Him or Family???

Re: Him or Family???

I knew you had a filmy side to you :stuck_out_tongue: you would being from mumbai right?

There would be no problem in an ideal world where barriers of border do not define who we can or cannot marry. Do not blame or guilt yourself his family have been through it. They know this is difficult. He knew you were Indian and he still decided to love you, so don’t blame yourself. He knew that it was going to be a tough road to travel due to the situation of the countries, especially for non-celebs.

If you were a bird no other Indian bird would mind you marrying a Pakistani bird. Or if we lived in British raj at the moment no one would have minded. Your love seems to be at the wrong place and wrong time for people in human ā€œsociety.ā€

I am sorry that your love is suffering because of this human imposed borders of the heart.

can you tell us about what happened to your cousin? You said she married a Pakistani guy. Perhaps you can reassure them that things won’t end up same way. At the end of the day, love both your family and the guy you like, be strong yourself, and have faith that whatever Allah (swt) decides it is for the best. And that your pleas are being listened to and whatever happens is for the best.

You can try reverse psychology and say to your parents you win and i lose (my happiness). I’ll marry whoever you want. Of course you’re not going to but when they see you so sad they might automatically think we shouldn’t do this.

We say this and though there is lot of love on both sides of the border for the other there is also hate. This hate and fear is quite real for the people who express it and it is frightening as it is quite illogical and scary in how the common person, ignorant of the other, can be swept up in it. Or how this stigma of it can sway people from pursuing any sort of relationships. Not just with romantic relationships but with friendships. Gs is quite a lovely place and it wouldn’t really happen here but there are other India-Pakistani forums which get really vicious. I mean look at youtube and the stuff there is atrocious. There are many Indians and Pakistanis who have faced racism from the other side. But the decent ones realise it is only a miniscule minority and they have many more positive examples to counteract it.

I have only one example of a Pakistani girl who said insulting things and who refused to engage with me let alone be friends as I am Indian. Online and in real life, i have made many Pakistani friends, some who i would say are even better than friends i have from India. Even if i had not known any Pakistani people if i thought logically why would they hate me if they watch bollywood, like saris, yoga and like other Indian stuff. Or if I was a Pakistani i would have to think why should i think Indians hate me when Pakistani singers, songs and dramas are a massive hit, or things like roohAfza, shan masala are used commonly by Indians.

I am sure this has been experienced by those on other side as well. Similarly your parents shouldn’t see one example as representative for all Pakistanis/Pakistani guys. There is no guarantee if you marry an Indian guy he will have resolved issues 1-5.

At the same time remember too much belief in pyar, ishq, mohabhat might not be realistic. Never leave your parents for any guy. Parents are generally reliable while guys may not be.

yes move on , its better to move on then to regret at the end

hmmm ya ..samasya bohot gambhir hai...... trust me i have tried everything.....from saying tht he belongs to the same caste.....tht he's half indian...has half of his family here......he's not like the character u guys have heard abt in the other stories abt my relatives...everything....
but i dnt know wats stopping thm from even talking to him.....

even Mr Messed up is fed up...and is feeling insulted...and everytime is tell him to try one more time..he says...firse baizati karwao....
hmm..neways...thanks a lot...i've convinced him to come to UAE ...so i can arrange him to meet my mom atleast once......now the most difficult task is to make my mom come here.......and make her meet him!!!...lets hope this plan turns out to be positive for our realtionship

yeah....ur rite am from Mumbai...and all those KJo & Yash Chopra movies do have an impact on u...:P.... to add to it...ekta kapoor's melodramatic serials.....

anyways....i've tries rever psychology...and told thm...i will do watever u guys say....and jst follow ur instructions like a doll....and i dnt knw wat not.....(fully inspired by ekta kapoor's protagonists)....but it jst doesnt work with thm....altho am trying a new formula now..... jst limiting my communication from here...and tht sometimes works...... it does bring me immense pain to do this...but thn they too need to realise the pain am going thru!!!......

fingers crossed....lets hope things turn out positive for me and my mr. messed up!....and pls keep praying....thanks all!!! :)

Hum aap ki aur mr messed up ke liye prathna karenge jaise aap ka samasya ka koi hal nikle.

i think aap ke parents bhi dekhte honge bollywood and ekta kapoor to unko sab pata hai. Lets see if we can get some inspiration from pakistani serials. but really indian and pakistani serials are both quite depressing. Limiting communication may help chalo dekh the hain
have you ever told them that would you rather i marry a hindu boy, a jobless boy, or a boy jo decent nahi ho. Maybe could change their mind.

