house husbands

In all my life, iv only had the pleasure of meeting one house husband, his wife works day and night, produces the children and he is basically the mother.

He does all the housework, taking to school, feeding, bathing, changing of nappy’s..he does it all.

Is he any less or more of a man for doing this?

Do you think his kids are missing out that “motherly love” as some men are sometimes accused of not being able to be the “mother”

I respect him, he loves what he does and can actually understand the hardships of motherhood or looking after kids…whatever you want to label it.

Iv known a few men who think that what this man does as shamful behaviour..the woman raises the kids, the men go out and hunt…

thoughts please.

Re: house husbands

hmm yeah whatever rocks the couples' boat, im cool with the woman working and guy staying at home if that's what they've worked out and are happy with

i dont think he's any less of a man or whatever

but the deal is, aren't women naturally more affectionate and soft...? sure, guys can cook, clean waghera but can guys really bring up a child and provide a child the care a mother can provide? i think nature has provided only a female those kinds of instincts and abilities that are needed to give the child a complete and healthy bringing up from an emotional point of view...plus i think a mother is just naturally more sensitive to her child's needs than a father...its something biological that Allah has provided in nature...

Well, logically speaking this is an admirable man. Very. Personally and emotionally speaking, I'd not be attracted to a man like this. I like manly men, that like to be the breadwinner, that like to have the wife be at home with the babies...in short, a "hunter" is attractive to me...not a home-maker man. thats most definitely a personal thing....the type of man you are speaking of will most assuredly be able to find a career-type woman who will be thrilled and lucky to find him. The kiddies will not miss out on motherly love - many mothers work...kiddies will benefit from having a loving father at home although i think its different having Dad at home rather than mom. They may get strange looks from their peers in school but so what....

well thats my kinda confused/confusing statement on the issue!

i dont know irem, some women i know should not be allowed to have children, the emotional/psychological abuse that is caused by a mother is sometimes more damaging than even physical abuse.

Iv seen some really nice fathers, fathers who will die for their children, and fathers who are not ashamed to love their children.

I think some men forget that when they become fathers, they have to be less of a "man" and more of a father. I know plenty of women that need to do this too.

Being a parent should be of paramount importance to both their lives.

uff irem...u made me go off point, damn u :p

house husbands is the topic, not parenthood.

house husband is an oxymoron :D

Very nice post.

he has no choice in the matter, he cant find a job in this country, his wife made him leave his perfect, high paying job so she could move to England and persue her career.

M_M parenthood is part of being a house husband yaar

hmmm yeah i know what u mean, u do have a point...some mothers do tend to get abusive...but stilll at the end of the day they always have the benefit of their children in their hearts

and i totally agree with u abt the "fathers need to be affectionate" bit as well...my dad is like that...he's an extremely loving dad...

but still i think a mother is a mother, what a mother can do for a child a father just cant, and same is true for vice versa as well

there's a reason why the mother is the one who gives birth to the child, and nurses the child..in the Quran she is instructed to nurse her child till 2 yrs of age preferably...and obviously to do that at regular intervals she has to be around the child during that time ...so i think that's important...

but then again if u look at it that way our Prophet (saw) was brought up by daai Haleema who was not his mother...

so i dont know....what the religious point of view on this issue is...

i guess whatever works best for the family...personally, ideally i would want to be with my children (if i have any inshallah) till they are young so i can take care of em...if there's a financial constraint and i have to work, i'd look for a job where i can balanace everything but definitely physically being with the kids is of paramount importance till they r young

Miss_Mohabbat - Then he is doing a great job supporting his wifeand taking care of the kids, and both are doing what they have to for their family. I don't like the phrase she made him leave, it smacks of him having no choice in the matter. I am sure they weighed their decision, especially if it entailed him leaving a good job.

I also don't believe being a good parent is genetic (that it is in the genes to be a good nurturer). Being a good parent relies on the kind of up-bringing you have and your personality, men and women alike can be very good parents. If that is something that he does well and he enjoys, then why not?

I find mother child love to be the most fascinating thing in the world.

Even when you are looking at the wildlife, the female takes care of the kids till they are self-sufficient ..while the lion is screwing around with other lionesses.
If I were a woman, I wouldn’t let anybody deprive me of this nature’s gift of raising a child. I’ve nothing against men being house husbands but I would rather have a woman take care of the kids when they need her the most.

^ :rotfl:…now that wud make such a lovely argument, if the woman wanted to work…“u dont know what u r missing”…:slight_smile:

lioness gone hungry for too long would eat her own cubs. Bad example fayz mian.

^ Maybe / Maybe not..that is what differentiates humans from animals. A mother would never eat her own child. The example is an indication for humans to learn from nature.

I haven't come across a house husband yet. But I have across men where they have accepted part time jobs so that they can stay home and raise the kids while the wife has the better job/more money and has to stay out of the house more often. It is definitely admirable as men have huge egos and wouldn't want to take up baby sitting as a full time job.

Rukh, small little point here---- it is not babysitting when you watch your own kids, it is pitching in.

btw guys

u'd be surprised to know that among the "oodhs" in southern punjab, some parts of sindh and balochistan...these are nomad tribes...the custom is for a man to be a house husband and to have multiple wives who go out and earn...this is the culture among these ppl...the guy usually sits at home most of the day on his charpai with his huqqa

^ bakwas…even here u skewed it the way u like it…its the women who have multiple husbands and the woman buys her husband whenever she wants another…:mad:

ghulail - where? sounds like a place I'd like to live :D

ghulail nah dude u got wrong info there :p the guy has multiple wives among oods.

nahin yaar......the place is considered very 'backward' and very uncivilsed.....its those southern punjab, sindhi and balochi desert areas.....but i can understand a pathan's womans fascination with it.....:)..... irem u can keep muun chiraaing, those women aren't Muslim, societys very basic there...:)