How come Muslims Don't Date?

Yeah I know why, but trying to explain this to another person..it becomes difficult.

Also, if there is an old thread about this, can someone please tell me?
jazak allah.

Muslims do date.

Todays date, 20th Ramzan.

haha EA in jokes section please.

Bharysh read please.

Dating is forbidden in Islam for many reasons. First of all, the children should know that the prohibition is something they should be proud of because it preserves the sanctity, dignity, respect, and chastity of the human being and of the society at large. Any person would agree that if dating was not so common nowadays, then, the non- Muslim society wouldn’t be experiencing so many problems with teenage pregnancies, children left abandoned to orphanages or foster homes, single parenthood and so on. In addition, even if dating didn’t involve sexual relations, all the acts that dating may lead a couple to do, such being alone, touching, kissing, etc. are clearly prohibited and condemned in Islam. As you know, Islam encourages marriage, ethical behavior, and the preservation of the family, and dating contradicts with one or all of these goals. A couple who dates is not under any obligation to get married, and this wastes the time of one or both of them to establish a family. Also, social studies have proved that dating, which some people claim is necessary for a couple to know each other before marriage, doesn’t lead to happier and more successful marriages. The most obvious evidence about this claim is that in the North America and Europe, where dating is the highest in the world, divorce rate is also the highest. But this doesn’t mean that a Muslim couple who wants to get married doesn’t have the right to know each other. Instead, while getting to know each other, they don’t date, they respect the Islamic guidelines, and are together for the purpose of getting married. Also, since dating may lead to committing adultery, God had warned us in many verses in the Qur’an from approaching it. This is confirmed in many verses such as in Surah al-Isra’ (17) Verse 32; Surah an-Nour (24) verses 2-3; Surah al-Furqan (25) verse 68; Surah al-Mumtahina (60) verse 12. Of course, there are many Hadiths prohibiting physical contact, fornication/adultery, and being alone with the opposite sex between non-Mahrams. Thank you for asking and God knows best.
Source: www.IslamiCity.com
http://islamicity.com/qa/ <search for “dating” and it will give you bunch of different but related insights and articles.> Good Luck.

Take it easy.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

watcher! thanx!

…and ea- lol.

You are most welcome, Bharysh.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

woah..i finally looked these up since i'm on break...and another muslim chica i know was asking about it....

um- those quotes are about adultery...not dating. the interpretation is not quranic based. so basically- this doesn't wash for me.

anyone else care to give this a whirl, because I have been going to several websites about this...and other translations of the quran... i am not finding specific quotes.

and thats the painful truth..

its expensive to date yaar, mehngai ka zamana he

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smash.gif

ThE MuChaChO, man with the plan..

I'm gonna have to agree, Bharysh. wherever & whatever that quote Watcher got... as usual it was sterotypical and took a simple thing and distorted and completely perverted it!

Yeah.. ok.. nowadays.. for the most part.. people call sleeping around 'dating' and basically that seems to be the whole reason to have a boy/girl friend ..or at least TV seems to tell us this.

I believe, she was asking why we can not perhaps take the time to meet and get to know our future/potential spouses on our own terms.. at least just a little.... ?

Well I dunno either but I have made some observations and forgive me if I am wrong here...

Was there such thing of 'purdah' back in the time of the all the prophets?

I think... Khadeeja chose Prophet Muhammed herself... didn't she? Who set these 2 up?

Men and women walk side by side at Haaj.

How dangerous and uncontrollable are these ..uh ..natural urges really.. that we all must completely isolate ourselves from the opposite sex?

Hmm... then again maybe Allah knows most people are so completely and utterly stupid anyhow and thought it best this way.

..time to eat all your words, swallow your pride..open your eyes..

[This message has been edited by waqas72 (edited March 24, 2001).]

Islam has given us the right to meet and date people, but under laws dictated by the Almighty.

We are permitted under the process of mut'a to meet, get to know, and live with the person of the opposite sex. Mut'a, most commonly known as temporary marriage, is basically a boy friend - girl friend relationship which binds two people together and requires each party to take appropriate responsibilities when engaging in such a bond.

Most notably, if the girl becomes pregnant, the guy would be responsible for the child, who would be his legitimate son.

You can also establish mut'a by stipulating that no sexual relationships will be allowed. You can use this type of relationship to meet, date, and get to know the person.

Islam did not intend to put hardship on people. It is our society and culture that creates un-necessary obstacles.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

shia-crap

a1shah- what the hell are you talking about!? That's totally haram!? and the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard!!!
Even if there were no sex involved, whether it be a temporary, for money , for visa ...whatever all such marriages are totally forbidden and rightfully should be!

If one marrys it should be with total sincerity, with the intent of loving and living with their spouse and all that good stuff..

ok now let's get back and stick to the topic here..

..time to eat all your words, swallow your pride..open your eyes..

becoz they eat too much dates

just kid…

Originally posted by Bharysh:
**woah..i finally looked these up since i'm on break...and another muslim chica i know was asking about it....

um- those quotes are about adultery...not dating. the interpretation is not quranic based. so basically- this doesn't wash for me.

anyone else care to give this a whirl, because I have been going to several websites about this...and other translations of the quran... i am not finding specific quotes.**

Barysh,

Kya Hrithik bahut yaad aaraha hai kya???

Bhai yeh thread ko 10 days ke baad khod khaad ke nikala hai zaroor koi baat hai??

Why are you so much on Hot trail of somthing for what??

You want to be ,blazing the trail for getting unnecessary distraction of dating in the relatively peaceful life of muslim girls ,

who now concentrate on important things & remain happier than there westernized counterpart.

If you want life of kissing hundred frogs before havng any chance of meeting one decent prince charming ,who may or may not be a catch ,despite many months of tiresome dates.

I dont know whether rules for fornication would apply to dates or not ,but certainly many sister will very soon be looking for those rules ,if not now ,for it invariably will lead to crossing the bondaries of 'feeble imaan wali larke larkiyan'.Whereas the present segregation system ,enables even the weakest to overcome there"ide" successfully.

"jo kHat main kahte they apni jaan mujhko
aaj kHat likhne main unki jaan jaati hai .....

[This message has been edited by FYI (edited March 23, 2001).]

Can the Muchacho Dude plz use the term Shia a bit more respectively and not say Crap?

How rude and disrespectful of you…

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

!

Why cant you date ?

Good question?

Dating is knowing the person before marrying them. So in that case Prophet(pbuh) also got to know Khadija before marrying her right. So everybody has a equal right to date and then marry the person.

Thats what I think personally.

Bharysh:

If you can please define the term Dating (examples will help)

Just wanted to know in which context you are asking the question.

uFFFF,aaJ KAL sHIA HONA FASHION SA HOGAYA ,TAA KE ,ANOHONI ,EXCEPTION HONE MEINE ZAYADAH ATTENTION MILTA HAI??

I say whatever you are keep it to yourself.!!!

"jo kHat main kahte they apni jaan mujhko
aaj kHat likhne main unki jaan jaati hai …

Everyone know what the answer to this question is!
Date kar kay kya karna hai? What is the motive? If it is to get married then it is one thing, if it is tha have a good time then..ahhm ahhm!
Everyone knows their limits!
All i know is that Zina is Haraam. Bir Haram, Kabira! So if u think something leads to zina then it is also haram. There are many forms of Zina. Zina of the eye, hand (physical yet not going all the way), mouth (kissing) and lastly total zina. Since all these things haram, what type of 'dating' can be accomplished, I dont know...

it is crap! beleived in by the shias! i.e. shia crap

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif