History of Professions

Re: History of Professions

yes the cavemen didn't have internet connection to log on to GS :D

You said you heard a theory about world's oldest profession. What was that theory about ;)

nothing in a tv program they called it worls oldest profession thats what.....

but in ancient india prostitution can be traced back to time period of chanakya....

the kaur will till us more about vedic mentioning of this profession, if we can call it a profession :barbie:

What do you know about this profession during Chanakya period?

he also taxed prostitution…

Chanakya’s well regulated system of prostitution in ancient India « India « Sanjeev Sabhlok’s revolutionary blog

Extracts from Arthashastra

COURTESANS, PROSTITUTES AND BROTHELS
Providing sexual entertainment to the public using prostitutes (ganika) was an activity not only strictly controlled by the State but also one which was, for the most part, carried on in state-owned establishments [2.27.1]. Women who lived by their beauty (rupajivas) could, however, entertain men as independent practitioners [2.27.27]; these could have been allowed to practice in smaller places which could not support a full-fledged state establishment. A third type of women of pleasure, mentioned in a few places, is pumsachali, perhaps meaning concubines [3.13.37].

As befits a treatise on the economy of a state, the emphasis in the Arthashastra is on collection of revenue. The state enabled the setting up of establishments with lump sum grants of 1000 panas to the head courtesan and 500 panas to her deputy, presumably to enable them to buy jewellery, furnishings, musical instruments and other tools of their trade [2.27.1]. The madam of the establishment had to render full accounts and it was the duty of the Chief Controller of Entertainers to ensure that the net income was not reduced by her extravagance [2.27.10]. Independent prostitutes, who were neither given a grant nor required to produce detailed accounts, had to pay a tax of one-sixth of their income [2.27.27]. In times of financial distress, both groups had to produce extra revenue with the independents having to pay half their earnings as tax [5.2.21,23,28].

Wasnt "Teaching"(Imparting knowledge)one of the early professions?

:hayaa: and I thought it is the latest trend in Far East countries.

1/6th means 17% of their income went to government… quite progressive system of Taxation :smiley:

Yes, it is one of the old profession of the world, but may not be treated as the oldest.. because the first need of men in food.. once he could satisfy this need, he move forward to other things like getting knowledge.

:hayaa: Maslo’s theory of needs

Knowledge cud be as simple as teaching/learning the art of trade,cultivation,finding food ,shelter etcetra . No?

Yes, but isn't teaching a form of formal learning.. If we say informal learning was the oldest profession, then parents especially mothers were the first teachers of human history.

aur aap jisko oldest profession keh rahein hai uska kya?:D

Aap kis se mukhatib hain :konfused:

exactly:lifey:
so teaching was the earliest profession:@:

aapse:hehe:

No upbringing children and control household works is the oldest and unpaid profession of the world :frowning:

mera matlab prostitution se tha…:frowning:

u mean a nanny & a maid:hayaa:

PS:kidding:@: dont bash me now:emmy:

But I didn't say it to be the oldest profession.. I think, we should have to look into history for formal marriages to ascertain about this profession.

hahaha. No bashing… Nice to see you in History forums :k: