Hinduisnm vs Islam

I think it was Xtreme who was challenging ZZ to open this post!
I personally think comparing religions is loony.
However if Xtreme bhai decides to do so I will be glad to oblige

I was always struck by this fact.
Take Bengali Hindu’s acheivements.
Tagore - Nobel Prize in Literature
Bose - Dr. Bose of Bose - Einstein Statics fame
- Satyendranath Bose - who proved that plants suffer as much as animals when you pluck a leaf out of them and hence vegetarianism is nonsene.
- Bose who started the Bose sterio company.
- Satyajit Ray who received an Oscar for Lifetime acheivements.

I am deliberately omitting the religious and political leaders Bengal produced.

Now I personally would like to say that the acheivements of these people have nothing to do with their religion.
But since the topic at hand is Hinduism vs Islam give me a corresponding list from Bangladesh

While about it let us also compare Kashmiri Pundits and Muslims.

Now I am not saying that worldly acheivemnts proove any superiority but why the contrast?
They are the same Bengalis right ?

In fact, if u compare achievements per capita, Judaism seems to be the best religion. Unfortunately u cant convert to it.

ZZ I agree but be careful .We may be accused of being Zionist conspirators

Why this big silence

Out with your acheivers

The main differance between Hinduism and Islam, I find is that in Hinduism it is up to the induvidual to decide, how far he wants to follow his religion, where as in Islam it is other people's business.
There is no freedom of choice in Islam, you can not question and have to do things according to the holy Quran and what the religious scholars tell you to do but if you want to do anything in contradiction to the religion, then you have to make sure that the other fellow Muslims don't find out about it otherwise there can be trouble and even threats on your life. There are many Muslims, who drink and gamble but only a small percentage of them dare to own up to it to their families and friends.

With the Hindus on the other hand, drinking and eating meat are not allowed but in today's Hindu society a large percentage of Hindus openly drink and eat meat amongst their friends and families. Yes, their religion also forbids them from these things but if any individual wants to go his own way in contradiction to his hindu religion then the others in his circle do not boycott him and his life is not threatened.

Also, when a Hindu converts to Christian faith or Muslim faith or Sikh faith, even thogh it is not liked by the other Hindus in his circle and he may be boycotted by them but at least there are no death threats. But as far as Islam is concerned there is only an entry, there is no exit. If a Muslim wants to adopt the path to our Creator through another faith, unfortunately he has no choice in this.

IMHO all the religions of this world are wonderfull and teach us to love and live with each other in harmony. All the religions are there to show us the right path towards humanity and how we can be good citizens. They are just different routes to the same destination. There is only one God and He will not judge us with different standards, He has created us all and he loves us all and wants us all to love each other.

Today we are living in the 21st century. Everyone should be allowed to decide for themselves when it comes to doing something which harms no one else in the society. If a Hindu wants to drink and eat meat, then what has it got to do with anybody else. If consuming these things is supposed to send one to hell then I'm sure that there can't be much room left up there, because all the westerners must all be there.

I'm not a scholar but my simple mind tells me that eating meat is not wrong but killing an animal for no reason is wrong. Drinking is not wrong but getting drunk is wrong. Occasional flutter is not wrong but gambling all your belongings is wrong.

I beg all the people of today, please live and let live, if someone is doing something and is not harming and offending anyone else, then please mind your own business. If he's to go to hell then what has it got to do with you ?

If a Hindu finds satisfied by worshiping a stone statue, then that is his business and if a Muslim find satisfaction by throwing pebbles at the Shaitan then that is his business and if an individual can feel the existance of his Creator everywhere arround him and feels that there is no need to go to the Church or Masjid or Mandir or Gurdwara then again that is his business.

Let us all get togeather and from the depth of our hearts pray to Him (known as God,Rab, Ishwar, Allah and Waheguru) 'Please let there be peace amongst us and give everyone understanding to mind one's own business.'

Andhra,

If you're looking for peaceful co-existence in Orthodox Islam then you'll be disappointed - it doesn't exist. Peaceful co-existence is foreign even amongst muslims themselves.

To peacfully co-exist with all muslims and non-muslims would first require elimination of the orthodoxy of the mullahs & ayatollahs; then only can Islam, based on reason, can be established.

[This message has been edited by faceup (edited August 06, 2000).]

let me clarify a confusion among some minds.... muslims do not stay muslims because of fear of mullahs. if that was the case...wouldnt u think that in non-muslim countries like u.s and india, muslims would be converting to other religions? but thats not the case... instead Islam is the fastest spreading religion in U.S and Muslims in these non-muslim countries are much more staunch muslims.

now as for hinduism being tolerant enough for letting its followers convert to other "better" faiths.... well yes these brownie points are definitely long over due for the dying cult.

** u have lost the comparison right there i think...... if hinduism cant even impress hindus. hindus who are born in a hindu family.... but when they grow up and leave hinduism shouldnt be seen as a brownie point of tolerance on part of hinduism but as a slap on the ugliness that it has. ugliness that results from caste system, dowry, animal worshipping and other stone age cult practices. if hindus cant follow hinduism then how do u expect other humans to follow it? pls explain. **

[This message has been edited by mundyaa (edited August 06, 2000).]

Is this thread about hindu/muslim religion or about achievements by hindu/muslim individuals?

