How did you take Baby out?

I was wondering with the Mrs today that tommorow we might have to go out and we have agreed theres no way we will leave our little cubs alone… they sleep a lot but still they are barely a week old and we aren’t going to leave them.

I just dont know quite what to do? My insticnt was that as the classic father I will stay at home looking after everything and only popping out briefly at times to get the shopping… and in evenings around 6pm to ride for an hour and take out the hawks for a bit…

In fact I am strongly against leaving the house with my child… I know it sounds pathetic but nothing comes before my offspring… or thier mother.

But now her relatives insist we come and see them sometime. I am naturally assuming that they expect us to take our children, but seriously I dont like the idea one bit.

I have made the excuse for now that I dont have car seats for my children and the Wife and I cannot bring them yet…

I wanted to say to them “What moron takes thier baby out so soon! Whats your game etc…!” But for the Wifes sake I kept calm and made a good excuse.

I would ask my parents but for some reason they have left thier Islamabad home and ventured off to Gilgit… Typical.

So I am left with the experienced giudance of other parents on GS.

When did you take Baby out for the first time? And how on earth did you do it?

At some point I am gonna have to take them out but I am understandably nervous and My Wife hasn’t a clue either.

Neither of us is much experienced with kids… :bummer:

Re: How did you take Baby out?

What do u mean take them out … ? for a walk .. which is a good idea as they need the fresh air. I took mines out in our pram .. after coming home from the hospital and that was when the babies were 5 days old .. just make sure they are warm and cosy in their pram.

I hope u dont mean leaving the kids alone at home :confused:

I would not go to someone’s home too soon with the kids, atleast wait for 40 days .. (the chila time to end)

Ours was a winter baby and she was 5 weeks early, so her only trips initially were home from the hospital (day 3) and to the pediatrician for her first visits (5 days, two weeks, 1 month, etc). For the first two weeks we were at my parents' and people visited us there. For the next two weeks were at my inlaws. By the end of the first month we shifted back home (I had had a c-section so the extra help was wonderful). I think she was at least a few months before we took her out for more social visits (beyond to her grandparents'). That was also a crazy winter, so we couldn;t get out much anyway.

Where do you live? Shouldn't you have carseats?

OMG is that what you mean???

Erm u take them out by simply....taking them out. Thou being in pakistan, i would have thought the elders would be telling ure wifey to stay put in bed and rest?

Kher, its really nothing bad, just put them in clothing fit fot the season and off the 2 of u go. Kuch nahi hoga bhai.

P.s) congrats. Im guessing mrs gave birth to multiples? Sweet

thread title is very hEEE miss leading

I was like eeennnnn yee Faris bhai ko kia ho gaya :D

I think Faris seems confused .. I assume he is in Pakistan, where there isn’t much info on how to deal with newborn .. each bara is saying something else.

as everyone said .. they need the fresh air… they just need the proper clothings.

as for visiting relatives .. they should come to visit u .. not u guys :smack: ur wife gave birth to twins .. she needs the rest.

^ I agree, they should be visiting. Unless you don't want them :p

Faris, firstly have you had the baby/babies? when did it happen...you haven't told us anything!

I dont know about you guys but my ammi allways says .. that the chila time .. death is very near the mother and the babies .. so thats why both have to be very careful .. take full rest and not over do things. Small walks around the corner for fresh air is ok but going out to long drives to visit relatives is a no no! I don't know why they would suggest such things.

Faris I would recommend read some info online like on babycenter.com to get info about newborns .. and if you have questions ppl here will be most helping.

Faris bhai, aap ki title bohut ajeeb si hai :nahi: How did you take the baby out? Come on, there’s really only 2 ways…C-section or the other way. Yeh bhi koi saval hua bhalaa. :hoonh:?

I have known some women who went out just a week after delivery but they had normal vaginal births and not c-s which requires recovery time.

I thought it was recommended for about 4 weeks. The docs recommend not to take the baby to small enclosed germ prone areas like the indoor mall, play areas. I also avoided noisy loud areas as well but outdoor walks are great.

I was really careful with my first one and she was a winter baby. Kept her and myself at home for 6 weeks. With my 2nd one I had her out and about in a few weeks because it was summer time and I was not as neurotic.

My nieces and nephew made their first trips out in their 2nd week.

However, when it comes to visitors they should be coming to you Faris. They should understand your wife is a new mommy and may not be comfortable traveling...especially with multiple babies this early.

:hehe: lol pehle maine bhi socha haiN, yeh kaisa sawaal hai :stuck_out_tongue:

But Mubarak ho Faris bhai :slight_smile:

Hayaa bhai ik sadey admee ka thum logon ne nichor nichor kar dimag harab kardeeya… jo pehley hee kab se teek tha? :silly:

Anyway thankyou everyone for your replies.

Thats part of the damn problem… :smack:

That was my initial reaction too but then again I hate politics… :bummer:

Thanks Saadia.

That makes a lot of sense… thanks Njgal.

Oh no :bummer: Title ko baaksh do bhena… ik Paindoo admee kee mazaq achee naheen hotee. Okay seriously I did not mean the medical bit… the cubs are fine on that side it was a natural birth Allah ka shukar… I meant about actually taking them out of the home.

I have decided I wont go anywhere for the next couple of weeks at least… I dont care if people say I’m being lazy or hiding or not letting my wife see her realtives or whatever… they rightly should come to us.

Thanks Reha.

I just hate fammily politics so much… you see theres always going to be idiots who will spread baseless rumours and nonesense… lately some have been asking us to visit them but I think if they cared about us they should be the ones to see us… most people have been okay it’s just my Wifes Aunt who is causing the big trouble lately you can guess the story… typical dramabazee desi style. :bummer:

You know when my close friend delivered her son, she was completely immobile. She couldnt move much because her's was a very complicated pregnancy...a lot of pain and just terrible overall.

Relatives came to see baby and mommy...which was fine as her parents were there to help take care of the guests and do chai nashta type thing. In the chaos, cell phones were ignored to a good extent because each spare moment was spent trying to catch precious sleep.

One uncle got so mad he left a message yelling at them calling them badtameez and janay kya kya because they hadnt returned his calls. The next time he called, they answered and he just went off on them...completely bonkers. It was too much so I think her husband said he will them when he is ready to see them but right now wife is just not feeling up to this drama.

The point is, you do what is right for your Faris and dont worry about the rest of the world. No one will be up with you ten times during the night to care for the babies, changing their diapers, feeding them, etc. I recently took care of my one month old nephew for one day and one night...I was a walking zombie...no sleep and so tired. He is a milk monster Mashallah!

Dont do anything you're not comfortable with just because someone is pressuring you.

By the way did you guys have twins? Congratulations!

Your wife had twins?

Congrats on the new additions :)

focus on you guys only! those baray or chotoay whoever people are not their for those night time feedings/diaper changes etc. don't get pressured by anyone.
so if anyone wants to see the babies/mom they can come by when it's easier for you guys! I only learned all this after having my own girls, right now focus on getting their birth weight back up (you said they are only a week old) and for any sort of doctor's visits, set up a routine, which it will be in few weeks inshalllah! you guys can take turns to get outside the house, like for e.g when my husband would come home from work I would go out to the drug store get diapers or even anything for myself just to stay sane! I can understand how over-whelming it must be. hang in there and if you have any questions you can always pm me :)
Congratulations and enjoy the kids :)