I met mine 8 days before I got engaged, in a drawing room with 6 other people. We exchanged a few pleasantries. Later, chatted on the phone a tad… and that was it. I knew.
So, how did you meet the one, and for the ones who havent yet, how would you like to meet her/him?
at work! he was my boss' boss but the chemistry was instant and mutual. he was still kind of on-again/off-again with this ex, who was crazy, but we finally got our act together :)
We met thru friends and we both just knew and got married 8 weeks later. He didnt want to date me-he wanted to marry me. Family were shocked but we wanted to be together and he was a white convert to islam so they were fine with it.Mad huh?:D
I couldnt hit on sub-ordinate or my boss for that matter. I'd be too afraid of a lawsuit or getting fired. But I guess its a chemistry.. it can transcend boundaries.
It was arranged. Our common family friends took me and my mom to her home but this common friend did not tell her mother the reason. My mother never liked "LERKEE DAIKHNEY K VISITS" so she asked not to tell the reason of visit. My in laws had their first floor empty and were looking to rent it so our common friend told them "main kuch logoon ko ghar dekhaney la rahee hoon rent per laina hai unheen" so my in laws never doubted :D
All went well. LERKEE (who is now my wife :) ) was home. We had a long chat coz our university came out to be same. I liked her, my mom liked her mom and family and from there things started. :)
I am engaged. Before I was leaving Abroad (from Pakistan) for my PhD, my parents came to me and told me that they would like me to get engaged before I leave. I told them ok, fine.
They asked me, that they would be happy to accept anyone if I have anyone in my mind. I told them that I have no one in my mind so I would like them to select one for me. They asked me my priorities.
I told them "Seerat", "haya" (character) and religious family above all (I can compromise on looks, wealth, status....etc but not on Seerat). Before seeing her I did "Istekhara". I was shocked to see her in reality as she was according to the indications I got in my "Istekhara", so I accepted her.
It has been two and a half years since I am engaged and 2 years since I have been living abroad but I have not yet spoken to her for even once because my mother in law thinks that I can only talk after "Nikah" (which would take place soon inshAllah along with mariage) and I respect her beliefs.
My fiance wanted to talk to me but I sent message through my sister that it is only possible if she gets permission first from my mother in law, because if I want her to respect my mother than I should first show respect to her mother's likings and dislikings. I know she would not have tried to take permission.
Awww that's so sweet Mashallah :)
Btw, what is seerat (in english)? I thought seerat was looks? *maybe i'm confusing it with another word
I've known my husband all my life (there are photos of him at my 1st birthday party). But the first time I remember interacting with him was when I was seven and he was eight. We didn't interact much because, well, he is a boy and had cooties.
When I was nine I saw him again. I'm the oldest in my family and very spoilt and chatty and used to being the center of attention. He at the time was the youngest in his family, constantly in his brother's shadow, and very very quiet and gentle. I think that sweet, innocent, pure, and gentle spirit affected and impressed me even when we were children.