Re: Hijabi Brides
^yup.
^yup.
^that's much better.
I've tried so hard to convince myself but this just doesn't look right. Hanging your tika and jhoomar on your headscarf looks tacky and it even makes a pretty looking girl ridiculous. If you're very strict about covering your hairline and neck then don't bother to go with a desi look, or cover your forehead and neck with ornaments than choosing the highneck look. I'm sorry but i had to say this.
A see-through ghoongat will look very traditional and beautiful though.
^ I think she pulls-off the hijaab beautifully Mashallah!
^ I agree, she looks lovely!!
She looks really nice..
AA girls... i really need your help regarding a hijab problem..im wear hijab since 7th grade and now im gettting married iNSHALLAh in feb... the doappta for my valima dress is really thin and my hair wud be visible thru it...i tried to find a matching hijab cap but cudnt find it...now wat shud i do..i have got matching hijab of the same color of teh dopatta but a hijab uder your doppata really gives bulky effect specially around neck ...wat shud i do... any ideas plzzzzzzzzzzzzz help
thnx in anticipation...
why don't u use the hijab that matches that your dupatta and make a hijab cap with that? It's pretty easy to sew one (I would think).
A hijabi friend of mine simply wore a hijab with a tikkah, and draped the dupatta of the lengha on her side. It was also her reception and she looked really nice.
no my mil really wants me to look like a triditional bride with tikka and jewellry and dopatta on head...i thot about making a hijab cap with the scarf but hijab cap is actaully of strechable material so i dont knw a silken hijab cap(swon by me)wud be as gud asa rella hijab cap... i think it wud slip ...i dont knw wat to do :(
iris, you could try finding a hijab cap made of a nicer semi-shiny material.. I have seen some but I don't know the name of the material or where exactly you would get them. you should ask around, i'm sure other hijabis in your area would know.
^She looks lovely
@farishta i have tried to find a ready made hijab cap but coudnt find it in the color of my dress. ... its light ferozi and i have seen hijab caps in diff colors e.g. red peach purple but unfortunalty i cudnt fing it in my desired color ... now im helpless dont knw wat to do ...any ideas about wearing hijab in a way that it wont create that bulky look... my mother says that i should wear it tied back like kashimi girls but as i think it would still hav that bulky look:( ... how can you wear a hijab under doppata without that bulging at the neck ?
are you planning on covering your neck as well?
try to get as closest to the colour you can. it's not going to make much of a big difference if your cap is not goign to show. With the dupatta covering it, the colour of the duputta would mask the colour of the cap.
Are you trying to cover your neck aswell or just the hair? I think it depends on that…
If you’re coverng just the hair, then I personally really like ths style:
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/61479/hijabibride.jpg
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/50783/333.jpg
If you want a cap, I would suggest either matching the colour/material and having it either like a headband:
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/74414/IMG_4112.jpg
http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/74719/bride1.jpg ← I think somebody photoshopped the neck part but the headband is real
or have it the kind where you can tie it in the back (sorry, no idea what its called - but it looks sort of like a bonnet - so its secure against your head and won’t slip
no jus have to cover my head... and teh styles MissSN have suggested i would do for my nikkah but the waleema dopatta is of see thru material and my hair would show up if wont wear anything underneeth
iris, if it's just to cover your hair from your see through dupatta there is a way that i've seen a lot of hijabi girls fix this.. basically just figure out exactly where you want to place your dupatta on your head and take a matching color fabric (probably satin or something nice) of about 24x24 inches and attach it under the dupatta on that part. usually no one will notice anything odd about the dupatta, you just can't see your hair anymore from under. i think my friend who did it for her wedding had her tailor do it for her. hope it helps..
^ Oh oops sorry!
Try the bonnet style caps… this kind:
http://www.thehijabshop.com/showcase.php?sec=bonnet
It’ll stay in place and it doesn’t have to be an exact match of your dupatta cuz your dupatta will cover it
or you can always ask a tailor to make it if you give them a sample cap and matching material (or make it yourself)
Can't you have the dupatta lined with silk or something?