HOT HOT HOT

Its Center of the Sun HOT here today!!!

Summer has started and my skin gets irritated very easily. Any heat at all sends my cheeks into tomato-red mode and I constantly look like Ive been running a mile.

What do I do aside from drinking lots of water? I tried rose water too but it doesnt help at all. :frowning:

Thankfully it's been overcast and rainy (my favorite type of weather) in Florida. It's been sunny and humid for so long that I sincerely welcome the change.

There's this lady that I used to go to for facials and she mentioned that cooling ingredients include rose water, cucumbers, yogurt.

What I've tried recently (and it has helped) is to mix 1 1/2 teaspoon of besan with 1 teaspoon of yogurt and mix. Wash your face with this mixture. You just rub it gently on your face as if you would a typical cleanser/soap. And then wash off. If you want, you can even let it dry on your skin and wash off about 15 minutes later. The yogurt will have a cooling affect on your face, it will also mildly exfoliate your skin, leaving it feeling smoother. After....washing off...tone with chilled rose water.

Stay out of the sun, and if you go out, apply sun block. If your skin is getting irritated/dry, gently massage a few drops of olive oil to yor skin and hopefully it will feel better.

Re: HOT HOT HOT

^Apart from drinking water....try lemonade/smoothie/slushy/italian ice/rooh-afza

keep cool PS - If you skin is sensitive - the sun can make you look a bit red. Or even make u breakout.

So -
1. keep you AC on in the car
2. drink lots of water
3. WEAR SUN BLOCK OR SUN SCREEN (this is a must - coz you got a wedding coming up right?)

1. If you working out at a gym - get the staff to get you fan by your machine if the AC is not running
  2. Avoid HOT HOT HOT showers.

good luck

watermelon, watermelon juice, coconut juice.

Theres a coconut juice brand, Vita Coco, 100% natural coconut juice from Brazil, it tastes delicious and great during the summer. I’m sure you can find it in Chicago.

Vita Coco | 100% Natural Coconut Water

Thanks for reminding me Sumo. Me gots watermelon in the fridge!

Thank you girls.

Ive been eating watermelon because its my favorite along with cantaloupes and mangoes. Ive been drinking water and staying out of the sun, the last thing I need is tan lines and just looking like a patchwork quilt. I use SPF 40 on my face right now and dont leave the house without it.

Aisha, Ive been neglecting the yogurt intake for sure...that is something I need to work on. But that mixture sounds good to me because aside from the rose water...those are pretty calming ingredients.

Sumorani, Im going to try that Natural Coconut Water...that sounds awesome.

[quote=“PSquared, post:12, topic:200648”]

Thank you girls.

Ive been eating watermelon because its my favorite along with cantaloupes and mangoes.

Watermelon is my favorite fruit!!! Cantaloupes…meh…depends on my mood.

Mangoes…I like eating em desi style…you know how they’re cut lengthwise in long slices (like boats)…with the skin on the bottom. Hard to explain, but that’s how i like to eat em.

Like this:
http://www.worldofstock.com/slides/PFO3041.jpg :smiley:

Girl, I have a box of mangoes in my fridge right now that are about to get anihilated soon and that is exactly how I eat 'em!

Ladies, that is entirely the wrong way to eat a mango. You should peel the entire mango with a veg / potato peeler, then cut the thick, juicy, fleshy parts of the mango off the stone on either side, then the narrower edges. You can then cut these into chunky fat cubes and dive in with a fork... Even better with a good helping of whipped cream.

Trust me, this is the best way, once tried you will never go back to this lazy way of yours with peel on.

LOL!

:k: That’s exactly how I eat mangoes minus the whip cream

^ I’ve eaten them BOTH ways…an I prefer the “boat” slices :snooty:

funny. i brought a mango with me to work today and was thinking over how to eat it without scaring the co-workers. personally i prefer just using the hands and mouth method while sitting outside. but this time around i think i'll try the city folks' boat method. but i hate the thought of wasting the pit. might ziploc it and take it home to mete out full justice.

oh and psquared, for your overheating face, i recommend a cold shower.

Pseudo-Paindoo!

Bravo!!!

You know queer, since this is all about the face, you should rub the mango pit all over your face for a natural mango facemask/exfoliator in one. Demonstrate this to your co-workers.

rupayhalwa, i would have discussed the implications of that had you not committed sacrilege by adulterating mango with whipped fking cream. so long, clueless. :snooty:

ok i got a mango from my tree , and i will eat after my co-worker leave :stuck_out_tongue:

oh yeah the boat way, ghutli kahnae mein aur hee ziada maza hai :snooty:

Think not of adulterating young queer, think ENRICHING. Now we come to speak of it, applying a good dose of double cream to your face after said exfoliation will moisturise it more than you will ever dare to believe.