Houston vs L.A.

I have lived in L.A for many years then I have been living in Midwest, Southeast of US. Now I have been living in Houston for more than a year.
I still do not feel any connection to this city. The waether is too hot and humid. Desi folks here are not too open and welcoming to new members of community. There is not much to do for fun.
I am thinking to move back to Los Angeles.
Please give me some reasons as to why should stick around here in H town.

Re: Houston vs L.A.

You can’t beat Cali. Just move back .

Cheap real estate.
Jobs in energy sector.

Give Dallas a try…Houston is the arm pit of Texas :smiley:

Seriously though, the weather is better (we don’t have the wretched humidity), the people are nicer, schools are better…in terms of Texas,

1)Austin
2)Dallas
3)Houston

I know you are trying to sell him a house in Dallas, but if you compare to SoCal, even Austin falls far behind on those accounts.

@Mirch, if you are rich enough to afford a house in SoCal, move there.

I’d definitely give Dallas a try. Its very rapidly growing city both in terms of economy as well as job creation. Plus i’ve heard the desi community is enormous especially islamic schools etc. My favourite bro Noman ali khan has his institute over there. There are plenty of IT jobs I heard.
Weath is better too and not too far from houston

There is no comparison between Houston and LA. This would be like comparing Karachi vs Chakwal or Lahore vs Sargodha.

You can’t compare SoCal with Austin lol…it’s like apples and oranges. Obviously, if a person can afford to live on the West Coast, it’s a no brainer. But when you look at what a $350,000 house in Austin or Dallas gets you vs a $350,000 house in SoCal…well… :smiley:

Bayinnah has definitely put Dallas on the map religion wise. But even aside from that, or the mega masjids of Irving, Plano & Richardson, each suburb/neighborhood in the metroplex has their own thriving/satellite masjid community. For Islamic schools, Brighter Horizons Academy sets the bar way high. It gives families the same advanced academic standard of good public schools in an Islamic school setting. There are also many top notch charter schools in the area.

The Dallas metroplex (because let’s face it, it’s really about the suburbs here) are consistently ranked in the top places in America to raise and family and send your kids to school. Low crime, affordable housing, top notch schools.

And yes, the job market is booming. In the past 6 months, I have had 4 clients that were out of state transplants (from both east coast and west coast).

So where do you live in Houston?

exactly what r u expecting from the “desi” community? dinner invitations every weekend?

Don’t expect anything from them, sab paisay kay peer hain

Katy.

LOL, I expect nothing , Alhumdulillah I can throw a pary every weekend. Everybody I come across gives me impression that they are too busy to make new friends. Even my relatives living here are too busy to accept my invitation and would have a prior arrangement.
Your paisay kay peer might be true because I have a very simple but comfotable lifesstyle.
I do not want to be friends with those who would be my friends based on my material possessions.

LA- great weather, melting pot of cultures and backgrounds. tons and tons of desis of all kinds and sorts. it is expensive though, unless you live in the outskirts like Corona/Riverside areas.

Houston- hot!

@khattichic, how are winters in Dallas?

They can be very erratic. We usually have only one or two true ice/snow type episodes…usually only about an inch of accumulation for actual snow, but ice/sleet/black ice is big problem here. Our weather is extremely bipolar. As the saying goes, “you don’t like the weather in North Texas? Wait 5 minutes, it will change”…it’s not uncommon to be in the 60’s on Monday and then in the teens on Thursday :smiley:

Typically, the coldest lows are in the 30’s.

:kursi:

Mirch: If job is not a problem & you don’t mind the cost of living…then you should move back to LA. Houston is amazing b/c of the booming economy & cost of living. No other big city is this cheap to live in. But if these two factors don’t matter to you…then based on your post, there’s no reason for you to stay in Htown.

Tumhari maar pitai bhi meethi lagti hai mujhay :kiss:

I know 20 miles is not much for Texas, but maybe moving to Sugarland area will help?

lol…I knew that was coming from someone living in Houston. I wont complain about the weather then. :smiley:

In other words. Houston is great in winters.