Hijabi girls/women..

Yes, another thread about them.

Call it generalization, but it is based on experience and discussion with other people. Unfortunately, some 70% (the split goes 70% typically bitter, 25% looking for business and the remaining 5% being those who wear hijab for whatever reasons but are calm and relaxed and not bitter) of hijabis that I have encountered are annoyingly argumentative and consider it their assigned responsibility to win arguments by including passing judgements on people. For some reason, they seem to believe that since they are wearing hijab, not only that they are superior to other beings, including women who decide not to wear hijab, but also they are the authority on social and religious issues. A hijabi, agreeing with someone on a social and/or religious matter, is a rare,rare,rare sight.

Now my idea is, dressing surely is important, but not as important as how pure your inner self is. Unless you are dressing inappropriately i.e. exposing yourself or wearing something too tight or otherwise unacceptable considering our social, cultural and religious background (the combined one), whether or not you decide to wear a hijab is a matter of personal choice and personal comfort, and it has less to do with how righteous you are. Righteousness comes from within, and social skills and how you treat others is one of the most important factors in any religion and society. If wearing hijab equates ill social manners, I am sorry but I would rather take a non-hijabi’s word. Given my experience of interacting with hijabis, I already avoid them (but do give them due respect, apart from calling them ninjas).

What I am wondering is, what exactly goes on in their heads and what makes them so bitter in general? Some insecurities, feeling of being holier than thou, compulsive arguments being a service to religion?

PS - my interaction, incase one would want to know, has been in school, college, business meetings, courses and other official interactions which naturally includes discussion on non-official matters.

One of my colleague is a hijabi.. extremely bitter.. and is nothing but a fire-spitting-dragon. She can wear the tightest of clothes.. but throws a nasty tantrum if u were to wear half-sleeves. Gets manicures done, but raises hell if u're wearing nail-polish.

Says something, means another..causes damage then drops-by to appologize. I have nothing against them.. it's just hypocrisy and double-standards.. and the holy lectures that u have to suffer and the air of artificial intelligence that comes with the hijab.

• Wearing the hijab doesn't mean u're all-knowing and all-wise (usually about Islam)

• Wearing the hijab doesn't safeguard u from gheebat (we all know that)

I knew a girl that used to wear the hijab for adults, but whenever we'd go out in a mixed gathering her hijab was off and her hair blow-dried and styled.

Re: Hijabi girls/women..

I know quite a few hijabi girls like this, I once went off to a Muslim 'holiday camp' and in those 5 days there was constant judging of other girls, bi*ching and arguing over petty little things, it was 'why are her sleeves rolled up', 'she shouldn't wear jeans', 'her fringe is showing' etc. The girls who only wore salwar khameez with hijab tended to be the worst. I'm not anti-hijabi by any stretch, my own Mum wears it, this is just stuff I noticed. The friend I went with ended up in tears..

Ohhh drama thread. Me likes!

i know lots of hijabi girls and they r all fine, friendly and pretty much normal.
yes i have met some ladies which do think that others without hijab might hav less religious knowledg than them.
And i have to disagree with pure at heart thing. coz hijab is for Allah and if He wants us to do something it has to be done regardless of whats in our heart.

:), you guys like me na??

Errrr....

First of all I've been wearing Hijaab for 3 years now, started wearing Abaya last year and Niqab this year.
I got plenty of non-Hijaabi friends and I've never been harsh on any of them, ALL OF THEM consider Hijaab to be farz and have the desire to wear it someday insha'Allah. What I dislike is when a person is wearing completely tight clothes and then puts on a headscarf calling it Hijaab, some of those girls might be forced to wear it but if you feel like wearing it wear it in a decent way. I perfectly understand if someone doesn't want to wear an abaya especially here in the west but I feel there is no need to put on a headscarf if your outfit consists of tighs and a mini-skirt/shirt. That's just plain ridiculous, as hijaab should be modest and YES this does include the Hijaab of speech! If a Hijaabi is using swear words all time starts getting unfriendly and screams or does even worse thing then that gives people a really bad impression on Hijaabis(which some of you guys already seem to have unfortunately...) I don't lecture any girl to put it on, I can give a fair explanation, however I won't pressure anyone to do it, if you're not doing it for the sake of Allah SWT you're doing it for the wrong reasons, Allah SWT will not accept something if it doesn't come from the bottom of your heart.

