Honoring our Lotaz

We are unique, no where in the world can you come across people who have switched their political loyalties like they have done so in Pakistan. The term lota is very apt, though there are others are who termed as a ‘talli’. Let us honor the top lotaz of Pakistan.

Shiekh Rashid, who is more popularly knows as Sheed Talli. In case you are wondering, a talli is in reference to his lota politics. We didnt just want to call him a lota because hes a very special lota so he got his own symbol. He was very close to Nawaz Sharif at one time, but after his ouster, he decided to jump ships to Musharraf’s PLAAATFAARAM. Needless to say, he lost both his seats in Rawalpindi, couldnt even grab 2nd spot :hehe:

Sherpao, another one of Benazir’s top leutanents. Its sad because in his second term under the PPP, he did great for the province of NWFP. Then again he decided to betray her and joined the dictator.

Chaudhry Shujaat and Elahi, our two parhey likhey Pakistanis are no doubt classic lotaz, deserve special attention because they went one step further and led a party consisting of lotaz. Its ironic how after their party’s routing, they are talking about morals and how people shouldn’t leave their party.

Khar, changed wives and political parties many times, though still like running as an indpendent, so hes not a lota like the ones mentioned above.

Leghari sahib, one of Benazir’s most trusted nominees for the presidency backstabbed her bigtime by using the 52-B, but was later shunned off in a confrontation with Nawaz. Later he did another lota-turn when he supported the dictatorship.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman, who has no sharam left in him and has supported an ‘aurat’ as the PM after saying openly how its UnIslamic for them to run a country. These days hes continuing to make a fool out of himself with his ridiculous interviews, and needless to say he is considered to be on par with the establishment when it comes to their interests.

Now last but not least,** Altaf bhai.** You will wonder why I mentioned a party leader as a lota. He has just about allied his party with everyone in power. 1988, he allied himself with the winner, the PPP. He switched sides when the PML[N] won as well. After that he joined the ‘agencies and the military establishment’ whom he pretended to abhor. So there we have it, he has allied himself with the feudals, the landlords, the industrialists, the military, (all of whom he claims are on MQM’s agenda to get rid of) so that makes him the biggest unprincipled lota of all times.

I still honor the people who have always been loyal to their parties, despite the fact that some of them performed poorly in their tenures in power. This just shows that atleast they are sincere and will not sell their souls that easily.

Re: Honoring our Lotaz

Spock bao, in this planet called EARTH, any nation with SELECTIVE memory DESERVES such leaders. :chai:

among the lotas the notable missing names are benazir, nawaz, and zardari as well. benazir courted military and zardari courting military something they were supposedly against, although in benazir's case it was genetic, her late daddy also blasted and sucked up to military at the same time. and then we have Nawaz, a creation of military, now supposedly an agent for democracy, the person who went against supreme court and had his janwar attack the supreme court, and now is the biggest supporter of judicial independence.

lets not forget those lotay.

Spock, good post. Welcome back btw.

The story of Pakistan's biggest Lota: Zia-ul Haq held non-party election in 1985. Vast majority of Muslim League candidates got elected in their individual capacity. Zia-ul Haq nominated Mohammad Khan Junejo as Prime Minister of Pakistan. Junejo reorganised PML and was elected President of PML. Under Junejo, PML worked hard to organise the party at grass-root level.

But in mid-1988, Zia-ul Haq dismissed Prime Minister Junejo. This caused PML to split between two groups, one was 'principled' group that wanted to fight Zia-ul-Haq sacking of Junejo and stood behind their leader (Junejo), and other was 'Lota' group who because of their selfishness and greed, back-stabbed Junejo and went behind Zia-ul Haq to stay in good books of dictator so that they could benefit from dictator (and preserve their power in Punjab). Leader of 'Lota' group that backstabbed Junejo was Chief Minister of Punjab 'Nawaz Shareef' and the group that stabbed their leader Junejo today works as PML(N).

As man in power, he looted and plundered the country at unparallel level. He used looted money to buy supports and bribe people throughout his reign (today he has bought most in Media and Judiciary) or if necessary he used state brutality on whoever he could not buy, so that he can keep looting, plundering and enhancing his power in Pakistan. This crook and his brother ruled Punjab throughout until 1999, when Army kicked him. Once finding himself in trouble, this RAT abandoned every party member that stood behind him and used foreign contacts to escape from Pakistan to Saudi Arabia. Now, with the help of foreign contacts he returned to Pakistan so that he can loot and plunder the country again.

Benazir, Nawaz werent lotaz, they had their own party they were either the top leadership or the opposition, though Zardari turned out to be a lota, after the NRO BS. Lotaz were people who jumped ships between parties, or party leaders with a few seats who'd join others for a bit of moolah, like the last character I mentioned in my post.

Stop posting lies, NS and Junejo ran from the IJI united in the 1988 elections. It was much later that PML[Junejo] parted ways, and they were a MUCH smaller party anyways. I think the last person I mentioned was the biggest lota, what do you think?

This tribal mentality is beyond me. Why are Benazir/Nawaz/Musharraf even deserving of loyalty, when their corruption is clear to all?

In western democracies, people change their party loyalties/dissent from party leaders without necessarily being branded turncoats. If a local leader is in the game for obtaining the maximum benefit for his locality, why does it matter for him to consistently support one particular national leader?

Ideally we should be talking about those who go against stated principles/positions. Fazlur Rehman and to some extent Alfaf are the only one you criticize for that reason. I dont think its wrong for a politician to go a route that maximises his access to power, so long as he is consistent with stated principles. If for example Sherpao could provide maximum benefit to the people of NWFP by allying with Musharraf, good for him.

Well: Leader of 'Lota' group that backstabbed Junejo was Chief Minister of Punjab 'Nawaz Shareef' who (to get some moolah from his dunyavi daday Zia) jumped from PML to newly created PML(Fida Muhammad group) by Zia-ul-Haq. This PML(Fida Muhammad group) later became PML(Nawaz) and today those lotas of PML work as member of PML(Nawaz) under the leadership of PML biggest Lota, Nawaz.

As for Zardari, I do not think that he is Lota. He is/was never against Musharraf or have any real grudges with PML(Q). Actually, when Musharraf came to power, his life in prison became much better and he received many favours from President Musharraf as even though Musharraf hated corruption, Musharraf never showed any personal grudges towards him or anyone.

[Well, even Nawaz received a lot of favour from Musharraf, as according to court verdict, Nawaz should have got hanged, but Musharraf let him escape to Saudi Arabia and last year Musharraf let him come back].

Zardari is corrupt but certainly he is not Ahsaan Faramosh like Nawaz the crook (who stabbed every person for his personal selfishness, greed, and reasons). So to think that Zardari is against Musharraf is completely myth. Zardari is leader of Pakistan biggest party and it is up to him to decide what to do with mandate PPP got. Nawaz who got minor party mandate (similar to other minor parties in Pakistan), cannot and should not decide or dictate what Zardari would like to do with PPP's mandate.

It is generous enough that Zardari has thrown few bones to Nawaz so that Nawaz do not keep barking, but that does not mean that PPP could not take away the lollipop they gave to PML(N) and push them to corner. PML(N) should know (with some worry) that if there could be any grudges of PPP and Zardari, then it could be for no one other than Nawaz and his crooks in PML(N) who not only implicated Zardari in many cases but Nawaz loyals also tortured Zardari in Prison. If PPP is accommodating PML(N), then only Allah knows that it is trick or treat :D.

loooool. great title.

Tafu Kaliy ko tu" Lotaay Azam "ka khitab diya jaay tu by ja na hoga:D

did you really expect spock to mention mian saab. :o

obviously he is the biggest lota, how he sucked up to zia ul haq and celebrated his death anniversery every year like he a quaid-e-azam or something and then it suddenly stoped after 1999.

party leaders are the biggest lotas like them, you cant really blame the smaller leaders even thought they are corrupt cause at the end of the day there all corrupt meaningless partys and i would never like to stay in one of them.

so altaf is a lota for alligning himself with the party in power and nawaz shirif is not?

I wont call altaf a lota, to be a lota you have to be a politician. Which he is not. His is a mafia don.

I do have little respect for sheikh rasheed, After all his "lota geeri" at some level he is an honest person.
Khar I believe has become a sweet old man now.

If you are talking about me, where did I say they were not corrupt. Lota and corruption are two different things, learn to read first please. How can be Benazir a lota/loti, if she stuck to her own party which by the way is the most popular party of the country. Not calling her a loti by the way does not mean I am her loyalist.

In western democracies, people change their party loyalties/dissent from party leaders without necessarily being branded turncoats. If a local leader is in the game for obtaining the maximum benefit for his locality, why does it matter for him to consistently support one particular national leader?

Ok, name some Western lotaz, and then we'll talk. Name some in India, if you can.

Ideally we should be talking about those who go against stated principles/positions. Fazlur Rehman and to some extent Alfaf are the only one you criticize for that reason. I dont think its wrong for a politician to go a route that maximises his access to power, so long as he is consistent with stated principles. If for example Sherpao could provide maximum benefit to the people of NWFP by allying with Musharraf, good for him.
I was referring to his second tenure under BB's term, before he had turned lota. After that, he didnt do jack for NWFP, apart from becoming the interior minister and bumping up his security budget, thanks to the assasination plots.

Lota pana is not just limited to party jumping but principle jumping, making deals with people who you said you will not make deals with.

if we use this explanation of switchign parties as a sign of lota-pana then don altaf cant be called a lota either. If who you align with and how you change your tune is also a type of lota-pana, then right now PPP and PML-n are allies. Thats a rather large example of lota-pana.

Lets see now, Altaf has joined the ruling party several times over the course of the last 15 or so years, despite expressing his hatred for landlords, fuedels, and industrialists and the most recent example, the army! Last year he was ordering the killings of PPP people this time of the year, and right now hes sucking upto Zardari. I just dont get why Altaf’s mureeds get so upset if such things are pointed out.

I didnt read the rest of your redundant paras, but this is just too funny. I mean uptil a few months ago Zardari was evil, and now that hes in bed with Musharraf, hes considered an angel. Priceless :biggthumb That statement alone would qualify you for the membership into the lota league.

Lets see now in 1988, and in 1993, Benazir emerged as the leader, who did she have to jump ships to become the leader of the house. Read my second para carefully.

So i get it, aap ko altaf ka naam lotoon ki list me dekh kar buhat bura laga? :hehe: Altaf barely gets 15-20 seats, and he has to suck upto the ruling party with the most seats, and thats what classifies as a lota, not the leader of the 150-200 seats who accepts him as his shoe-polisher. I hope its more clear now.

My point wasnt that they are lotas themselves or that you are a loyalist, whatever that means. I say that they dont deserve loyalty, when you know they are criminals. Loyalty is to ideas, principles, causes, not to personalities.

Ok, name some Western lotaz, and then we'll talk. Name some in India, if you can.

First off they arent called lotaz. There are variably referred to as "back-benchers" or just dissenters.

Joe Lieberman is a recent example, George Galloway was another. Galloway ended up being disowned by Labour, but he was bucking the leadership for a long time before they parted ways. A very recent example is Ron Paul, a republican congressman who it looks like may end up endorsing the presidential candidate of another party and activating against his own party's nominee.

I was referring to his second tenure under BB's term, before he had turned lota. After that, he didnt do jack for NWFP, apart from becoming the interior minister and bumping up his security budget, thanks to the assasination plots.

Point is, what is wrong with being a "Lota"? Its not as if Pakistani political parties stand for ANY principle, except getting power and personalities. I dont see any reason why anyone should be loyal to personalities and that too extremely corrupt and flawed ones.

In a better world we would hold people accountable for going against stated principles. In the absence of that, when the only motivation for political parties and activists is obtaining power, why should you cling to people like BB/Nawaz/Mush?