How did you meet 'the one' ?

Re: How did you meet 'the one' ?

Alhamdulillah things are great so far.

How cute stories Mashallah say (well some of them are weird as well i.e. the ex one).
I met mine at a party but didnt notice him much nor did we talked to each other and then later on he asked his friends about me and got my address (email/house) and his parents came to my house to talk about our rishta and all ... after that we've been talking on the phone, going out and now finally engaged :D.

I am glad things have gone well. I hope things go well with me too.

I met my husband almost 6 years ago on msn(OR AOL, not sure) when he was applying in the univ I had just started going to. I didn't really want to chat with him but he explained that he needed some info about a degree program in my univ. He seemed pretty decent so I allowed him to add me and gave him my email. Somehow he didn't get admission in my univ. and ended up going to a univ. in another state but by that time we became very good friends and somewhere down the line, after about a year since we met, he started having feelings for me but never really expressed them as he didn't want to spoil such a great friendship...though I came to know about it through his best friend. I was shocked and even told him I don't believe in finding a soulmate online and the whole idea isn't practical but that was when I started to have feelings for him as well...thought I'll probably get over those feelings in a few weeks but neither I nor he got over each other and we told our parents about everything after over a year and they thought we were just having a 'crush'. We proved them wrong, we still stayed in touch even after so many years. Parents finally gave up, his dad came all the way from Pakistan, we got engaged and just last december we got married.

Re: How did you meet ‘the one’ ?

Is engagement/mangni a sunnah and is it something allowed/appreciated in the light of quran and sunnah?

My understanding is that it is not. Just wanted to correct myself if I have heard something incorrect.

I have discussed with few scholars and didn't found any opposition from them. Thanks brother for bringing that up. I would inshAllah try to find some authentic source related to it.

p.s. If anyone knows any authentic source, kindly do share

this is a good site for answers
http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=12&ID=3593&CATE=146

i was in canada when i got engagement . but saw her on nikkah when i went to pakistan after 5 months of engagement. she was sitting on the ladies side on the stage and i walked in with my family . and she nazreen chura ker dekh rahin thi.

JAzakAllah khair for sharing.

I lookd it up too and from what I found it indicates that in this priod there is no harm in talking on the phone or even meeting accompanied by others.

STP- Your mother in law is thus denying something that is allowable by islam.

http://www.pakistanlink.com/religion/98/re-05-01.html

anyways sorry i took the thread on a tangent, I just had confusion about this topic and thought it was a good time to ask.

@Fraudz. I understand your point brother. Infact she never said that it is not allowed in Islam. As I mentioned earlier that she said that you two have the right to talk, but when I specifically asked her personal liking, she said that if you seek my liking than I am not comfortable with any kind of communication between you two (till marriage), I sent message through my mom that I would respect her liking, (though I came to know later that my fiance was not very happy with it)

Arranged marriages are hard to deal with as it is. The process can be made easier if you know what the other person is like. Your fiancee perhaps wanted to talk to you because she probably wanted to get to know you more and be more comfortable with you.

^I understand that.

I believe, Justice demands that I should always respect her mother's legal likings, if I want her to respect my mother's legal likings, after marriage. (Though I don't care if she doesn't respect my legal likings as long as she doesn't cross the limits set by our religon)