Hinduism 101: A crash course in the ancient faith

Re: Hinduism 101: A crash course in the ancient faith

If islam is some borrowed laws from judaism and old arabian traditions according to your judgement can you tell me if Judaism or ancient arabian laws have solutions and laws regarding cloning, and stem cell technology?

As for legal and cultural codes being archaic what is this based on if you making accusations provide the proof at least so that it can be refuted.

Islam is not a set of spirtual beleifs it is both a political and spirtital aqeedah which has comprehansive system to deal with any issue yesterday, today and in the future.

ak47, please refer to my thread at http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=177607 for more information on Hinduism.

Anjjan, untouchability is just a social baggage that hinduism carried for so long and its thrown away, Hinduism never mentions anything about untouchability. Sati started a thousand years back as a measure to save women from being carried away by marauders and save the family from the ultimate insult (rape and abuse of womenfolk after the death of the man). It was mainly observed in the Rajput areas of North India, and slowly people followed that custom even in times of peace and it became associated with Hinduism. Just like that untouchability was a social practise started somewhere and spread. But if you have ever been to India, you know there is no untouchability for probably 100 years now and the rigid caste barriers are slowly dissolving too.

I have a few questions about hinduism, if anyone with even half a brain can answer (Matsui and company that cuts you all out) without crying and cussing.

AK47, I am not an expert of the Torah, so I would not know if Judaism has laws regarding cloning. Does the Quran have some laws regarding that, or are we talking of some vague phrase that is about respecting life, which can be quoted for anything. What does Islam say about women drivers, what laws does it have about flying or chatting on the net with a unveiled women. One example of archaic laws is how you punish a person who has committed a crime. There was no other way of punishing a person in olden times who stole for example so you cut his hand off. Now if someone stole a purse you can put him in jail or fine him for the same amount he stole. By cutting his hand off you are not only making him a handicapped for life but you are stealing much more from him by reducing drastically his chances of making a decent living.

Mirza_Sahib, I am willing to answer all your questions to the best of my knowledge, provided you stick to certain basic decorum and not indulge in comparing with Islam or mocking fun at Hinduism. I apologize for being so conditional, but I see so many people posing as inquisitive only to poke fun at a serious discussion.

abehayat! sala thum tho ek dhum smoking these nuts yaar! way to go!

Ji hum aapkay high profile Urdu naheen samjhay. Anyways, nice to see you active in all the threads. Way to go, my friend!

My questions are quite serious, and I want to ask them to be better informed about the hindu faith.

But some brainless fools might think it is a poke at their religion because they have been insulting other religions all their lives.

Mirza_Sahib, rest assured. I am willing to answer any and all questions as far as I know. Please feel free and ask me your questions. Do not bother about those that poke fun at your faith or questions.

Okay here's a few of the questions.

1) Was Ram real or a myth, and if he was real where was he born and where did he die and what's the proof?

2) Where was Ram when Rawand (sorry about the spelling) took Sita?

3) Why couldn't Ram stop that from happening since he was supergod?

Real serious answers please. Thank You.

Mirza, thanks for your questions. Here are my answers:

1) Ram was probably a real king. Hinduism has the tradition of eulogizing great people to the extent they are treated like Gods. This is akin to the Christians calling Jesus son of God. Some may view this as a flawed way of thinking. Personally, I think it is a unique way of thinking in Hinduism.

2) Ram was away in the forest when Ravan took away Sita.

3) Ram is not portrayed as a supergod in Ramayana. He is a mortal reincarnation of Lord Vishnu (one of the Trinity). He does have the support of the Gods because he has a noble character.

I hope this answered your queries. I am not sure how accurate or correct they are. I would reuqest others to verify my answers. On a general note, Hinduism is more of a spiritual religion. All of these mythologies and stories were probably created to instill certain virtues in the common man. It is not possible to give clearcut binary answers in many cases because of the fuzzy nature of spirituality. Here, the facts and their correctness do not matter. What matters is the lesson learnt from these stories. Please feel free to ask me more questions.

Okay. Thanks for clearing it up.

Yea I always felt hinduism is a very spiritual religion, and that most of the stories are over exaggerated but thanks for answering.

Sure, you are very welcome. As a rider, I must add that while you note that stories in Hinduism are exaggerated, the same could apply to stories in other religions too. It is all a matter of faith.

Yes. I agree.

I am really surprised at your civil responses. It is all a mutual affair. You give respect, you take respect. Mirza Sahib, thanks for your responses.

OK, Surya can we saperate Hindu religion from cast system? I think it is a burden of Manu smriti.
Is Manu Smriti not a part of Hindu religion?
Krishna talks of cast system in Gita, lator defined or redefined by Manu, I do not want to look for excuses.
Can a Brhamin marry his daughter to an untouchable? Hence as you say that it is thrown away.

May be India has fought to some extent against untouchability at political level, what about the mental level.

No problem ab-e-hayat. I'm actually a very nice guy even if people think of a very bad guy when they see my nick.

anjjan, Hinduism in India has unfortunately come to include everything. This is because the religion by itself was never clearly demarcated on the basis of a few fundamental doctrines. Hence, selfish groups have exploited this “loophole” to insert dogmas and edicts that have no spiritual sanction in Hinduism. Such practices include sati, dowry, casteism etc. It is high time the Hindus reformed their religion of all its ills.

Mirza Sahib, the name sounds polished to me. I wonder why anyone would have a problem with that.

Anjjan, Gita describes the four caste and it also describes the qualities of a person to qualify to belong to that caste. Caste divisions in olden times were not by birth but were by quality. Brahmins were required to maintain high austeriy but they were also respected and given more responsibilities. As you went down the system the freedoms increased and the responsibilities decreased. It was system based on merit. But as usage of Sanskrit decreased, the corrupt among the Brahmin priests found that they could control the rest of the populace by being the middle men between the population and the Vedic knowledge. Thus it the caste system became rigid, and the priests used the powers to spread all kinds of laws and edicts to control the populace. Manu smriti is one such composition of that time by a group of such crazed priests who wanted to keep the rest of the population in their place. Thankfully now Vedas are being translated and everyone is free to learn Sanskrit and read the Vedas for themselves, thus all such rubbish from the religion shall be washed out eventually.