How children ruin your wedding day...

Children should be banned from weddings - to be or not to be?

OK, all of you can contribute how someone’s little darlings ruined your wedding day, or you can say how they brightened it up and made it better. I want to know if there is a case to be answered for.

I will start - Kids weddings POKE THEIR FINGERS IN THE WEDDING CAKE and we had to put guards on duty to protect it from further dents!

Re: How children ruin your wedding day...

At my bro's wedding they stood behind the bride and groom's seats, and made faces. It was hard getting them to get off the stage.

At other weddings in our family they crowd around the bride and groom and it's impossible not to step on one of them. All the pics turn out really messy then too.

At my engagement though, I liked having the kids around. They were a good distraction from all that was going on and I felt comfortable with them around. My nephew went to the nearby shop and bought me marshmallows hehe. My fiance's nephew sang me a song :)

I think having kids at the wedding is inevitable and unavoidable in desi weddings, so just plan around it if you could!

We went to an aqiqa last night and there were sooooooo many kids there running around, it was annoying. We couldn't even walk without having to stop because some kid would just randomly run across or something, not to mention, it was SO noisy. I called up my husband and told him I am not allowing ANY kids at our wedding except my cousins who are really well behaved. A couple of the aunties who we know have such battameez kids. When they are invited to our house, they usually leave all pissed at me because I can't stand their tantrums. My parents try to be all nice saying oh let us get you whatever you want but I am like hell no. If there's no pepsi, they throw fits and won't eat their food, if my brother or his friends are at the computer watching something, the kid will throw a fit and cry and wail. The worse thing is, the parents say and do NOTHING.
I really liked SGC's idea of a baby sitter. I am going to write on the invitation cards that NO children allowed simply due to hotel's policy.. if they decide to bring the kids anyway, they will be shipped off to the babysitters in a seperate room. I know of a girl who did that, her wedding was a Marriott and children were not allowed inside the ballroom and from what I know, things went quite well.

i've said it before, and i'll say it again- BABYSITTERS!! if you provide enough entertainment, which a good babysitter will, even the brattiest children will remain occupied and busy.

and if you know you can't avoid having children, then make sure there's some room at the back of the hall for the kids to run around in because you know they're going to run around! might as well leave them room to do it away from you and your beautiful cake!

and i know how frustrating they can be- when i told my aunt her kids would have to be controlled somehow away from the cake, she said, well then you better get another cake because i don't think they can be!
both mum and i were mortified! in fact, mum kind of went on the warpath in my defense, which was way impressive (go, mom!) haha
in the end though, the sitters i hired were awesome and kept all edited quantity- i had 7 kids, not 10, my mistake children under 10 occupied and busy and away from my cake- they came into the tent for dancing at the end of the night which was great! and they only cost me $250! plus they were registered nurses and knew CPR and all that so the kids were completely safe.
the other bonus of course, was that the parents (my aunts and uncles) were so relieved and happy and partied all night too because they weren't running around after their kids!

Re: How children ruin your wedding day…

I absolutely hate it when kids wanna hang around the stage not letting adults take pics properly aur parents doooor baith k khush ho rahay hotay hain kay ji hamaray bachon ko stage pay dulhan kay sath ja kay baithnay ka barra shaouq hai. :rolleyes:

How many babysitters did you have and how many children were there??
Were they easy to find?

At my wedding, we had a separate room for the kiddies where there were entertainers/clowns/circus acts etc…they had tables in there to eat their food (kiddie food, nothing haute cuisine like for the adults:)), and there was a supervisor per table to make sure the kids ate their food and didn’t misbehave too much… it kept them entertained and away from the 10ft cake, ice sculptures, and other expensive ornamental pieces in the main hall… i hate out of control kids at weddings… they drive me crazy… their mothers are too busy posing and looking all bollywood to care what they’re offspring are doing…:smack:

I know people who have actually put on the invitations " mr and mrs x… no children allowed"… is that taking it too far?? :hmmm:

you people have kids & problems. I never came across such kids! They were all nice and behaved like ladies and gents.

at my sister wedding ..OMG...i was walking with glass of Milk for dud pilaee and Kids hit me and all milk was on flor.. i was so mad..i was about to slap them..but their mothers were there :(...

at my couzins wedding.. my younger couzin broke the jhula at the mehndi..lol it was hailoursss.lol the ppl fell on da ground andd noone knew who did it..i saw him do it and wen i told him.. he ran awayy..lol and at da wedding all my little couzin kept going on the stage and breaking the flowers from the decor on the stage and kept giving it to random ppl..lloll in ALLLL da pixx dere were kids.. it was quite funny..lol soo now for my wedding inshAllahh i plan on havingg a guard to block da kids..or have likee a kids corner wid a clown so dey can bully him :P hehehe

i had two babysitters and 7 kids-
three 2 year olds
one 3 year old
one 4 year old
one 5 year old
one 6 year old

i placed an ad on craigslist and then spoke to them on the phone to determine whom i liked best.

you're so fresh with ideas SGC, i love it! thanks!!

Judging by the number of kids at the wedding, I'm assuming no kids were invited to the wedding??
I don't know if I could put that on an invite...I don't think their parents would come otherwise!!

omg......... i attended two weddings in feb....... and after that i am so scared of kids............

they ripped the whole aisle, and kept kicking off the decor on the sides of it........ we had the hardest time to control them....... and their mothers were sitting there and pretending that they dont know whose kids are these!! it was so damn annoying!!!

and then they were all around the bride......i was being the family photographer from the bride's side....... and i was just having the hardest time getting them off the stage so i can get a decent pic of bride..... they were stepping on her lehnga, touching her stuff. ek tu woh pehle hi pareshan as she is going to start a new life...... her whole susral was there, right in front... upper saye annoying kids!!! ... and funniest thing happened on valima when a kid went and hid under bride's chair....... as they were playing hide and seek!!!! we were like :O:O:O yeh kya ho raha hai!!! i had to yell at the kid to come out.... and he was like..... i can't ..... they will catch me...... just let me stay here for one more min....... I was like wth!!! get out!!! issa lag raha tha keh they are in a play ground or something.

^see that's the thing.. kids don't know any better, they are kids after all, being immature comes with the age. it's the parents responsibility to make them behave which so many don't even care about.

On my mehndi night, my 6 yo cousin kept coming close to me, while I was having my mehndi done. She would come like THISCLOSE to my arms or to me, and oMG i was gettng so mad. But of course she wouldn’t do anything..she was just trying to freak me out. Smartass :hoonh: of course nothing happened so i can laugh about it now.

At our wedding, 90% of the kids were direct family (my cousins, nephew, his neices and nephews) so it wasn’t such a big deal. I honestly dont even remember them :S

no, that was it for the kids! we only had 96 guests and none of our other guests have kids, so these were our cousins, nieces & nephews... i actually forgot my husband's niece in that count! she was 4 at the time, so we had 8 kids.

ya... their mothers were too busy talking about the new stuff they bought for their new homes.... and how their business is going on. and behind them....... all this mess is going on.... dulha dulhan ki family khuun keh ghoont pee rahi thi!!
they spend so much on the decor and everything.... at least let them enjoy thir spendings..... even before they can see... its all ruined by out of control kids!!

i think this needs to be a part of that thread in Parenting where a bunch of us were discussing how parents don't teach their kids how to behave.

so i guess you won’t put that on invite?:hoonh:

yes u r right...this should be in Parenting section.