How come Pakistanis make Sardarji Jokes?

I understand Pakistan doesn’t have too many Sardars around. Most of them migrated to India or some other countries, right?

Still, I find Pakistanis regularly come up with Sardarji Jokes in the Jokes forum.
Rather innovative jokes too.
My question is, where do Pakistanis come into touch with Sardars?
In UK and elsewhere?
Or Punjabi Subas where you BHangra Bhangra with Sardars?

I am really curiuos about this one.
Sardarji jokes are staple in Indian Campus life. Mostly they take it in good humour and occassionally crack a few themselves!!!

good Q. but I dont have the answer.

It is because Sikhs are normally considered good-natured people who won't mind a joke at their expense. Not much more to it!

It is because Sikhs are normally considered good-natured people who won't mind a joke at their expense. Not much more to it!<<

Ofcourse Sikhs are great guys to have around.
Nobody is disputing that.
The question is HOW do Pakistanis know Sikhs, since most of the Sikhs on Pakistani side of the border ended up in India or abroad ?

Pakistani watch bollywood films, therefor our knowledge of Sardarjis

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

It is because of people like Channmahi. He is the king of jokes, he is joking even when he is serious and he is serious when he jokes. He is a serious joker. Besides Pakistanis want to imitate Sikhs and the jokes are just to pigskin their insecurity. Jokes can be very flattering also. Andhra, for every Sikh Joke, we have at least 5 Pathan jokes and 3 Hindu jokes. We don’t discriminate. Do you guys have any Pakistani jokes in India, or do you take us more seriously than we take you?

Here's a Srdar Joke for you:

Q: What is red and bad for your teeth?
A: A Brick

Now laugh!

NY yara, I was serious when I posted this or I would have posted it in Jokes section.

Seriously how come born and bred Pakistanis know Sardars when not too many Sardars are around ?

I undertand Pathan and HIndu jokes. After all you guys are reminded of HIndus and still have enough HIndus around.

Andhra....
jokes are jokes. Ive heard so many Polish jokes, but never known a pole all my life. I think you are reading too much into it. There are rabbi jokes, polish jokes, jokes that would be funny otherwise as well, just that they include a mention of some section of society, for one reason or the other. And most of the time we dont know the background behind making a rabbi the butt of several jokes, or dont know the sense behind sikhs having a whole genre of jokes named after them.
Speaking for myself personally, I know that what I hear a sardar joke, the 'singh' part of the joke is the last thing that catches my attention. Its just a trend...nothing else.

Why, I must have poor communications!!

Here, let me rephrase the question!!

How many Sardars do you see, growing up in Pakistan as opposed to, say Pathans or HIndus?

Leave the Rabbi jokes alone. THey are imports. Whereas Sardar Jokes are Desi.

It is interesting because if you are an Indian you will be aware there are as many jokes on Madrasis as there are on Sardars.
But most Pakistanis don’t seem to be aware of Madrasi jokes.

For your info, all SOuth Indians are considered Madrasis by North Indians. They are more aware of different SOuth Indian identities though.

You should really listen to A Malayali settled in Bombay speaking HIndi!!!

I saw Sikhs when I was in Saudi Arabia. They obviously have a very distinctive appearance and are hard to miss. And thus, people know them fairly well.

hmmmmmmmm

you didn’t ask how do we know about persians??? how do we know about english ppl??? how we are talking about indonasians???

my dear sweet brother we are living in a global village. did you know it???

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited March 28, 2002).]

In USA, Sikhs were thought of as terrorists and had been on the receiving end of the backlash, which incidentally was meant to be directed towards Muslims. So when we make Sikh Jokes, we in reality are making Muslim jokes or making a joke of ourselves. What I am trying to say is that as far as the rest of the world is concerned, all South Asians fall in pretty much the same category (known as Paki category in Britain). Wherever a group sticks out (because of their attire, etc. – as Akif pointed out) it becomes easier to make jokes about that group (Blondes, Priests, Mathematicians, Politicians, etc., etc., ). Have you ever heard an Ahmadi Joke? Guess what, I have tons of them, but I am not going to share it with you, because you may not even be able to follow them. But they are really cool, needless to say, intelligent jokes. Here’s one for you to sample:

-What does an Ahmadi Scientist gets for doing a lousy job?
- Prize with No Bells

One More:

-How can you spot an Ahmadi in a group?
-You ask

there are thousands of sikhs in UK in all the cites and big towns, southall, birmingham, wolverhampton etc. mostly muslims and sikhs live together side by side and sikhs dont mind jokes coz they crack them too, about muslims

Can you gimme a few of those jokes?

Andhra ji, it is because of oral traditions.

even if pakistanis and sardar jis are separated by borders but still they sahre many commonalities and do know each other to some extent.

also that sikhs and pakistani punjabi arent much different.

btw we have brahmin jokes as well.

you got some muslim jokes???

muslims jokes are common too

“Philosopher, Orator, Apostle, Legislator, Conqueror of Ideas, Restorer of Rational beliefs… The founder of twenty terrestrial empires and of one spiritual empire that is Muhammad. As regards all standards by which human greatness may be measured, we may well ask, is there any man greater than he?”

Gimme Brahmin Jokes!!

Muslim Jokes ?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Oh, they are mostly about how dumb Muslims are.
I don’t find them funny.
I don’t find telling known facts funny. Do You?

ok i will mail you.

so u assume muslims are dumb

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

are you really that dumb to believe so Andhra ji

“Philosopher, Orator, Apostle, Legislator, Conqueror of Ideas, Restorer of Rational beliefs… The founder of twenty terrestrial empires and of one spiritual empire that is Muhammad. As regards all standards by which human greatness may be measured, we may well ask, is there any man greater than he?”

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, beef-meat a day keeps the Brahmin away - Dalit proverb.

"Philosopher, Orator, Apostle, Legislator, Conqueror of Ideas, Restorer of Rational beliefs.... The founder of twenty terrestrial empires and of one spiritual empire that is Muhammad. As regards all standards by which human greatness may be measured, we may well ask, is there any man greater than he?"

A Brahmin goes to the countryside. Astonished to see a cow with no horns, he asks the Yadav, Why does this cow have no horns ?' The Yadav replies, Some cows don't have horns because they never get them, others lost them in fights, and others do not get them because of some disease. This cow does not have horns because its a horse.'

Brahmin and a Rajput share the same compartment in a train. Early in the morning the Brahmin chants a loud mantra, which angers a Rajput who is trying to continue sleeping. He asks the Brahmin,
"Hey, Pandoo slang for Pandit ], why do you keep shouting ?"
"It keeps elephants away," replied the Brahmin.
"But there are no elephants here for thosands of miles. Besides, no elephant could ever get into this train," said the Rajput.
"See how effective it is."

A group of notorious robbers plan to extort some money from a Brahmin by threatening to kidnap his wife. They send a note to him which reads : "Pandoo, Pay us Rs. 20,000 or your wife will be kidnapped." The robbers get the note returned with the Brahmins' response: "I won't pay you Rs. 20,000 but I am interested in your second proposal."

Two Brahmins walking on the road meet a Christian nun who had a plaster around her hand. They ask her, "What happened ?" The nun replies, "I broke my hand in the bathtub." The Brahmins walk on. Then one Brahmin asks the other, "Guruji, what is a bathtub ?" The second Brahmin replied, "By Rama, how should I know ? I am not a Christian !"
Note: `Astik' (Orthodox) Brahminism discourages the taking of baths as it involves nudity ]

A Brahmin, a Muslim and a Rajput sleep and wake up to find that each has one crore 10 million ] Rupees. The Rajput buys a house, the Muslim purchases some good food but the Brahmin sleeps again to find if he gets another crore !

"Why did you get such a shirt for me ? It is too big !" complained the Brahmin to his wife. She replied, " Because the price is the same as for your size, and besides, I wasnt' going to let the salesman know that I had married such a shrimp !"

A Brahmin donates blood to a Bania. The Bania pays Rs. 10 for first bottle of blood, Rs. 30 for the next one, and none for the fourth ! Why ? Because by that time he had so much Brahmin blood that he did not pay anything !

Q: "How did the Narmada Valley form ?"
A: "Someone dropped a coin and a Brahman went digging for it."

"Philosopher, Orator, Apostle, Legislator, Conqueror of Ideas, Restorer of Rational beliefs.... The founder of twenty terrestrial empires and of one spiritual empire that is Muhammad. As regards all standards by which human greatness may be measured, we may well ask, is there any man greater than he?"

here is my favorite one , I am sure you would love it too:

How do you get 1000 Brahmins in a phonebooth ?
Throw in a ruppee coin.
How do you get them out again?
Tell them it’s a Pathan’s phonebooth.

koollllll, aint it??? remind me of that old hindu prayer.
" O’ Lord shiva; save us from (

I don’t remeber the exact words but it is somethinglike this) the bike of cobra,

and the vegenance of pathans.

(NOTE: none of these jokes is suppose to be offencive, neither do they reflect my point of views …)