Now look at it from that point of view: How often are Hijaabis picked on? Called extremists or backward by Muslims themselves. So you end up being hurt and start wondering what is wrong with those people? Why do they take Islam always for granted? Haven't they had any religious schooling? Most people don't even know what Islam is really about, they don't question or inquire they just take in the information that was given to them by their surroundings instead of doing their own research. If you tell them what they should do(and that is not your opinion but the Islamic view) they will start getting moody and won't listen to you. As a Hijaabi you might have to justify yourself always, you have to stand your grand always no matter where...so someday you might start to feel people are mad at you and rude towards you for your headscarf and no other reason, they dislike what you're doing not for the lack of talent but because of your clothing. That is the moment some may become bitter and therefore end up picking on girls who are not wearing it simply for they might not have to suffer the same kind of injustice. If you're wearing Hijaab everyone will see you're a Muslim by faith, of course nobody can tell the strength of your Imaan, however the visible sign is enough for some to mock you always. I've been called some really disgusting things on the street "Ninja" was the least of them.

For me this Hijaab means so much I had to fight a lot to wear it, my father begged me to take it off, I wouldn't, then he begged me to only take the dupatta and a half long coat. I refused as I don't consider a dupatta which shows half of my hair to be the Islamic Hijaab. He is totally desperate and upset but I won't give in, I'm a Muslim and the rules of Allah SWT come first.

Hijab is a perfect tool for a woman. So much has been discussed already.. enough to say that it eliminates so much bad things, which happen to women with no hijab.

If u take it then y not :blush:

My teacher at mosque used to take hers off as well when no-one Muslim was around and then told us not to tell our parents..

This girl wears it infront of parents and females and takes it off when men are around.. camping trips, movies, dinners.. any get-togthers where men are. She'd wear one to school and the remove it.. she was an on-and-off hijabi.. that just LOVED preaching.. but never practicing sigh

I think its easy to confuse personality traits with how one looks. Anyone can be bitter and judgmental its doesnt really matter what they wear on their head.

I guess you only see what you want to see.

Does anyone find this pic offensive or is it just a good way of persuading women to wear hijab? I came across it in an Islamic forum..

Wasps would look better instead of those tiny flies.

deleted

shukar hai deebs ap bhi yahan nazar ayen. life section apki shakal dekhnay ko taras gya tha.

Well yes indeed ur right. many of such ppl think that what thjey do is always right as if they are angels either they are hijabi women or bearded males im also a beard person but i dont have such mentality and i know what i am. so, yes ur right women and men with hijab and beard think as if they are superior then others but not all ppl are like this.

Ase hijaab ka koi faida nahi jis ke andar bhi aap apne nafs per control nahi kerte, apne app ko burai se nahi bachate, apne aap ko Allah ki raah main late, aur buhat kuch ahi sirf duniya ko dikhane ke liye kya hijaab kerna hai..

mere hisaab se mostly hijaab kerne wali larkiya buhat clever hoti hain aur age main kuch nahi kaho gaa aap sab samjhdaar hain.

bitterness?
insecurity?
feeling holier than others?
compulsive arguments?
...eh...excuse me...you talking about hijabis or yourself?

jaanwari man, you have a lot of issues with people dont you?

uff, those who live away from parents and inlaws are accused of abandoning, being cold, being insecure...

...now you have issues with hijabi women!

you aint a happy bunny are you? not easy to please hey.

yaar, vhat nonsence! too many bitter people with too many issues on their mind

vhat ever happened to living a simple happy life?

Maybe there are some mind bending Hijab materials out there lol.
I kinda agree with Milly, I dont think think you can blame attire for someones personality. I meet a lot of miserable, judgemental and bitter muslims and they don't all wear hijabs.
I'm gori and a revert, I wear hijab because I want people to know I am a muslim, unlike aisan girls I can't get away with draping a dupatta round my neck so it's important to me that my belief is recognised.

The only thing I can assume is that hijabis behave very differently in pk, in the UK where I live ( a very large muslim area in Birmingham) hijabis act the same as non hijabis, some are happy, some are sad, some are down right rude, the wearing of a hijab is kinda irrelevent.

Whats interesting to see though is that attitudes towards hijab wearers in pk is similar to attitude towards nikab wearers in the UK.

To be honest though I see no difference in **ing about the women who wear hijabs, to *ing about the women who don't, either way someones ****ing. We should challenge attitudes not dress codes.

Jaanwar, as you say yourself, this 70% of hijaabi's are bitter figure is BASED ON YOUR OWN EXPERIENCE of hijaabi's.

I wonder if the kind of person you are brings out the worst in people around you? Yes I said PEOPLE, this includes ladies with a cloth wrapped around their head, as well as other ladies who do not have a cloth wrapped around their head.

Do you think that you may have an expectation of hijaabi's to remain quiet and submissive, but when they express an opinion, bcos you don't expect this, it seems a whole lot more aggressive than when a non-hijabi would make such a comment?