guys pls help me with clearin this confusion. my baby is 5 mnths and i gave her herbal tea (milupa) yesterday she took fll 4 oz (100ml) and pooped twice. today w/o drinkin it she pooped once too. i was wonderin if the tea is supposed to b given to her everyday.. did u give ur babies herbal tea?? if yes how many times in a week? it seems to have helped in constipation i guess!! but not her colic ![]()
Re: herbal tea for infants??
in medical terms constiaption is if baby isnt able to apss stool for more than 3 days... so give her herbal tea if she isnt doing for more than 3 days... dont get her system used to anyotehr stuff...make her adjuseted to her own....
my mom say once baby satrt teething a constipated baby gets more constipated... and vice versa
You should be asking a qualified professional these sorts of questions. Consult your doctor.
mall, herbal teas usually have weird ingredients that we have no knowledge about… I would steer clear of it.
Not to scare you, but I was just googling herbal tea for infants when I stumbled on this article on webmd.
I’m not saying the one you’re using is unsafe, but you don’t know what ingredients it has and there are so many products out there for babies which are not really safe… better be careful about what you’re giving to your baby.
in medical terms constiaption is if baby isnt able to apss stool for more than 3 days... so give her herbal tea if she isnt doing for more than 3 days... dont get her system used to anyotehr stuff...make her adjuseted to her own....
my mom say once baby satrt teething a constipated baby gets more constipated... and vice versa
hmmm thanks will make note of that.. def dun want her to get used to the tea!
This article has a lot of information on which teas to give and which ones to avoid for infants and toddlers, hope it helps:
ure probably rite. will talk to another ped. milupa ones dun have aniseed though(referrin to ur link) it has chamoile, peppermint, fennel etc.
You should be asking a qualified professional these sorts of questions. Consult your doctor.
my dear the doc itself recmmended it but i forgot askin abt the no of times to give. there was another doc who recommended it. ill consult another ped soon
I think fennel is the ingredient that is supposed to help with constipation and colic both and is considered safe in small amounts.
In any case, don't give it every day..... monitor her and if she's not constipated any more..... don't give it to her, since its not helping with her colic anyways.
You know I'm beginning to think your daughter is not colicky at all .... she's probably just a high maintenance baby who needs you to soothe her and wants you touching her 24/7 :) You know all babies are different, some need their mommies more than others do.... hang in there, this soon shall pass, inshaAllah.
I think fennel is the ingredient that is supposed to help with constipation and colic both and is considered safe in small amounts. In any case, don't give it every day..... monitor her and if she's not constipated any more..... don't give it to her, since its not helping with her colic anyways.
You know I'm beginning to think your daughter is not colicky at all .... she's probably just a high maintenance baby who needs you to soothe her and wants you touching her 24/7 :) You know all babies are different, some need their mommies more than others do.... hang in there, this soon shall pass, inshaAllah.
thanks for the kind words :) well shes a bit high maintenance too but she is soooo def colic!! cus many times shes up cryin and then passes a big fart so its the gas thaz troublin her. otherwise if u see her in person u r gonna say i m such a liar cus everyone tells me oh shes soo massoom and all... waise she is v social MA aur sabki goud mein ajati hai and when she is not havin those gas cryin spells she actually smiles alot and plays wid u.. but the worst thing is she cries at such a high pitch when all she wants to do is sleep or eat.. its almost imposible to know wht is botherin her becus she cries the same way for all different reasons.
btw i gave her fennel tea for 1-2 mnths but no effect.. the sad thing abt her is nothin seems to ease her colic.. no med.. no herbs, no desi totkays. also i have to tell u i gave her herbal milupa tea today (but she had pooped before havin it) and after almost 8 hrs she is makin loud gruntin noise like we adults do to push stool.. i dunno y she is doin that when she already passed stool today.any views?
thanks alot … v informative link. i m indeed givin her herbal tea, no fennel tea or fruit tea etc(the ones offered by milupa).. now if i cn only know how many times shud i give to her..
^Can't you just call the doctor's office and ask them how often it should be given?
jani i dunno abt USA but here no docs give their personal numbers and its not easy catchin them in hospitals also cus this way har wakt hi patients call karte rahe gay
^Oh wow, really? We have a really good system here.... we just call our pediatrician's office and leave a message on the nurse's voicemail and they call us right back with answers to our questions.
So, if you wanted to ask some questions.... you will have to make an appointment and go see the doctor?
from time to time its ok... not everyday... milupa is really good and well known for its baby range of foods and teas.
mall.. most readers here are of usa canada origin and waht they feed their kids is way diff from what a european or desi would feed their kids (more similar)...
herbal teas are quite common here in denmark too... just not for everyday.. and give the amount that is said on the box. thats it.
remember.. diff teas for diff things.
jani i dunno abt USA but here no docs give their personal numbers and its not easy catchin them in hospitals also cus this way har wakt hi patients call karte rahe gay
Even during working hours, you can't contact a doctor or nurse???
i cn and ive tried too... they either say the doc is busy or they make u hold for ages.. once i had to literally scream at a nurse that its emergency and my baby is cryin hysterically i need to talk now..
and anyway... i thot its ok to post a qs here before askin the doc.. it wudnt b a big deal thaz y i asked to see wot other posters say
^ of course you can post here. But there are certain questions that only a doc can answer appropriately.
Also in the US that kind of unavailability, particularly for infants, would make people switch doctors. Even if the doc isn't available to answer a question during business hours, a nurse should be.
^Oh wow, really? We have a really good system here.... we just call our pediatrician's office and leave a message on the nurse's voicemail and they call us right back with answers to our questions.
wow thz awsum