn't anything to brag about. It's so refreshing to see though that a lot of girls here are not bothered by rejections and they shouldn't be either. In the end it comes down to the fact that every girl is gorgeous and these aunty's are simply ignorant.
This food thing is too much. Boy's family ends up with a feast either way, while girl's slaves a way not knowing if the effort was worth it in the end.
My solution, do NOT prepare a feast. Lay on some cheese n crackers with a drink. The true test of a relationship is if the boy says's yes after that. Girl's, a boy who appreciates cheese n crackers is a boy worth hanging onto. All the others can go jump.
^ Agreed. No one has the right to come into your home, eat all your food, and then go away and tell your parents that your'e not gori enough, thin enough or pretty enough for their son. Seriously if someone said that to me, I would tell them to go jump. Nor will I allow my parents to bend over backwards for anyone coming over. What you see is what you get.
Well I thought I had found one but it turned out disastrous...
So now I'm getting an arranged marriage insha'Allah and I'm supposed to send pictures and I have this one really cultural-minded friend who is constantly telling me "Don't shape your eyebrows for the pic it is not good for a kunwari", "Do something about your eyes they are slant you know that", "Be careful with your skin remember your complexion is dark" etc. I'M DEADLY SCARED to send a pic now! Who knows what they will do? I mean I hate the thought of having people examining my face and make comments on it, not only my face they requested a full-length shot of mine so they will say something about my figure too?
Aaaah afterall beauty is only vanity and it won't last forever so one should rather look at values no? Just as princess said one has to understand family or religious values, that is what keeps a marriage on longterm rather than looks...I don't understand that gori obsession anyways :S
^ Aww don't be a scared to send a pic. Remember you are gorgeous and NO ONE has the right to tell you otherwise. If they say something not nice forget it. Because in the end it means NOTHING and people who comment or criticise a girl's looks to such an extent are not the type you would want to spend the rest of your life with.
Tayyebah, you should look your best in your photo, but to "do something about your slanted eyes" is taking it too far!
I say put on some slightly natural make-up, enough to bring out you features, use some good foundation and pose in a natural manner. I'm sure you will look good, take lots of pix and select only a few for sending, not the whole lot. People look at the background and other factors as well as pics, inshallah you will end up with someone who suits you.
Actually the most ridiculous thing I was told by a friend of mine was how she was refused by a boy's family for being a Punjabi :S she is from Karachi and the boy was also but still that didn't matter.
Well I guess I'll just make sure I wear my correct dress on it and won't be caked with make-up, I've never been a make-up fan anyways.
Speaking of pics...my friend really did not want to marry this certain guy but her parents were pushing for it and asked her to send him pics (he was in Pak). So she purposely sent him a pic of her wearing a sleeveless top and turns out his family was super-conservative. That took care of that one :P Not that i'm suggesting anyone do that but lol makes you think..
Jazakallah khair Rupay, my eyes are not even THAT slant I just don't have those extreme BIG BUG eyes and I will not complain everything Allah swt gave me was given for a special purpose...I don't know about the kunwari thing concerning eyebrows though. My complexion is fine if you ask me, I'm not obessed with the fairness issue. I'll take your advice into consideration :D
LOL princess well that is interesting ;) but lets not indulge to many bad thoughts LOL HEY are guys also under a huge pressure when they have to post pics? I always feel it's only the girls :S
Tayyebeh you are lucky you have a nice complexion. I'm so pale, my mom always tells me to get a tan but somehow I can't manage it lol :( I guess guys don't feel immense pressure about sending pics because, generally, the girl's family focuses more on whether the guy is "shareef" , educated, etc than about how much of a looker he is. Too bad aunty's don't do that with girls.
PAH "Shareef" it makes me laugh out loud, how many of those boys have done besharam stuff and the girls are sometimes told "this is normal" for a guy to do, of course if they are really religious-minded they might see it differently, I've heard even boys themselves justifying it by saying "Mein larka hoon, is liye yeh teek hai" they believe because they are boys those rules of Pardah don't apply to them PFFT! Jaahil log.
In my opinion education of a girl is such an important thing especially nowadays, you never know what might befall you so therefore a degree is always good, Islam even tells us to educate ourselves. :) It's just so hard to find work here wearing a hijaab :(
As for the job :S is it materialistic to want a man who is more or less well-off so you won't have to live in a mini-flat :S?
Lol I know what you mean. Guys have a weird way of justifying themselves. A friend of mine was with a guy (both Pakistani) and he was dating her (including kissing, hugging, etc) and at the same time he would lecture her about islam and not wearing skinny leg jeans and that she should wear hijab. Excuse me but can you stop being a hypocrit? If you are that religious why are you in a haraam relationship ?
PAH "Shareef" it makes me laugh out loud, how many of those boys have done besharam stuff and the girls are sometimes told "this is normal" for a guy to do, of course if they are really religious-minded they might see it differently, I've heard even boys themselves justifying it by saying "Mein larka hoon, is liye yeh teek hai" they believe because they are boys those rules of Pardah don't apply to them PFFT! Jaahil log.
In my opinion education of a girl is such an important thing especially nowadays, you never know what might befall you so therefore a degree is always good, Islam even tells us to educate ourselves. :) It's just so hard to find work here wearing a hijaab :(
As for the job :S is it materialistic to want a man who is more or less well-off so you won't have to live in a mini-flat :S?
NO it is not. In fact, as time is money and money is fabulous, I would advice you do not waste your time on poor men.
Tayyebeh: Lol don't worry about the whole fairness thing. I think it's lame. But my cousin does use a besan/haldi/rose water face mask everyday which has gradually made her a bit lighter. But I think tans look hot :)
WOW I will try that rose water face mask insha'Allah.
Yeah it is lame, especially when sometimes they put 10kiloes of light powder on themselves but the arms and neck is still darker and shows their actual complexion. I shriek at times when I see Desi dulhans with a super-white face and red lips some think it's nice but I'd rather not go for it.
^ Yeah I think it's better to use natural stuff. Another cousin of mine (I have tons lol) used Golden Pearl Beauty Cream from Pak. After using it for about a week she turned soo gori but omg when she stopped she went darker than before and her skin looked so bad. Never ever risk those creams. It's so not worth it.
Hahaha I remember I used "Fair&Lovely" for quite a time LOL nothing happened at all. Yeah I assume they put something into those creams which makes you darker when you stop using them, this way you'll always continue to buy them. =S