I love hearing about how the folks of the past generation met and got married.
The day my ammi was born was the day her marriage was arranged. lol. she married her phuppi’s son (my dad) who was a year older than her. My dad was the oldest son (had 5 older sisters before him), and my mother was the oldest child.
My khala was supposed to marry chachu who was born after my dad, but some reason that didnt happen.
My youngest khala did end up marrying my youngest chachu.
as for my inlaws…my FIL was a professor and my MIL was a student in the university. My FIL told his sister to become friends with my MIL and get to know her better (for him, of course..lol). Then he went to her father’s house for the rishta. She first had refused (because he was 10 years older), but finally, after her father’s insistence, they got married.
I know they aren’t the greatest love stories…but hearing about their jawani is fun!
My dad went to the hospital to visit my mom when she was born. Then they had sleepovers (as they were cousins …) and he would make fun out of her for crying for her “abba” and not letting anybody else sleep (he teased her about this well into my adult life). Then there was another incident when he was visiting her place in Karachi and she was doing something and looked up at him with her big eyes. I think he always had a crush on her. Then a few years later, they got hitched.
i love the way my dadi and dada got married. my dadi's sister was supposed to marry my dada's brother. But my dada's brother passed away before they could get married (I think in the army, not sure), so my dadi's sister was engaged to my dada. Then before they could get married, my dadi's sister passed away. So then my dadi ended up marrying my dada. It was meant to be. May they both RIP.
My father was door ka cousin of my mom...he saw my mom at his brothers weddings...my mom was 15 and my dad was 17...dad saw my mom liked her...but then couldnt meet her for long...then he insist my dadi to go for rishta..:D
My dad was in Dubai and his family kept looking for a good girl... my phuppos were were very difficult and kept on saying that they liked my mom but liked the house of other girl and wanted to have that combination of my mom + that house lolzzz anyways... both the sides did the engagement without my maternal side seeing my dad... of course they did the investigation in Dubai :P when my dad visited Pakistan, all his friend made him insist to see the girl before accepting the proposal.... it was not considered good practice in my maternal side of the family but they allowed that.. so my mom took the tea tray in front of my dad who got the tea spilt ;) but mom did not do anything and just went inside... my dad said he was overwhelmed by my mom's beauty ;) My dad used to try all tactics to see my mom, like asking to go for shopping etc... but my nanhiyaal did not allow :P
My maternal grandfather's best friend was their family doctor - he knew my father's family slightly because my father's elder sisters were also doctors & he knew that they were looking for a suitable girl for him.
My maternal grandfather wasn't really looking for a match for my mother at the time, they thought she was too young, & they had said no to other proposed matches before. Doctor-ji met my father's family & thought he might be a good match for my mother so he convinced the families to meet. My mom says they came for tea one afternoon & the next day they called to propose the match & a date for the mangni. They got married in about three months because my father was coming to the US to study & his mother & sisters refused to allow him to go without a wife to look after him! (even today he's still the baby of the family!).
We are still good friends with doctor-ji's son who is also a doctor here in the US now. My mom always jokes that we should ask him to find someone for me since his father made such a good match for her.
anyhow .. they never really were able to see each other till after the barat
and the joke of the family is, ,my father tries to initiate a conversation with my mom by asking her name. And she goes … shaadi bhi ker li aur naam bhi nahi pata
cute thread =) mine went through the very regular arranged marriage route so nothing interesting.
My naani, however, had something different.. My nana passed away when my mom was 2 and nani was expecting her second child, my khala… so after she was widowed she came back to her parents place and started going to school again to be able to work and raise her girls.. My second nanna abba was her first cousin(khala’s son) and he asked for her hand in marriage some time later.. Nanni refused but he kept on wooing (through proper channel ofcourse)for the next few years until she agreed
My mom was going in a train from Rawalpindi to Karachi ... and when train was passing through Jehlum, my dad was driving , with his friend, on GT road, in an open top jeep, next to the railway track. Dad's friend started playing harmonica and dad ...
well why dont you guys watch the movie to get the rest.
My father was the ground handling manager in Saudi and my mother a stewardess for British Airways.. she says (he admits) that he used to follow the BA staff and would take random flights just to be on the same flight with her. Mashallah 29 years later, they’re still madly in love with one another
My mom was going in a train from Rawalpindi to Karachi ... and when train was passing through Jehlum, my dad was driving , with his friend, on GT road, in an open top jeep, next to the railway track. Dad's friend started playing harmonica and dad ...
well why dont you guys watch the movie to get the rest.
o saathiya...dun dun..oh saathiya..dun dun...something something tere something something.