Hidden Folders issue

I’m having a problem with my computer.

If I change the folder settings to “Show hidden folders” and click okay or apply, it doesn’t work. The box just closes but it doesn’t show the hidden folders. =\ And I restored my computer like a few days ago and it still happens.

Kya karoon? :frowning:

Re: Hidden Folders issue

if you know the name of the folder, try to type whole path in My Document window.

Usually C:\WINDOWS\system32 is a hidden folder in XP. See if typing the path takes you there

assuming you are using windows, I would suggest you start cmd.exe (dos prompt) and use the attribe command DOS Command: ATTRIB

Regards,

Okay but what if I don’t want to unhide the folders? Is there anyway I can just make it show the hidden folders from changing the folder settings like I used to? :bummer:

You should make up ur mind first. :smiley:
As boston said, use the “attrib” command. And make sure you have proper permissions. You shouldn’t be able to change settings logged on with a guest account, for instance.

no no no!

There IS a way to SEE the hidden folders WITHOUT unhiding them! I don't want to unhide them, but I want to be able to see th em once I click "show hidden folders". By doing that, it doesn't unhide the folders, it just shows the hidden folders.

what have you stored in those hidden folders phatima? hmm? :smilestar:

oh gosh 5abi I knew if you saw this thread you were gonna say something like that! :smack:

They’re just IMPORTANT files I don’t want to accidentally delete or have anyone messing with! :mad:

^^ I'm sure that's EXACTLY what 5watery was referring to. ;)

okay this thread isn’t about what’s IN the files so let’s stick to the topic! :snooty: I need to fix this problem it’s reallyyyy annoying me. :bummer:

Well, as someone suggested to click on Start/Run and type in the exact name of the folder, e.g. c:\hidden\folder\, and its going to open it up

BUT I DON’T WANNA OPEN IT UP! :mad:
I just want to be able to SEE the hidden files when I change the folder setting to “Show hidden folders”!!! :frowning:

^^ Uff, khudaayaa, kitnee ziddee larkee hai

Try this. It sounds like the same problem

A few days back, a client came to me and told me that he was having trouble with his Windows XP. The show hidden files and folders was not working at all. If he selected the radio button “Show hidden files and folders”, and then press Ok .. the changes would just disappear upon opening the dialog again. It was probably some virus attack after which the Windows registry was not being updated properly. So here is what I did to restore it back.
*Go to registry editor by running regedit in the run box.
Go to this key:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\
Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced

In the right hand area, double click hidden and change the value to 1.*

Nahiiii that didn’t work either. :teary1:

I tried it a second time and when I went back to that key, the value was back to 0 again. :frowning:

The Folder Options under the tools menu are for a specific (root) folder -- the one that is selected when you go into Folder Options. Upon selecting "Show Hidden Files and Folders", it will only allow you to see the hidden sub-files and hidden sub-folders under the parent folder for which you changed the settings. Are you sure you are in the right (root/parent) folder when you select "Show Hidden Files and Folders?"

Yea like the hidden folders will be under My Documents, so I go to My Documents and then change the folder settings to show the hidden folders, and it still doesn't work.

=<

Oh try going to My Documents from the back door.

Open Windows Explorer (WIN+E) and go to the following folder:

C:\Documents and Settings*PHATIMA1\My Documents

*Replace *PHATIMA1 with whatever user you are logged in as.

And then change the folder settings

Phatima, run Spybot or something. If the registry was changed to 0, there is a virus in your computer

Nope Asif bhai that didn't work either. :( But thanks anyways for your help

a virus?! aak! :hayaa:

How did it get there? My laptop isn’t even connected to the internet! :emmy: