Peppermint, I know you specifically asked questions from Psyah & Muzna, but I just wanted to interject that their is not a one size fits all answer to your questions. This is a very personal decision, and no two situations are the same. There are too many variables at play here to give definitive conclusions as to what is better…home schooling vs traditonal/public schooling
With respect, I don’t see how the responses to Psyah ’ s position were off topic. Part of the debate. One party puts forth a position. If someone disagrees, that someone challenges the position and presents counter arguments.
I hadn’t looked at the suicide comment from SGC’s angle. Indeed, to oversimplify this sensitive, real and complex problem is not appropriate. Great perspective from SGC on this issue.
I think its unreasonable and irresponsible to blame the school systems for errrrrrything that goes wrong in a child’s life. As if personal responsibility doesn’t exist. Educating your child is your responsibility. Being a part of their academics, taking an interest, encouraging them, stimulating them, etc…its all a part of the game. Homeschooling or not, you have to be involved.
I got picked on…being a minority in all white neighborhoods in Chicago Public Schools in the eighties…yes I got picked on a lot for being short, scrawny, desi, etc. Do I have psychological issues because of some kid in fifth grade who’s parents obviously weren’t paying attention to him? No. I felt sorry for those kids because my parents were attentive and their’s were not. My mother was at every single parent teacher conference, volunteered at every single field trip, cooked for all our events, sat with us every night, even became a teacher’s aide at our schools. Its not about the school system…its the environment at home.
I.know there.are n.would.be pros.and cons to.HSing vs public/private or even unschooling…
This.is.a.different argument…wanted to post another thread for.this.specifically but i think I just focus.on.what I want.learn thats it
It’s very commendable that you are vigorously researching and exploring all your options. Are you in the US? If I were you, I’d google/look up local homeschooling networks and/or co ops to meet and interact with others who are doing it successfully. On the same token, I would encourage you to explore all your traditional public school options as well.
Although it will keep me very occupied … I think I’ll carry on giving the answers to the questions that were asked by Peppermint … I was simply responding to the OP when I was being questioned … I gave you my response - you didn’t like it … you still don’t like it … my feelings have not changed … Next time it would be better to let me say what I need to say to answer someone and you need not get in to a discussion with me … I was not telling anyone to NOT send their kids to school … In fact I think for most people here - their kids will be better in school than at home … I don’t believe that to be case for my kids though …
Our kids do not often come in to contact with other children so where a bullying culture can take hold I do not know what they would do … I don’t think it is important to know what they would do … however, as far as with each other they have ups and downs and we step in to manage the situation emphasising fairness and exercise real penalties if they misbehave … for example, points for a gift are not given. Or play time for the other two is extended. There have been times when children come in to contact with them and the other kids have been harsh - our three tend to defend each other and become stronger as a unit. They are not selfish and they let visitors play with their toys and in fact let them play more than themselves … on the other hand they have been to other houses where they spent the whole time watching the host kids play their console games, they would push our kids out of the way and carry on playing their games, their parents were oblivious to that … we didn’t go to that house again … we don’t want to expose out kids to children who have evil traits where some of that evil rubs off on to them …
I find when I have taken the kids out to play football or frisbee other kids come along in the parks … I let them join and since I am there as a responsible adult I make sure that other kids and my own are safe. These days I let my kids run around the mall and tell them where they can find us … because I know they have learnt not to touch things that do not belong to them, they will not break other people’s possessions, but they can have a laugh playing hide and seek at the same time … no problem … Places like swimming classes, in future they will go to something like cubs and scouts - that sort of environment is formal and better for interaction … with chlidren their own age … but I don’t have hang ups with age … as long as they are with children who care … care for each other …
When my wife takes the kids to the park - they will play with all types, races and all ages … my wife is around and close by.
The main hurdles for home schooling is the parental reason for doing it … One of our methods for home schooling is to learn by exposure - we travel to locations and turn that in to a means to learn their culture … Learning does not really change on location … what changes is climate, resources, environment … so the best needs to be made within those restrictions … I would not read books that are considered local to the region … We cherry pick good books from all around the world and we take them with us … that way our teaching process is less affected … I would not suggest home schooling is undertaken in accordance with local school text books … it’s home school so reach out for the best books … and there is no reason to teach certain topics if they are outdated or not detailed enough … it is purely your choice that is what makes it brilliant …
My wife recommends a book … “When children love to learn by Elaine Cooper”
She stresses not to go to dry text books but she recommends using “living” books …
A deep education philosophy comes from a lady Charlotte Mason who is referenced by Elaine Cooper … Charlotte had been quoted by many other people developing classics based learning material … Charlotte Mason - Wikipedia
psyah bhai, no offense but your posts are outright insulting and it seems as if the people who are not homeschooling are either hurting their kids or don’t care enough.
Psyah bhai, I hope you know that “the truman show” was just a hypothetical movie that cannot be done in real life and we cannot/better not control the environment of our kids THAT closely.
And I really found your above comment insulting for all us parents sending kids to school. I was sent to a school too and was taught open mindedness and tolerance to other people’s views without looking down upon them. I am not sure if you were taught that but I hope you teach your kids about it..feel sorry for them.
Funny I thought the Truman Show was about breaking out of routine and going against the tide to discover the real world …
I can assure you, I don’t look down on people … inshaAllah that is the case … just check back and see how this all started … the last comment had a definite purpose in mind when I wrote it …
The real question is … why does it sound mean? It is exactly what people want … but when you say it back to them … it sounds mean? Somebody here is missing the trick … You can say the same thing to me and it won’t sound mean … why is that?
I don’t remember anyone insulting you. I do remember people recounting their own experiences.
Even then, there’s no reason to say what you did about most parents’ kids being better off in school than home. You don’t know that and neither do you absolutely know if what you’re doing is 100% correct. Whether it really is or is not - is yet to be seen. Your kids are still young - the true test will be when they will finally be adjusting into society and since they’re not there yet - your posts are hopes and ideas based on what you see now.
And since we’re being so blunt - my point it that some parents protect their kids for their own peace of mind. Not for the betterment of the child. Its harder to let go and let your kid experience things, get hurt, brush it off and get back up.
You see Reha … That is it … I have been giving my reasons, I have been speaking about my kids and I have been speaking about myself and my wife … For some reason people here have taken my justification as a taunt on them … I actually started off saying that I would not encourage anyone else to home school their kids … Because it is not my place to convince others what they should do … Yet the reverse advice comes plentiful to us … I would however challenge others to do it if they share similar values to my own … Most people here who have been debating this matter do not share similar values … You see I don’t want my kids to be able to know 200 different curse words … Some people here do not mind that … I do not want to have to undo some of the trauma from school, but some here believe that it is important to be subjected to such things … There is a young lady here in Qatar who has sent her kids to a school where there are mostly Arabs … Because she wanted to toughen up her kids … I don’t say or think she is wrong … She will get exactly what she wants … Tougher kids …
It is because of the parental mindset and what they want from their kids that determines whether they should even think about home education or not …there is no insult here … An insult was taken because of the brevity in how I said it … For me it is more important to keep the kids close until their value system has matured … For others it is more important to give their kids a taste of society so they can integrate in to that society … Become a part of it … That is fine … It might be better to do that than to keep their kids at home and get frustrated with them and not teach them anything and fearing that they will do badly … For such people sending the kids to school is better and they can support with extra studies at home … For sure I was a schooled child … I recognise my own shortcomings but I turned out okay … InshaAllah I can learn to overcome my shortcomings … I should say … Home schoolers get a raw deal with society having a go at us far more than the contrary …
That is the problem here. You really do believe you live by a different and anmol set of standards and values. I think the reason people are responding negatively is because your assumptions about public schooling are not that accurate. You admitted you were home schooled so maybe what I am saying is foreign to you.
Do you really believe all the kids of these parents know 200 curse words? Are being subjected to all sorts of emotional trauma and whatnot? No. They’re not because they don’t have parents who get “frustrated” with them. These are assumptions and ANY parent (Im not even a parent yet) would get offended reading them. The parents on these boards are so irresponsible and unaffected they do not care what they’re kids are doing out there? Right?
Your set of values doesn’t differ from anyone else’s here. There’s nothing different or abnormally amazing about wanting the best for your children…its what every parent dreams of. The difference is…we want to teach our kids how to uphold those values in today’s society. To be strong in their morals and belief system realizing the world they’re a part of.
Pysah, I personally have not come across a parent who wants their child to know 200 words or be the reason that their child knows 200 colorful words. They don’t put their children in school praying and anticipating that other children will traumatize their kids. We all love our kids and we are all doing the best we can hoping for the best. We instill good values over and over so they too are morally strong. We are not throwing our children in a pit of filth for the sake of socially well adjusted kids. And why do you assume people only send their children to school because they will fail as parents if they homeschooled. Please come down among us humble parents and know we all have the same interest at heart and that is simply wanting the best for our kids. If homeschoolers are judged, then so are the school going lot because according to you, Not every parent is competent enough to homeschool.
I was not home schooled … For the people who disagree with me … either I have a different set of standards and the people here know what I am saying to them or the people are unable to see what I am saying to them and they do share the same standards … pick and choose …
I don’t make assumptions I have presented an argument using data and people who I consider experts and trustworthy … In retaliation I am being given opinion by others … making this out as me being offensive or my own paranoia is a blame game … I don’t want to get in to that …
I am simply seen as a non-conformist, I agree but I am NOT like this for the sake of it … I do not think modernity is serving the best interests of mankind at the moment. I have switched off the bright lights and have seen the stars … I can invite others too … but I am not an activist I want you all to be happy with what you have chosen for yourselves and your kids … But can I expect the same respect in reverse … obviously not … Be a conformist why not … but beware that one does not become a radical conformist where they come in gangs trying to quell another opinion - one that should be heard and contemplated …
For the last time … or may be not … home schooling is not for every parent … and I have stated why … for my wife at least her desire to keep her children safe outweighs her own need for her own private time, it outweighs her need for them to be successful and it outweighs her need for her to be working or studying herself … all of these things, she wants them … My desire is for them to be pure and untainted as long as possible … and that outweighs them being smart, being capable or anything else … I just want them to be very well mannered and wholesomely nice and steadfast in prayer … We both want our kids to have a fun upbringing and we want our kids to have a unique one … one that is different … so if you share these values then home school your kids … if you can … but I won’t hold it against you if you cannot … but if you don’t hold these values - then don’t home school because it won’t be done properly …
Saying “We all want the BEST for our children” is not saying that the home schooling parents and the school sending parents have the same value system … because the word BEST is interpreted in different ways …