hi just a quick question..

Re: hi just a quick question..

Oh my.. oh no u diiiii-int. youre lucky im too sleepy and i need to pray. or else :grumpy:

Yay hai meri izzat iss forum pe :frowning:

Aap apni izzat ko haath main rakhein :)

actual script indicate tashdeed **on wao therefore it repeates two time in pronunciation saw*-w*aiyaan

We say saimiyaan too.
And yes, it does sound cuter.

o yar jo mrzi keho bs taste acha hona chahiey to yummmy

I say sev-yan…is that wrong? :confused:

is it supposed to be savaiyyan or sev-yan?

We say suh-vayN (noon ghunna) for the most part, but sometimes will call it suh-vai'yan.

which one is technically correct :bummer:

People from Pindi, Jehlum, Mirpur etc say Semviyaan.

the singular word [often used as plural] is se-waii-N [nasal N; noon Ghunna] and the plural is se-waii-N-yaaN

the pronunciation of this word [plural] is difficult because it contains two syllables with consecutive N [nasal N; noon Ghunna] in rapid succession. i think this word is one of the most mispronounced words in Urdu language.

here is the audio of how it is correctly pronounced:

AUDIO LINK: correct pronunciation of the Urdu word se-waii-N and se-waii-N-yaaN by jhumroo on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

I believe the correct Urdu pronunciation is Suh-vai’yan. Also, I think only those who are Punjabi speaking say Semviyan or Saiwiyan.

This!! <333

Although, we call the dish Sheer Khurma cause we’re weird like that, or is that something different. here is sheer khurma:

Sheer Khurma has sawaiyaan in it as part of one of the many ingredients.

Yea what's sheer khurma? I just call ^ that doodh wali saiwiyan.

What you posted is sheer khurma and it’s different from sewaiyn, but both are made from vermicelli.

This is sewaiyn:

I don’t like these kind - yay for sheer khurma. Now I know what it’s called. :smiley:

What is the urdu word for the fried vermicelli which some people eat in ramzan with milk and sugar?

I used to get that at this desi spice store, but it's been years and I forgot the name :-/

soot phenii :) i LOVE it...but, now now! :(