Re: How did your rishta come about?
i understand it being bad, the guys family coming over the girl's to eat and have a trolley parade and then refuse the girl.. they got nothing to lose..
'
BUT.. i just dont understand how the girl's family can think its a normal procedure for a stranger and his family to come and gawk at their girl and on top of that.. to FEED them??? if a girl's parents arent gonna care bout their daughter's emotions, dont expect a strangers family to
i was getting rishtas from a very early age and by the time i did get married, i had lost count.. just wayy too many.. BUT, my father never everr allowed any to come to our house and check me out except for once... dad would talk to the guy's dad on the phone, get all the info.. and well.. thats where it would die mostly.. cuz things just never clicked.. either for them or for us.. but if the info seemed ok.. pics would be exchanged, again, mine was only given once.. we always asked for the guy's pic FIRST.... my dad would talk to them in a way that they would realize how sensitive a girl is in this process and some wouldnt mind at all even though initially they would say 'aray yeh kia baath hai, hum kiu pehlay tasveer dein.. aap bhi tho apni larki dikhain* etc etc.. hehe... but like i said.. my dad would talk in such a way that they would understand... ofcourse there were some who would say why waste time talking on the phone and then exhanging pics etc.. why cant we just come over to your house and talk things out huh? .. my dad would simply say.. becuase you arent the only ones interested.. how many viewings of my daughter will i put on everyday of the week???
ho hum... our family friends thought we were crazy and aisay tho hochuki apki beti ki shaadi, koi larkay walay bardasht nahi kerthay itnay nakhray larki walo kay etc etc.. but my parents kept their stand and i love them for that... i felt like more than a piece of meat that they could come and gawk at.. thinking me worthy of marriage based on looks and not what was in my head... not many parents do that for their daugthers.. but mine did. their thinking was god made someone for everyone, and he has also specified a time for it to happen.. so why do we have to go crazy doing silly things like chai parade and bending over backwards showing our girl off to every tom dick and harry just to get her married.. hona hoga jub, hojayega .. and that is exactly how it did happen.. out of the blue :)
finally when i did get married.. it was to exactly the kind of guy i had wished for, and a family in law that treated me from teh get go, like a HUMAN.
my mom is now looking for my brother and girls families find it so so odd when she says i want to talk to you on the phone first and get some info.. they suggest it themselves that no, you should come and meet us at our home and check out our girl at the same go to which my mom will never agree to.. everyone has requirements be they the boy or the girl, isnt it always better to get that outta the way first rather than not knowing jack and just goin to the girls house and eating their food and looking at the girl and saying no... when it all could have been avoided beforehand saving the poor girl and her folks the time and the emotions??
but mom is realizing she's fighting an ancient tradition and so she has now suggested meetings at a cafe or something.. the looks she gets are really funny, from what she tells, but she isnt worrying.. just like things worked out for me, with my emotions and self worth intact, she knows thats how it will be for my bro too...
did i just derail the thread?