Re: History of Brands
and americans killed more people than any other civilization ever managed to kill…
waise yeh sohan halwa aur sohan papdi is famous in india too
You mean Americans are branded killers? ![]()
So is it Multani Sohan Halwa or just Sohan Halwa. There used to be Hafiz Halwa (Branded Sohan Halwa) sold at almost all the railways stations of Pakistan. Its been more than a decade that I didn’t travel by Train.
I want Sohan halwa abhi ![]()
What exactly is Sohan papri?
ussi halwe ki barfi hoti hai...and that halwa used to be sold with brand name Bambai ki mithai
@muqammee bhai...its sohan halwa................:D
never had that…Sohan halwa bhi kaafi yrs se nai khaya ![]()
But I told mamu this time…when you go to pak n come bk you better bring Sohan Halwa for me ![]()
Ok there is this Ugham Halwa which has become famous in Sindh during last decade. Its made from a jadi booti found in Kirthar range (a hilly area between Sindh and Balochistan). Fayyaz sweets (one who makes this halwa) marketed their products by writing the name of this on hills near Highway.. Now it has become the specialty of the area.
Only difference is than Pandits are politically very strong while Ahmeddiyas are politically weak, In India ahmedis are counted as muslims, so if we substract ahmedis out, Muslim’s education level goes to gutter:bummer:, Only Ahmedis have science nobels apart from pandits:)
Mathura ke pede, agre ka petha, amritsar ki naan, rawalpindi ke chhole, etc. even in town level, Pappu ke golgappe, shailu ke samose etc also get popular:)
precisely like Rail train, station were introduced by brits hence they have english generic names:)
Mathura ke pede, agre ka petha, amritsar ki naan, rawalpindi ke chhole, etc. even in town level, Pappu ke golgappe, shailu ke samose etc also get popular:)
We have in Karachi Zahid ki Nihari, Mehfooz ke sheer Maal and above all Student Biryani. Here is the history of Student Biryani:
The Biryani was prepared by Haji Mohammad Ali and his family members at home from home made spices and recipe.
It was a small dhaaba with a bamboo roof supported by wooden pillars with waiting staff comprised of two elder sons serving with limited seating capacity.
Started with one tumbler (Deg) of Biryani serving about 40 people per day.
Why we named it ‘Café Student’**
The outlet was surrounded by various educational institutions i.e. St’ Joseph, St’ Patrick's, St’ Paul's and various Government Schools.
The business was named Café Student;
To attract students of the proximity
Economical food for the market
Key Milestones**
1969 – Haji Sahib started off with opening Dhaba Hotel with limited seating capacity
1976 – Made arrangements for a proper seating area
1983 – Setup a restaurant as a joint venture in Saudi Arabia
1989 – Initiated process to start a large restaurant (300 seats) with a separate kitchen to cater to bulk deliveries
1997 – New four storey kitchen building completed
1999 – Construction of the large restaurant ( three storey) completed
2000 – Started Home Delivery services
2000 – Opened a new branch at I.I. Chundrigar
2003 – Dedicated wireless communication system was introduced
2004 – Started remote area delivery service to famous picnic and resorts
2005 – Opened Nursery Take away
2006 – Expansion of Saddar restaurant (900 seats)
2006 – Plans to open up new branches at Shahrah-e-Faisal, Defence and Gulistan-e-jauhar.
2007 – Opened a branch at Sh-e-Faisal Nursery
2007 – Opened a branch at University Road Gulshan-e-Iqbal
2008 – Set Up a State-of-the-Art Call Center for centralized order taking of Home Delivery Service
2008 – Opened North Nazimabad Branch in March 2008
2008 – Opened M. A. Jinnah road Branch in August 2008
2008 – Opened Garden Branch in August 2008
2008 – Opened Defence Branch in September 2008
2008 – Opened North Karachi Branch in October 2008
what about Expresoo Coffee Shop??
The history of coffee makers began with the original Turkish coffee pots, until the drip coffee machine was developed, followed by the espresso machine.
Espresso originated in Italy. In fact, the word espresso is the Italian word for fast. Espresso is a drink that results from forcing water through finely ground coffee resulting in a full extraction of coffee flavor. This result was not always easy to attain, however, as espresso machines have come a long way since their beginning.
Espresso, as we know it today, originated at the beginning of the twentieth century. In 1901, Luigi Bezzera built a coffee machine that had a boiler and four divisions. This machine forced steam and boiling water through coffee and into the cup. This machine is considered the beginning of espresso.
The History of Espresso
Espresso in Pakistan**
The year 2004 saw the start of the coffee revolution when Espresso became the (Karachi) city’s first espresso bar. Since then, the city has witnessed a cultural change where going for coffee or ‘doing’ coffee most often means meeting at an Espresso coffee house. Espresso serves its premium coffees in Karachi at three locations; the original espresso bar in Zamzama, the coffee house on Khayaban-e-Shahbaz and at the Forum Mall. One can now sample these premium coffees in Lahore as well at Espresso’s new location on Mian Mahmood Kasuri Road in Gulberg III. All outlets offer seamless Wi-Fi.
Even religious places become Brands, like Medina hotels in deccan:D, which is the biggest hotel chain in Pakistan??
Now this reminds me controversies revolving around 'Coca-Cola' & 'PEPSI'. While the Coca-Cola logo was made controversial by watching from a specific angel, I myself watched posters in places like State Bank of Pakistan for PEPSI = Pay Each Penny to Save Israel :D
I think PC (Pearl Continental) is the biggest chain of hotels in Pakistan. waise Pathan Continental (Dhaba hotels) surpasses any chains of hotels in Pakistan :D
there is no need to save Israel from anyone rather we need to safegaurd entire Arabian Peninsula from Israelis:D. In India Dhaba is mostly Sardar thing:D
I heard liquor is banned in Pakistan, anyways what is the most popular brand in liquor?
there is no need to save Israel from anyone rather we need to safegaurd entire Arabian Peninsula from Israelis:D. In India Dhaba is mostly Sardar thing:D
I heard liquor is banned in Pakistan, anyways what is the most popular brand in liquor?
Its officially banned but not for bureaucrats and Govt officers :D I think the most famous would be Murree Brewery's products having 'Two horses' as Logo. Murree Brewery is owned by a Parsi family (probably near relative of Bapsi Sidhwa- writer of Ice candyman) :)
In delhi, liquors are not sold after 2000 hrs, my hubby said this once, I told him, after this I can get home delivery:D. Parsis are very good bussinessmen as well. If it is banned in India, there would be revolt in Indian Punjab:D
Is tobaocco chewing prevalent in Pakistan like it is in Kanpur-Lucknow-Patna belt?
Not exactly.. Not seen many people chewing tobacco here. Before the introduction of branded cigarettes, people used to have Beedi.... (Beedi jalai re jigar se piya....). My Dada's business was Beedi Merchant and he used to import Beedi leave from India.
The famous local brand of Pakistani cigarette is K-2 (K2 being part of the Karakoram Range and 2nd highest peek) :)
Naswaar is most common in Pasthtun community rather than tobacco. Even in Saddar Karachi, we see borads 'Naswaar Dastyaab hai- Naswaar available' :D
I tried tobacco only once, Kesar Gutkha:D, it a cheap intoxicant, and quite useless for people like me:D, 9 out of 10 men are tobacco chewer in Kanpur-lucknow-patna region:)
Yeah Tendu leaves are found in India and often being reported that it is smuggled to pakistani side:D
In liquor we have XXX Rum, and Old Monk, Rum is most difficult to swallow down the throat:)
what is Naswaar?? is it some sort of drug??