According to me, relations never live long if you family support is not with you. So try 2 first convince your parents and family.

Hey Messedup try this technique. video is on how to convince desi parents for love marriage :slight_smile: Acha hai. haha and funny :slight_smile:
How to convince parents for love marriage : MatchFixing (ShortFilm) - YouTube

lolz…hehe…i wish it was so easy to convince my family!!!..

messedup, one of my cousin is marriedd to an indian muslim in saudia, she never comes to pakistan nor goes to india.

she is almost forgottten , her mom goes to saudia to meet her.

so there are many risks in such situations

ohhh....thts very sad....but we have also thot abt it!!...and thts the reason both of us want to settle down in some other country so i can retain my Indian passport and visit my family as and when i want to or as and when need be!

good luck,

but do think about every possibility that may be a disturbance in ure life.

and find solutions to it before taking a final decision

hmm...... we have thot abt the issues and there are some things with which we will have to live....and accept the fact the with this relationship...there will be many things which will be difficult....but thn tht will happen if my family finds any other rishta abroad....

i've many cousins who've settled abroad and very rarely they get to visit India..... maybe once in 2 yrs...or sometimes more....

thts how life is....if i look at the difficulties only...thn i will have to forget my love...and do as my family says.....

Messed up...listen to your family. Don't put yourself and him in any more difficulty please.

here’s a guy who’s been with you through health issues and others…and every.single.person. on here wants you to leave him.

i’m not saying marry him, but please. do not go by what people here are saying.

haha that trend is true except for my comments. im all for indian-pakistani relationships. pyar kiya to darna kya

tell your parents that if your hand is in your hands...then all the jannatein are with you...if he is with you then no matter what the world says in his love you can become fanaa. they will see the strength of your love and completely agree.

PS: do not take totally seriously.

it is tough, I went through the same, diff is I am from pak and he is from india, and we were in canada. His family was very supportive and mine was just like yours. Our families were very similar too, but still they way things are said/communicated, sometimes it is not understood the same way, and it creates a huge issue.

Your family is right about visa situation, it is a nightmare. PM me if you have any questions.

If you are wondering if I am happy, answer is YES, my husband is very supportive, we had our shares of up and downs, but that is part of any marriage. It is not bed of roses but your perspective can make or break the marriage. You can make your marriage work really well if you 2 are on the same page.

good luck...in these kind of marriages only time can tell if it will work or not, huge gamble!!

do istakhara...I did for almost 3-4 months.

if you don't mind me asking how did you guys meet? Were you living in a 3rd country? Did you have any visa issues? How did you overcome any family issues? Were any of your family against the marriage because he was from India?

All questions which might help OP.

Finally...someone who's had the same experience.....

yes i have loads of questions...... pls check ur inbox!...

sorry but i may be blunt and ask personal questions.....and thts y have sent u a om...not sure how much we can discuss on an open forum....

I answered OP questions through PM, we met in university in canada, tons of visa issues, dont ask about family issues on my side, still going on:) his family was and is fine, no my family didnt oppose because he was from india, my dad has caste issues. His dad was a little apprehensive because of visa/other logistic issues etc later, but he never opposed the marriage.

:slight_smile: jst an update on this one :slight_smile:

So finally my family is convinced for our wedding!!! yippiieeeee :blush: and shukar!!!..

families have met and hopefully wedding will be in India!!..i.e. if they get the visa (insha allah)…

thanks all for your comments and advises!!!..

please keep praying tht things go well for us!! ameen!!

m super duper excited!!! :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: