In the biggest Indian movie of all time, a hindu Indian girl marries a muslim Pakistani man. Eagerly waiting for a Pakistani movie that will show the opposite, and wondering if it will be as well received by Pakistanis as the aforementioned movie was by Indians.
Unfortunately, you are not getting the whole point of this thread. You can make story of Muslim girl and Hindu guy and go to moon and celebrate .. but for God sake don’t stereotype Pakistan. @lillyy2k2 can answer you better.
koi si bhi movie dekhlo… sab main yehi tamasha nazar aye ga..
But why search for realism in Bollywood movies? And is only Pakistan being stereotyped in Bollywood? Bollywood movies are nonsensical, stereotyping, ridiculously over the top, cheesy, melodramatic displays of anything but realism.
But as long as the biggest Bollywood hit of all time does not show Pakistan and Pakistanis in negative light, but actually breaks cultural and religious barriers to portrait Pakistan and muslim Pakistanis in a positive light, then it to me shows that Indians are receptive to Pakistanis being shown as normal decent human beings, worthy of Indians marrying their daughters to them. Otherwise they would not have embraced PK as much as they did.
So perhaps my post was not so off topic after all? :)
Veer Zara was also a hit in Pakistan. You know what, ‘Pakistanis’ got ‘big’ enough hearts to even tolerate crap from likes of JP Dutta and Anil Sharma. Yes, they didn’t boycott ‘Border’ and ‘Ghadar’.
BTW, for your information, a Pakistani movie based on Hindu boy and Muslim girl love story was a huge hit in Pakistan not in 21st century, but in 1968. It was ‘Laakhon main ek’ whose story was copied by Raj Kapoor in his dream project ‘Henna’.
BTW, Raj Kapoor wanted to cast Pakistani actress ‘Shahnaz Shaikh’ as Henna, who rejected the offer and later on recommendation of Haseena Moin (Pakistani writer, who also wrote dialogues for Henna) he casted Zeba Bakhtiyar as Henna. Haseena Moin later requested not to mention her name in credits of Henna, as the movie released just after Babri Masjid demolition.
BTW, for your information, a Pakistani movie based on Hindu boy and Muslim girl love story was a huge hit in Pakistan not in 21st century, but in 1968. It was 'Laakhon main ek' whose story was copied by Raj Kapoor in his dream project 'Henna'.
Good. I had not heard of that movie before. Very curious to know, did anyone of them have to convert, or did they both get to keep their religious identities?
You know what, 'Pakistanis' got 'big' enough hearts to even tolerate crap from likes of JP Dutta and Anil Sharma. Yes, they didn't boycott 'Border' and 'Ghadar'.
Pakistanis and Indians are well known for tolerating cinematic crap, otherwise many Bollywood movies would not have been as well received over there, as they have. :)
Good. I had not heard of that movie before. Very curious to know, did anyone of them have to convert, or did they both get to keep their religious identities?
The movie covers the love story and it perhaps got a tragic end. The point was that Pakistani viewers were mature enough to tolerate such topics, even just after 3 years of 1965 war between India and Pakistan.
While Pakistani viewers still watch movies like 'Ghadar' and 'Border', I don't think Indian viewers got that level of tolerance. A recent backlash on Zee Zindagi for showing Pakistani drama 'Dastan / Waqt ne kia kya sitam' based on 1947 partition, shows that when it comes to tolerate portrayal of controversial issues, the viewers on other side of the border are more uncomfortable than viewers on our side of border.
Thank you very much for notifying me about Lakhon mein Ek, seems like a good movie, I will watch it when time permits. Obviously there are many intolerant people in India too, but I do feel that it shows the tolerance of indians when movies like PK and Bajrangi Bhaijaan (not watched it, but reportedly shows Pakistan in a good light), become huge hits. Interfaith marriages, especially when the male is from minority, is a huge barrier to break on the subcontinent. Perhaps a bit less in India, due to there being millions of non-hindus there, but yet from what I have gathered of their culture, it seems to be almost as big of a barrier for indians as its for pakistanis.
So when they show it in a movie, which becomes a critical and commercial success, I do believe it shows they are receptive to viewing Pakistan and pakistanis in a positive lights.
You gotta give them benefit of the doubt because we dont have many movies that show Pakistans urban life or any life for that matter so ofcourse they don't know what Pakistan is like, a lot like India, but they need to show the muslim aspect of Pakistan to show the difference.
The Phrase: La Hawla Wa La Quwwata illa BillAhil Aliyyil Azeem
Translates to: There is no power and no strength except with Allah
Use: This sentence is uttered when some serious matter befalls a person that he cannot cope with, or there is something that it is very difficult for him to
deal with.
But why search for realism in Bollywood movies? And is only Pakistan being stereotyped in Bollywood? Bollywood movies are nonsensical, stereotyping, ridiculously over the top, cheesy, melodramatic displays of anything but realism.
Yes they’re cheesy melodramatic and unrealistic but that doesn’t negate the fact that bollywood films are agenda driven and full of propaganda against Pak and Islam. One or two films here and there don’t mean anything when every other indian films shows some bhai and villain as a Muslim.
In the biggest Indian movie of all time, a hindu Indian girl marries a muslim Pakistani man. Eagerly waiting for a Pakistani movie that will show the opposite,
Huh?? Islam doesn’t allow marriage between Hindu and Muslim.So Why does Pakistanis have to make silly films that abuse their faith just to please Indian film makers? Who has defined that a Hindu marrying a Muslim translates into tolerance anyways? What crap!
Weren’t people beaten up and theatres vandalized because of the movie PK despite the fact it was not against Hindu faith and made by conservative Hindus? We have films and programs based on PK’s theme on our tv every now and then exposing fake mullah and fake peers but people don’t make a fuss. But in India many groups kicked a storm to get PK banned.
In India , Pakistani drama Dastaan had to be censored for telecast (which actually ruined the context and theme of the drama) heavily to appeal to Indian masses despite the fact it was a very balanced play. More balanced than any Indian film on same subject. Regardless, there were protests and petition was filed against its airing. Now, it has been confirmed that Dastaan has been banned from re-telecast. So much for Indian tolerance!
Weren’t people beaten up and theatres vandalized because of the movie PK despite the fact it was not against Hindu faith and made by conservative Hindus?
Might have, yet its the highest grossing Bollywood movie of all time. So mostly it was accepted by the people in India, despite having such a controversial theme.
We have films and programs based on PK’s theme on our tv every now and then exposing fake mullah and fake peers but people don’t make a fuss.
No, we don't. PK's theme was not merely to expose fake "mullahs" and fake "peers", seems like you missed the point of the movie. As far as I know, Pakistan has never made anything remotely close to something as powerful as PK, wrt its core message. Obviously you are free to prove me wrong.
Who has defined that a Hindu marrying a Muslim translates into tolerance anyways?
Breaking cultural and religious barriers, to show that human beings are more worth than religious sentiments and religions, does translate into tolerance. Unfortunately most Pakistanis don't get this. So I'm not surprised by your response.
Btw, there are scholars who want to revise and reinterpret Islamic family laws to better suit them to the 21st century. Unsurprisingly they receive death threats. Hopefully they will succeed.
In India , Pakistani drama Dastaan had to be censored for telecast (which actually ruined the context and theme of the drama) heavily to appeal to Indian masses despite the fact it was a very balanced play.
Yes India, like Pakistan, does have problems with free speech and tolerance level for contrarian views. No surprise there.
Weren’t people beaten up and theatres vandalized because of the movie PK despite the fact it was not against Hindu faith and made by conservative Hindus? We have films and programs based on PK’s theme on our tv every now and then exposing fake mullah and fake peers but people don’t make a fuss. But in India many groups kicked a storm to get PK banned.
India has a large section of society that is tolerant just like us, we have crazies and they have crazies too. How does that make India as a whole responsible for a small minorities wrongdoings? Please think sensibly.