I rented this new Indian flick called “Muskaan” last night starring Aftab Shivdasani (who’s looking really cute and all grown up these days) and Gracy Singh (of the “Lagaan” fame)…the movie was alright but I am getting plain tired of noticing in Hindi movies (and in this particular one too) again and again scenes depicting a Hindu character praying in a church in front of Christ’s statue. What’s next…praying in a synagogue oe mosque? Talk about being confused about your own ‘religion’…or is it an inferiority complex of sorts?
i have noticed that quite a lot aswell sweetpie, especially in songs, they are present in a church in a song in mujhse dosti karoge, dilwale dulhania le jayenge, mohabbetien, haan maine bhi pyar kiya and numerous others, i have no idea why they insist on praying in a church. one of life mysteries!
Maybe they are trying to include India's Christian minority population. Could the characters in the movie be christian? Like in Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam ... Salman Khan's character was Christian (due to his Christian mom in the movie played by Helen). So that's why they had so many churches and stuff in the movie. Who knows!
In movies as Dilwale Dulhania Le Jaenge and Mujhse dosti karoge the characters are in Europe. Fact is, there are lot of Churches over there and a Mandir isn't easy to find...
*Originally posted by MehnazQ: *
Like in Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam ... Salman Khan's character was Christian (due to his Christian mom in the movie played by Helen
For those, who have seen "Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam":
Although they pretend beeing in Italy in the movie, not a single scene of that film was really shot in Italy.
All the "European scenes" were made in Budapest (Hungary). I know that, because I have been to Budapest several times and spent more than 6 weeks there. So I really know that city inside out.
correct umer bhai ] the spot boys and the film makers think we the audiance r fools’ and this isn’t the 1st time that film makers have mislead the audiance.
in yeh hai jalwa {*ring: sallu bhaijaan and amisha patel} apparently sallu’ goes to london, england from india to face his father {rishi kapoor} and whilst singing the songs with amisha patel i realised not one scene shot abroad was in london or any other part of england for that matter. ]
in biwi number 1 {*ing: sallu bhaijaan, karisma kapoor, sushmita sen, tabassum, anil kapoor etc} sallu is away on a “business trip” to switzerland with sushmita but the song they sing together was sang infront of the golden gate bridge in san francisco??? with the director sahab making us lot believe they r still in switzerland. ]
...also in Dhadkan's song "Na na karte pyaar oye mey kar gayi kar gayi kar gayi..." they show a scene where they're in a church in Switzerland praying with hands clenched...and no, the characters are not Christian.
hinduism doesnt limit places of worship to just temples. in india, hindus pray at churches, gurudwaras, at sufi shrines, at jain temples and even to buddha’s statues. my grandma, who’s quite a religious hindu, has a crucifix and buddha in gandhara style among her worship paraphernalia.
hinduism pretty much claims the eternal truth is one, but the paths are many. so there is no real conflict other than with the right wingers to whom everything is a game of numbers, and to the usual haters.
to a non-hindu shiv worshipper like me, this is a big conflict. i wouldnt even let someone with a last name like shiv-dasani act in a movie with a church scene.
SP, in Old delhi there is Jama Masjid, across from the red fort. I have gone in there three times in my life now. Once I went there after the prayers, he spirituality in the place was the same as in a church or a mandir. So I closed my eyes as I was peering out to look at Red Fort and Darya Ganj area and thanked Krishna for everything I have in my life.
Now, I don;t expect you to understand since you are spiritually limited. :halo:
*Originally posted by queer: *
hinduism doesnt limit places of worship to just temples. in india, hindus pray at churches, gurudwaras, at sufi shrines, at jain temples and even to buddha's statues. my grandma, who's quite a religious hindu, has a crucifix and buddha in gandhara style among her worship paraphernalia.
hinduism pretty much claims the eternal truth is one, but the paths are many. so there is no real conflict other than with the right wingers to whom everything is a game of numbers, and to the usual haters.
Is that why the Barbri Mosque and Golden Temple and probably countless other similar incidents have occured?
You lot never let go of a chance to go on about how your religion believes all paths lead to God though it’s a pity the achoot shudra aren’t allowed to reach God.
Hinduism is just a load of self-contradictory hogwash and nothing more.
^Nadeer and Sweetie.... may have helped if you had read the below before making pedestrian comments about Hinduism.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by queer: *
hinduism pretty much claims the eternal truth is one, but the paths are many. **so there is no real conflict other than with the right wingers to whom everything is a game of numbers, and to the usual haters.*
*Originally posted by queer: *
hinduism doesnt limit places of worship to just temples. in india, hindus pray at churches, gurudwaras, at sufi shrines, at jain temples and even to buddha's statues. my grandma, who's quite a religious hindu, has a crucifix and buddha in gandhara style among her worship paraphernalia.
Exactly! I know many hindus who celebrate Christmas, put up a Christmas tree, and give presents. At first it used to confuse me, but now it doesn't.
Recently someone mentioned that they went to the newly built Bahai temple (?) in New Delhi and prayed there.