History of Memon

There are many Memon in Karachi speaking Memoni and in rural Sindh (in almost all all towns) there are Memons who speak Sindhi.. Sindhi Memon write Memon as their surname, and they call other Memon (Not speaking Sindhi) as Kathiawari Memon.

What is the connection between these communities? Are these two different communities or are from same origin?

Re: History of Memon

yeh to aap hi achhe se bataa sakte hain................:D

:emmy: Are there any Memons in India?

Memons are proud of their memon identity.

What was your experience with Memons in Karachi? Kuro haal hai?

Alhumdulillah a lot of memons brother…they are main source for charity fund raisers…:smiley:

but we have kathiwari memons as you mentioned they speak gujrati/kuchhi…we call them kuchhis but they say no we are memons from memon jamat:hbk:

even they prefer gujrati over urdu while scripting name on tomb stones…
har chhote chhote kasbe me bhi memons hai bhai

exactly:k:

So where majority of Memon community live in India? Areas in Gujraat?

Parts of gujrat i dont know but in other parts i will say must be mumbai....as mumbai is business hub....

dawood ibrahim ka saathi Tiger memon bhi to memon hi tha and so was dawood....:D

They sounds like Sindhi but it is different according to them and I also could not figure out what they said in memni.

Overall, they are nice people and established businesses and doing great in all walk of life. Their young generation is more intelligent then their forefathers and pursuing higher education.

:eek: Mumbai ka DON Memon. Here in Pakistani they are considers peaceful to extreme level. In rural Sindh, it is famous for Sindhi Memon that there are no beggars or Dakus in Memons.

Sindhi & Memoni are quite similar.. anyone having good understanding of one language can understand the other. As far as, I know Memon remained a business community since centuries.

i know owner of ary group is a memon.........:)

They are very much into business..and they are fair skinned than a majority of maharashtrian muslims...

As per some historians, Memon are those people who first converted after Arab conquest.. They were called Momin by Arabs, which afterwards changed to Memon.

kuro theevio? memons are everywhere where trading happens coz they are business peoplez, even in kerala (center of spice trade) there are some memon masjids.

Great :k: Karachi’s famous Memon Masjid.

They are really business minded people and strong community system. But whats their origin? Do they originally belong to Sindh and spread in adjacent areas for trading and business purposes?

maybe someone who's memon on gs can tell us. i know pcg is one, but she's pretty clueless. :p

Oh Great.. PCG is a Memon.. Memon women are quite independent especially in communities like Bantwa, etc.

Dawood is Konkani muslim, Dawood Ibrahim Kaskar, all Kars are konkani muslims:),

who is PCG??

I think even abdul sattar edhi is also memon

PyariCgudia (PCG) is the regular poster in life1.. queer can tell you further if you insist :hehe:

Yes.. Edhi sahib is a Memon.. Javed Miandaad is also Memon. Farooq Sattar is a Memon.

Whats is Konkani? Is it an area in India?

L&R is very serious forum:) I heard Miandad was tyagi muslim:) Konkan is part of western Maharashtra bordering sea and Konkani is the dialect of Marathi speaken by them, a good number of Konkanis are muslims as well