Hospitals in Pakistan

Over the last 4 years, my opinion on medical care in pakistan has just gotten lower and lower. Having just returned from pakistan a few weeks ago, during which a lot of time was spent in hospital (my husband’s grandmother had a stroke), i had a lot of time to observe the way things work. im really hoping it was just that particualr hospital but…i dont know :(.

I feel the doctors and nurses there are not empathetic or compassionate the way they should be considering the profession they’re in. Rather they are more interested in making money than in caring aobut their patients.

Whilst we were in the hospital, every now and then some random doctor would come in, check grandma, then leave and without so much as a word to the family. once my hubby’s mum asked the doctor a question, and the doctor just completely blanked her. was there for less than a minute,then left. And each visit from a doctor or nurse sent the fees we were paying up some more.

The people they have there to help move a patient or to wheel their stretcher or to empty their urine bag ALL asked for money, despite getting a wage. When my hubby’s father on one occasion refused, the helpers all went off in a sulk.

The hospital was a top hospital supposedly, but the hygiene there was really below par. The day helper who was there to empty the urine bags, she emptied the dust bin in the room, then emptied the urine bag into it, dumped the contents in the toilet, washed the bin with a few rinses of water and placed it back by grandma’s bed. I was really shocked the first time i saw her do this.

The nurses were all cold in attitude and miserable in face.

Prior to this experience, whenever ive been ill in pakistan (everytime im there basically), the doctor’s all wanna prescribe injections/needles. really weird.

I feel i dont trust medical care there now, and when i think back on the treatment grandma had, it was pretty bad. really.

So did we just have bad luck with the way grandma was looked after, or is bad medical care a widespread thing in pakistan?

Re: Hospitals in Pakistan

There's the good and the bad everywhere, sazzie. I have many relatives who are doctors and currently practising in Pakistan and they are the sweetest people ever! My khalu, for example, has a cabinet full of gifts that he receives from his patients as a token of appreciation. Who does that unless they are truly thankful. Any interaction that I've had with doctors in Pakistan has been pleasant so far.

You also have to realise that the doctors are under immense pressure, they have to attend many patients everyday so you can't expect them to sit down with every patient and have a friendly chat. They just want to check on the patient, update their reports and move onto the next one.

But you make some valid points, some of them do have a cold attitude and no matter how stressed they may be, they have to realise that they are supposed to be making people feel better. And what's with the nurses asking for more money?! Did you guys have a chat with any of the seniors at the hospital? They won't realise there's a problem unless we tell them. I would've also asked the nurses to piss off if I was you if they felt oh so miserable taking care of my grandmother and I would've arranged a private caretaker.

If you have bad experience, it doesn't mean it is actually wrong. Pakistan have one of the best Doctors & Medical Institutions, granted they are costly and not reachable for majority of population.

No one is doubting the quality of doctors, its the attitude that stinks. I've been in and out of different hospitals because of my grandfather and the nurses really could not care less. I've spent most of my life living in Saudi Arabia and my experiences in the hospitals were really pleasant, the nurses (mostly Filipinos) were always nice, warm and caring and that is the sort of attitude a patient needs. In Pakistan it does not matter which hospital you go to, the nurses are always rude and uncaring, they will snap at you over the smallest of things wherever you go. The government hospitals have terrible hygiene and the most expensive private hospitals get away with all sorts of malpractice.

I think a little of this has to do with the patients' attitudes as well. No one follows patient visiting hours, one patient in the hospital has his whole khandaan sitting in the room with kids and everything.

basically they are all OVERWORKED and UNDERPAID....because in good private hospitals (those which pay good to their employees) i haven't seen much problem.......

Yes that's part of the problem too.

Scary stories, my father went to see my uncle last month and they didn't have any seperate rooms available so he was put-up in the general ward. Everytime i'd call my father to speak to him he'd tell me of a new amputation story and how everyone from the khaandan was there and the doctors would ask the family to bring 2, 5kg bags so they could put the legs of the patient and hand it over! He said the patients' grandson was peeking into the bag and 'playing' with the limb!

i was surprised last year when one of my cousins needed a liver transplant and she couldn't get anywhere in Pakistan so she had to travel all the way to delhi to get it...i'm wundering why its not done in Pakistan! :(

Lol wtf?! Why would they hand the limbs over to the family? That's medical waste, the hospital should be disposing it!

I'm sure liver transplants are done here too, she probably couldn't find a donor.

NO, her own son was the donor...Liver Transplant is NOT DONE anywhere in Pakistan...why else she wud have come to India? its TRUE!

^ Not in Pakistan.. :hayaa:

http://www.siut.org/milestone.htm

http://www.paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?139607

Liver transplants do take place here.

Since 2003 we are doing it in Pakistan

It is very unethical to accept those gifts from patients. Unless he owns the clinic or hospital , he should not accept those gifts.

. People also do that if they fear that doctor will not give them the best attention and care. Therefore they will bribe the doctor to make sure they get his/her full attention.

The doctors who work for government hospital are allowed to practice privately in Pakistan. Their attitude in the government clinic and hospital is entirely different than where they have private practice. In the government hospital or clinic they are always in a rush to go to their private practice where they give full respect and attention to their patients. Some doctors openly tell the people if you want better care come to my private clinic. If a doctor cannot be friendly to their patient then he/she is in the wrong profession. They should become a grave diggers instead.

Oh come on, I know him and there's nothing corrupt about it and no his patients definitely don't fear him.

One of his patients was a woodworker and he actually carved my khalu's name on a piece of wood and gave that to him as a gift which my khalu proudly displays on that cabinet. I'm not talking about luxurious gifts here given for the purpose of bribery or something.

Agreed with your last paragraph.

People nowadays call doctors in Pakistan kasai (butchers)

As gruesome as it sounds I think Islamically you are supposed to bury any limbs you have amputated, hospital waste usually gets burned. At least thats what my mom told us, when my brother had his tonsils out she damanded them for burial she said if we did not bury them he would suffer throat pains forever.

Really? Never knew that. Don't remember my tonsils being buried either :p. Last I saw them they were in jar of water next to my bed.

Are you related to babar sattar?

On of many grounds problems with Pakistani folks living in Pakistan and out of Pakistan that they are ungrateful.

Listen

You have a right to complain if your medical treatment in hospitals is not right.

You have a right to complain if your medical attendant is not performing his/her duties as per book procedure.

In both cases you must be a medical professional yourself.

In our country people who keep on complaining are mostly not in this field and they do observation on side topics.

The OP is not happy because doctors did not offer her greetings and shared the technical details with her or other relatives of patients.

Doctor :

Hi Ladies and gentlemen ! The patient is currently in stable condition with pulse rate at 67, BP @ 110/148 and sugar level a little high. The medication would stay unchanged today, but few tests are required. The prostate area development is not normal. Last weeks MRI scan was discussed in a closed door meeting with 3 doctors and 2 surgeons in 2 hours. The minutes of meeting (17 pages) can reviewed by submitting you CNIC and DMO number.

Nurse:

Good Morning ! How are you feeling today ( to patient) I hope weather stays pleasant today just like yesterday. Otherwise the heat is killing us. The Kambakhat Loadsheding jaan nahi chorti. our ooper se hamarey kamrey ka AC bhi kharaab howa hai ek haftey se. Baaji aap ke kamrey main tu itna sukoon hai ke kia bataoon. Hairder , Hamara hospital ka electrition chutti pe gaya howa hai ek haftey se. Usky bhai our behn ki shaadi hai pind dadaan khan main. Ab wo Mungal (tuseday ) ko aye ga tu hamara AC utarey ga our theek karwaye ga