Hinduism: Redefined

This thread not for any gullible matters for us Hindus and Muslim both. This thread wont be for any censure, but for knowledge.

I want my Hindu friends to define from the Sacred Scriptures, what makes them adhere, to follow the hindu philosophy can guide a man effectively towards god or salvation or nirvana or moksha without finding fault in its both polytheistic and monothestic aspects.

There must be some aspects which have motivated, made you feel strong, etc. I would be happy if you could put some light on the evidence.
Those verses which impacted any individual to follow Vedas, upanishads and Puranas.

Re: Hinduism: Redefined

will come tommorrow...and get into this discussion.

Hmmmm this should be interesting

Great question yo_wasim. I'd love to participate in this thread.

Also r scriptures all that important? , be honest, do not cheat, honor women, respect elders, uphold justice, be humble, do not be materialistic all these things were taught to me by my parents without any reference to scriptures

all that counts is to be a good human being nothing else for u to be happy

U dont need to do any thing based on a book to lead a good life

U are right, i agree. Scriptures are meaningless if we dont implement them in our life.

this is strictly hinduism right, okay....from where shall we start. I will come to most scriptures in hinduism acknowledging that I may make errors. will start with simple things.

i agree with tommygun, but inbetween we do need scriptures to guide us so that we dont go astray.

hinduism recognizes 4 goals of human life:
<1> kama - satisfying the desire for sense pleasure
<2> *artha - *acquisition of worldly possesions or money
<3> *dharma - *observance of religious duties
<4> *moksha or nirvana - *liberation achieved through god realization

kama is lowest and moksha is highest goal. under 'dharma' things like modesty, contentment, forgiveness and other such positive things is to be achieved by a man

sorry i did'nt understand what "artha" is can you please explain more?

Ssingh I would like you to be more detailed on the 4 goals of humans life.
I do agree with the definition, I rather be happy if you can give each of them an example for the above doctrines from Holy Scriptures.
This is better to comprehend the subject. Its better if you can get it from the holy scriptures. Its kama where I am not able to comprehend.
Do you mean, your daily needs if i wrong i stand for correction.

This is true for Islam only.

Hinduism treats the scriptures a little differently. I'll let the Hindu members speak first.... :)

i have explained this. a person can look towards making money or gaining fame. nothing wrong in it. Ofcourse, it is not the 'ultimate' aim.

you know this. it is nothing but gratification of senses, whether it is sight, sound (music), and even sex. But for sex, a little bit of celibacy is definitely advised. reference for those goals?...entire bhagavad geetha.

Ssing i stand for correction again, is it right music is a religious act. In the scriptures. Like to know more regarding that and why.
Are this 4 doctrines, hierarchical. To achieve the artha is it necessary you have to achieve kama.

Music an art form, like dance or painting or cooking.

This is true for all religions , lahori bhai.

Music is integral part of hinduism like sufism. Bhajan i hinduism, qawalis in sufism. Just an example, no intention to turn this into Sufi thread.

O naeen yaar. :bummer:

If this is true for all religions then why India cannot base its constitution on religion? Why they have opted for “secular” designation. Same goes for Christianity.

Anyhow, I still want to see how they reply in this thread.

Is pak constitution based on sharia ? kya bat kar rahe ho yar.

^ Pakistan's constitution shud only be based on Sharia and nothing else. There are some ppl who are westerneized and they will let happen that like shaukat aziz...

Who are these 'some' people ? Adha pakistan agar hindi piture hi dekhta rahega, then isme ' some' ppl ki kya galti hai ?

Sucess is ours, failures due to 'some' ppl !!

When you have paki laws based on sharia, then ask indians to base it on hinduism !