It seems a strange way of evaluating anything. I don't really see what the list of achievers has to do with hindu religion which has many colourful elements to it.

Andhra, please clarify your position if you want to continue this thread. Should hindu/muslim religions be judged according to their articles of faith or by the deeds of the population?

For example: If it is found that in general, hindus have the highest rate of stinky arm-pits is this because they are hindus or because they are un-hygeinic? Let me know what kind of discussion you want and we'll take it from there, ok?

yours sincerely
Mr Xtreme

It is because of our dependence on the madaris/madrasas-based education that we cannot match others in the field of science & technology.

The achievements of muslims, albeit limited, have come under secular-based government or learnings.

In order to compete & advance we must forsake the ways/errors of the past and the leaders who takes us & keeps us in the past.

faceup,

I assume that you missed my earlier reply to Andhra regarding whether this thread is about comparative religions or individual achievements which is a different topic. In case you did I have pasted it again;

Should hindu/muslim religions be judged according to their articles of faith or by the deeds of the population?

p.s.

I suggest you remove the bag from your head and use it for something practical - like carrying fruit and veg home from your shopping trips.

It seems a strange way of evaluating anything. I don’t really see what the list of achievers has to do with hindu religion which has many colourful elements to it.

It is the most appropriate way I think.
What I am pointing out is thge utter contrast.
How come the same Bengalis who stick to one religion produce so many outstanding people and sticking to other religion produce no noticeable acheivers?
As for acheivements meaning nothing why do you people keep referring to Moghuls,Ghaznis and Ghoris ?

Xtreme,

I did not miss your points and my response was quite appropriate. If you're going to start 'trashing' instead of 'debating' and, it appears that is the way you're headed for.

We, muslims, do not have an answer to questions posed by Andhra, mainly because we have stayed in the 7th century with the bukharis & muslims whereas the world has passed us by.

We, muslims, do not have an answer to questions posed by Andhra, mainly because we
have stayed in the 7th century with the bukharis & muslims whereas the world has passed us by.

Good Start faceup ! Keep it up !!
And remember the only Pakistani ever to get a nobel prize was treated this way.His sect was declared unIslamic!

How come the same Bengalis who stick to one religion produce so many outstanding people and sticking to other religion produce no noticeable acheivers?

Please can you tell me in what way do Bengali hindus stick to their religion, and how it has helped them become high achievers?

Here's a conversation I recently had with a hindu student (probable future high achiever) while we were sitting in Macdonalds;

Mr Xtreme: "Ok then Gopal, is it true that the cow is a sacred animal in the hindu religion?"

Gopal: "Yes it is. In fact we call the cow Mathaji (mother ji) because she is so important in our religion."

Mr Xtreme: So how come you're eating a beefburger? Is it your way of ensuring you get reborn as a cow in the next life?

Gopal: "No I'm eating it cuz it's scrum-diddly-umptious! What's that fillet o' fish like?"

Mr Xtreme: "It's ok"

forget gopal, xtreme, how did u go mcdonalds, they dont serve halal food.

Xtreme,

Can you, for once, stay focused to the questions that are being asked?

As I said - you're headed for 'trashing' having lost or have 'no response' to the questions posed by Andhra. It's a shame that muslims do not see people like you for what you are!

Xtreme, as far as dropping a hint about Ahmedias being declared unIslamic; personally, they can still be Islamic and "much better off" without any association with your kinds.

forget gopal, xtreme, how did u go mcdonalds, they dont serve halal food<<<<<<<<<<<<<
MY DEAr ULLU BHAI.
have u ever been to mcdonlad.. they do serve other stuf besid beef and chicken.any doubts plz check it out.

As I said - you're headed for 'trashing' having lost or have 'no response' to the questions posed by Andhra

What questions posed by Andhra? His questions haven't got anything to do with the thread topic. I will repeat my question to Andhra and you can answer on his behalf if you like:

*Please can you tell me in what way do Bengali hindus stick to their religion, and how it has helped them become high achievers? *

If Andhra or faceup can answer this question then I believe we can take this debate to the next level. At the moment I think I'm getting better answers from my friend Gopal so maybe I will tell you more of what he had to say in our conversation in Macdonalds. (BTW, it's the branch in Brixton and they sell halal food there ULLU so no need to call your lawyers).

Please can you tell me in what way do Bengali hindus stick to their religion, and how it has helped them become high achievers?

Not just Bengalis but all Hindus stick to their tradition.
And the tradition is that you are free. You are free to be superstitious and equally free to be not superstitious.You need no baptism, no certificates from anybody saying you are a proper Hindu,you have no Fatwas and no rules as to how many times you have to pray.

Now take the debate to the next level

By the way are you telling me you went to Mcdonald’s and ate Samosas and hash Brownies.
All for the sake of winning an argument.Everybody knows Muslims are regular meat eaters and like non-veg better than veg

>>Not just Bengalis but all Hindus stick to their tradition

good, so u r admitting that there exist still the evils of caste system, sati & devdasis serving to the unbound lust of brahmins in the depraved hindu society of urs!

>>And the tradition is that you are free

wrong!!!
to know the truth, ask that shoddar who's been shoved to the bottom of this rotten caste system for no of his own but only cuz his religion dictates so - so much for the freedom!