Hijabis who work out

Thanks for backing me kakay and Tikhi! :)

I go to the Y currently. I live in a small town currently. The only all-women gym we have is Curves but they are a bit expensive than the Y, especially when i get a discount at the Y. Maybe when I move to a bigger city (CHicago, here I come! :D ) InshaAllah, i will think abt joining an all-womens place.

*Originally posted by The new COOLDUDE: *
Do hijabis go swimming in burqas then? Honest question...

hmm..dunno...but i've heard when hijabans go sky diving their burqa acts as a parachute on landing...

:smack: :smack: like I said … some people just don’t get it :bummer:

Hijab is not only to be observed with Ghair mehram around but also with women around.

This (covering your parts rule) applies to only to women but to men as well :rolleyes: (you guys didn’t expect this comin did ya :stuck_out_tongue: ) Islam prohibits men from revealing their ‘aura’ … which is anywhere below their naval and above their knees. So, wearing a short is a no, no for both :slight_smile:

Disclaimer: This reply was wholy intended to be constructive and the user regrets and apologises for any offense caused to minors

i think quite a few girls wear hijabs just for the heck of it. They like the response it generates from their families or friends esp here in US. Back home in Pakistan I hardly remember seeing even a single hajban, it's just here in US ppl think that somehow hijab will keep the girl closer to her religion. But they do not understand the essence or signifance of that piece of cloth on their head.

Need refrences…although I do agree cuz women get turned on by women too :-s

lussi I know wat you are saying but you cant really blame em..and trust me its worse in pakistan!!! those women wear half sleeves and see through kapre with hijab or they will have like layers n layers of makeup on…n nikabis with so much crap on their eyes n like those tatoo things n bindis :-s which in my opinion is alot more attractive but anyways I was saying you cant really blame the girls because of the culture, where the norm is half naked…I think anything is better than nothing and inshAllah everyone of us will become a better muslim
in other words, grow a freaken beard n then talk :rolleyes:

Ira yea I guess then u dont really have a choice but I guess a home treadmill is still better than the gym..just my opinion

:rolleyes: Eik tau guys say - you should wear the hijab, you should wear the hijab. When someone is wearing the hijab, and God Forbid she should be independent enough to want to improve her physical health and participate at a local gym, then people complain. Kissi haal mai chaan nahin. If someone wants to wear the hijab and work out, then more power to the girl :k: i don’t wear the hijab, i have tonnes of respect for the females who do. And waisay, as far as guys checking out girls at the gym - well, sorry, but 90% of guys are pervs anyways. They will check out any female whether she’s on a treadmill or she’s walking down the hallway of her uni. Let these hijabis do what they want to - they are simply trying to take care of their physical health while simultaneously obeying a religious edict. Who is the stronger person here?

Islam encourages physical fitness for both males and females. Let Allah be the Judge of whether or not she is getting checked out by some perverted guy who can’t keep his eyes to himself. That guy will get his gunnahs, the girl will get her sawaabs Insha’Allah.

:halo: hmm. Okay, now hit me with the names of ‘infidel’.

Re: Hijabis who work out

I used to workout at home, then womens gym, now at home again..
it’s easier for me at home..
Some hijab styles here.

Wish granted
:smash: sirr aggay karo :>

*Originally posted by ~Tikhi Jalebi~: *
Need refrences...although I do agree cuz women get turned on by women too :-s

Amm ... just comment out that Hijab bit. There was more to it but I edited it later. Just focus on the 'covering parts' thing :p

go to the female appoitned times in the gym, same for the pool,

i used to go for workouts and swimming every week, theres nothing more refreshing

*Originally posted by nos: *

Amm ... just comment out that Hijab bit. There was more to it but I edited it later. Just focus on the 'covering parts' thing :p

no! i wanna know why you said that women should cover around other women?

^^
*yaar yai tou peechay he per gaiee hai :hehe:

There are no hadeeth related to it (I think) but it is something that some people have warned about. SO be careful, that’s all :slight_smile:

tikhi,,, a woman's satr is i believe everything except her hands feet and face...

not sure though......

^^ I’m sure the face must be covered along with the head, therefore it has to be part of the Hijab … which is something that none mentioned throught out :halo:

yeh that’s near to perfect kakai, hands and face can be shown i ain’t sure about feet either everything else must be covered!!!

hijab

Ayesha :razi2: ] reported that Asmaa the daughter of Abu Bakr :razi: ] came to the Messenger of Allah :saw: ] while wearing thin clothing.

He approached her and said:

'O Asmaa! When a girl reaches the menstrual age, it is not proper that anything should remain exposed except this and this. He pointed to the face and hands." (Abu Dawood)

meaning kai hands and face can be exposed everything else can’t