Hindustan descending into civil war: New York

India prepares to fight Maoists’ lethal insurgency: NYT
Sunday, Dhul-Qi’dah 13, 1430

NEW YORK, (APP): India is preparing for a prolonged counterinsurgency fight against Maoist rebels once discounted as a ragtag group of irrelevant ideologues, The New York Times reported Sunday.

The Maoists, intent on overthrowing the government, are operating in 20 of India’s states, and have become a strong and lethal insurgency, the newspaper said in a dispatch from Barsur, the eastern Indian state of Chattisgarh.

Indian leaders are prepared to deploy nearly 70,000 paramilitary officers for the extended counterinsurgency effort, the dispatch said.

In the last four years, according to the report, the Maoists have killed more than 900 Indian security officers, a figure almost as high as the more than 1,100 members of the coalition forces killed in Afghanistan during the same period.

The Maoists say they represent the dispossessed of Indian society. Especially hard-hit, they say, are indigenous tribal groups burdened with the highest rates of illiteracy, poverty and infant mortality.

The insurgents charge the government wants to push tribal groups from their lands to grab valuable natural resources, the Times says. Maoists have escalated their efforts to sabotage roads and bridges, and even have attacked an energy pipeline.

The rebels present a new challenge to India, the Times says. In the past, the country has absorbed secessionist rebel groups by offering them participation in the political mainstream.

But the Maoists aren’t interested; they want to topple the system, the Times reports. There have been efforts to open peace negotiations, but with the government offensive drawing closer, talks remain stalemated, the Times says.

The dispatch opens on a dramatic note: “At the edge of the Indravati River, hundreds of miles from the nearest international border, India effectively ends. Indian paramilitary officers point machine guns across the water.

The dense jungles and mountains on the other side belong to Maoist rebels dedicated to overthrowing the government. ‘That is their liberated zone’, said Bhojak, one of the officers stationed at the river’s edge in this town in the eastern state of Chattisgarh. Or one piece of it… “For India, the widening Maoist insurgency is a moment of reckoning for the country’s democracy and has ignited a sharp debate about where it has failed…”

Associated Press of Pakistan

Aslamu-Alaikum,

This is scary. I hope China has contingency plans to secure Hindustani nuclear weapons before they fall into the wrong hands.

Anyway, according to the article, the fighters are operating in 20 provinces?? How did that happen? Was the Hindustani military sleeping?

Re: Hindustan descending into civil war: New York

wow scary indeed mate. Someoen should keep an eye on India before they loose control and power into the hands of Hindu extremists. Scaaaaaaaaaaaary.

yeah real scary..We should run to USA to get some drones to blast on 'HinDU' terrori$t$. May Pakistan help us to wipeoff religious Maoists b/c pakistanis were so successful and perfect in everything....

Yes succesful we are...
aur perfect bhi ;)

^^

Great to know that. Coming back to the topic. If this is not paranoia, I do not know what is. India is a preferred investment destination for many foreign companies. Most of the Fortune 100 companies have offices in India. Or atleast they would have offshored some tech work to India. These companies would be really worried after this report. They would just flee in droves. That also depends on the credibility of the report which I consider is equal to zero.

yeah and india is the only democraZy which is occupying foreign land.
where people are procecuted by Hindu Extremits.
Where minorities are burned alive and being terrorised.
Only country with 200 million untouchables

i can go on but i have to eat now. :)

^^ Talking about Investment in India, if your talking about anything apart from Call Centers, yes almost all of the multinational giants are there in India, but i don't know how many of them are in this effected areas, most of the investments and international business destination is Karnataka Region, including Maharashter and some parts in South.

I don't think so any of the bank or other major institute would invest in Chatisgarh and other maoist controlled/effected area.

It is about time that India should focus on its own problem, with the huge population, all India needs to do is to develop its rural areas.. but again it would need some visionary leader ship to do that, which i think has been vaporized some 200/300 years ago.

(EDIT)

(EDIT)

Adaab!!!

Good news guys.

I spoke to people in 17 of 20 states that are said to be affected by the maoist trouble. 15 of them said it is just a nuisance and P.Chidambaram has almost solved the issue thereby carrot and sticks. For example, in one of the groups, turns out that a college hostel had elected a new student president and the guy who was defeated has been sending out press notes that he will be creating havoc under the maoist banner! solution - warning to this guy and and extra eggs in the hostel mess.

The other two states - the trouble is worse than before. Serious military action will be required. I hope P.Chidambaram is up to the task

BTW there is no such thing as civil war - all wars are very uncivil; ask anyone from FATA, Waziristan, Baluchistan, SWAT or even Punjab soon inside Pakistan.

But, thanks for your concerns.

oh masha Allah
you spoke with 17 out of 20 states hmm and how long did it take you ?
1 minute?

Jalaluddin why are indian people so ignorant of things going wrong in India?
Honestly help me out here why Indians don't see or accept that hundreds millions of people are living a misserable life in India?

Why is it that the Indian government is calling Kashmir their ATOOT ANG??? Why is Indian enforcing their will on Kashmiris whilst they want to be independent??? Why?

Now after Kashmir, Punjab, this one.

I think Pakistan and China should help india. We have already civil war spilling out of Afghanistan into Pakistan, and we can't afford another neighbour falling into that.

Even though indians are actively financing/supporting/arming terrorists in Pakistan and other countries, but I think it is high time for them to sit down and rethink their policy.

First step could be throwing out all the Hindu extremist elements from RAW and other intelligence outfits, which are actively becoming terrorist unions.

Second step would be to wake up and see what a danger india is facing right now ifrom within! The problem is HOME GROWN!

it did take more than a minute but they were quite short as calls go.

Indians are not ignorant - just realistic. They implicitly understand that centuries of marauding invaders have looted and left us poor, so it will take us time to bounce back. And we are doing just that. Poverty brings a lot of misery and highlights tensions because resource-shortage is at the bottom of many of those tensions.

It is not just our govt calling Kashmir an integral part of India. every Indian does that and that does not vary with religion. We do that because it is so.

I respect you for your patriotic yet honest views. Need more indians like you, and a lot more pakistanis like you as well.

I am not sure about Kashmir though, I know all the indians except kashmiri indians will like to call kashmir a part of India. But what do the Kashmiris think? They want to have their own country and I would have definately supported them, had this not have serious implications at the national level. I believe, once a precedent is set by allowing one of your states to become a country, other states will follow suit. It's not just India, but majority of the large countries have gone through this.

So many words and not one of them can be correlated to the statement that I made. Is this from a lack of quality education or just that the brain cells do not work. Just curious to know.

Good post though I would not know how insurgency in a few areas can be termed as a civil war.

Everybody agrees that India has problems. We are working to solve them, but am not sure how successful we are on that.

To categorise these problems as the beginning of a civil war is the product of a very perverted imagination.

Like bankruptcy, civil war never happens in matter of hours or minutes, it is a slow process, the thread title and article says that India is descending into civil war, and yes i agree, the problems are workable, but the bigger problem is to acknowledge the existence of the problem.

These problems are in existence from the time India got Independence. The existence of these problems have been acknowledged by our leaders and are initiating steps to solve the problem.

With the growth of IT, people from these areas are getting jobs in the more prosperous areas. Education too is doing its bit. People are realising that it is better to not take up arms to solve problems.

^^ If that is what on the ground then it is good sign, but if the same is coming from govt/leaders/politicians then i'll doubt it..

Ahhh Marasi broter, I really love ur views, U are such a gem of a human and a muslim. I only wish that more muslims become like U, than the world be a real paradise not to live in.

Peace.