anyone here from Houston? I am seriously considering a job opportunity there and was wondering what my fellow Guppies thought about the city…
Re: Houston?
i am from houston , nazi 83 is from houston , hhs(Some number) is from houston ![]()
depend what kind of job do u want , legal or illgal
jk
allso depend what is ur major ![]()
Iam from houston…![]()
how can i help u dear ![]()
jhooti she is from canada ![]()
I have visited Houston a couple of times and really don't care for it. It is a desi + Mexican hub. If you like living around a lot of desis and Mexicans then you'll like it. To me it looked the like the city is expanding w/out planning.
houston is toooooo hott n humid! i wouldnt recommend working there...
ohh yeah sorry actually i forgot that iam in canada ![]()
never mind near iam in canada thanks for reminding me insan ![]()
i already have a job offer, i live now in wisconsin so to me, being surrounded by desis (and mexicans) is exciting, also the cost of living is nice and cheap i hear?
where are the places to live/buy a home? i've heard it called little Karachi, is that true?
I don't live in Houston but I live in New Orleans, which is about 4-5 hours drive from houston and I go there twice or three times a year. It's mostly the house of desis and spanish people. Job market is pretty nice, as far as I know. It's hot and humid just like New Orleans. Yes, the cost of living is fairly cheaper than North. Food prices are fair as well and there are many desi restaurants and shopping centers around. On average, desi food is like 5-6 dollars and ofcourse it depends on what restaurant you go to and how much you eat.
Maybe I love houston because I don't live there and I don't see many desis in New Orleans. What living is really like in houston, only people in Houston can tell.
What kind of job offer do you have? Give some background and maybe people of related field will reply in details keeping that in mind.
my job is in Auditing and I will work in the Galleria area (building office is there)
i ce , u will like it but u will be away 40 mins from city , i mean from desi area :)
u will be away from my house 20-25 mins :D
shivangi baji u live in houston ??? ![]()
nahi ji just know only sugarland in houston that coz one of my friend got married with a guy in houston and they live in sugarland.i was just pulling tums legs:D
^ hehehe
nice one shivangi baji ![]()
Heard its a hot place
Well if you don't have a frying pan you can fry anything outside. Pretty hot place mang.
i don’t think so but one never knows…oh well, i think i’m going to make the jump, i won’t mind shedding a few layers of clothing if that’s what i must do…
It might be a good move from Wisconsin Tums. Sugarland is the desi hub. Pretty much all desi rich/middle class folks live there. But Houston is rapidly expanding and a lot of new suburbs are sprouting up due to the low real estate values. I have friends/relatives who live 2-3 hours apart from each other but still live in Houston. So you can imagine the size of the city. Oh yeah traffic is horror so be prepared to leave early for work!
u know i wud be glad if u do that:D