help........!!!!!

its about Gulab Jamans…!!!

until two years ago i never had problem making 'em
dunno what happened then…

first time when something went wrong it was the evening before my young one was born…i thought i should make enough of them for guests etc…i trippled the original recipe n dduhh…!!!
it proved a disaster…!!!
anyway …i assumed something went wrong while i was trying to tripple it…so i tried again n again…but to no avail…!!!

i seriously have no clue…whats the reason…???
they r just fine when i fry 'em…but as soon as they go in sugar syrup they become hard in middle with this funny change in appearance

if any of u knows please tell me
btw i use powdered milk for 'em…not khoya etc.

waiting

hayay

:hug:

afia baji mera dil atak gaya seenay mein when i read ur title…i was like oh no koi problem toh naheen ho gayi afia baji ko

phew :hug:

as for gulab jamans…mein ne kabhee gulab jamans naheen banayay…
:frowning:

irem…:slight_smile:
nanhay say dil ko itnee jaldee nah atkaya karain…:slight_smile:

Alhamdulillah…problems hamaray paas kam hee aatee hain…but rite now it IS the biggest problem…!!!:crying:

my son wants to eat gulab jaman n i don’t want to waste my time n ingredients again n again…so i say again
“HELP…!!!”

Go to a desi store and buy some? It's a short-term fix :D

afia , you know what i do, i just buy those LAZEEZA packs. they are no fail recipie and they make perfect gulab jamuns!
try it. ( AND PLEASE DON'T SAY LAZEEZA SUPPORTS ISRAIL)

thanks for reply CHUSKA n mad_scientist…:slight_smile:

actually i prefer home made items specially when its for my kids…i can’t remember if i ever used these laziza etc…yes i know these r great help…but i don’t like 'em…

right now i’m trying to discover whats exactly the problem with my recipe…specially when it was perfect until 2 yrs ago…!!!
today i’ve bribed my son with Rus Malai…but very soon he is gonna ask me again for gulab jamans… :help:

Afia dear i am so sorry that i cant help u :o infact i have always lived with my amie , jee janaB after my shade too so i have been working and studying and never get into kahana pakana , i can only cook everydays food ,now my mom is moved and I have to cook by myself every day so bus kaam chala lati hoon , hubby is maashallaha very paitu :hehe: thu wo kasar amie ko meri shakayat kartay hain ke issay kuch khaas nahi atta lakin i say yeh bhi mill jata hai sabar shukar kar ke kah loo :halo: lolz

I can post a recpie for u from net lakin uss ka faida ki hoo gaa bhala , lets hope ke Qrius iss thread mein jhaank lay maybe she could help u :slight_smile:

mehroo.......:)
my first glance at ur post told me ....."at last there is some qeemti mashwara"......!!!but i was wrong:o

anyway....never mind.......now i'm really qrius for Qrius's reply......
waiting

Afia,

Does your original recipe still work? I mean, the one you used to follow before you tripled it.

Hmm, i'll ask ammi and get back to you. She hasn't made them in a while but i did write down the recipe somewhere. Be back later.

*Originally posted by Muzna: *
Afia,

Does your original recipe still work? I mean, the one you used to follow before you tripled it.

Muzna,
i tripled it just once......ever since i never dared to do that........:)
i always thought i did make some mistake while trippling it.....but no ......after that i've tried it at least 6-7 times in last two years n now i think its enough.....:o

Sehar...... i'm all ear .....:)

waiting

Did you change the brand of milk powder?
Is it skim milk or whole milk?
Do you add baking powder?
If you use flour do you use self raising or plain?
What else do you add to the recipe?

*Originally posted by Shirin: *
Did you change the brand of milk powder?
Is it skim milk or whole milk?
Do you add baking powder?
If you use flour do you use self raising or plain?
What else do you add to the recipe?

Shirin......i changed nothing.....its always Nido whole milk powder i do add baking powder but i don't change the brand for that either
i use just 1 tsp. of plain flour.......n apart from milk powder ,baking powder n flour i add an egg n 1 tsp.of oil.......
n i repeat .....it was just perfect but dunno what happened then
i was discussing it with someone n she told me there should be only one thing hot ....either the syrup or the fried gulab jamans......when u add 'em to syrup ......does it make any sense....???
wat do u think......????does it really matter .....???

somehow i'm still not prepared to do the experiment...........:(

Qrius

perhaps i need u here ....:)

or Shirin or anyone .......!!!!

Afia, what's the problem..kia beech may say soft nahi hay..as they say guthli hay?

this is one of the recipe that me and my ammi tried once..if you think that its too much..just try to lower the quantity for the experiment :)

Ingredients for balls:

1 cup powdered milk
1/2 cup maida
1/2 tbsp baking powder
2 tbsp suji
2 tbsp oil
150 ml whipping cream

Mix the ingredients together and fry them in a shape of a ball.

Ingredients for the shera:

1 1/2 cups sugar
2 cups water

boil them together.

Once balls and shera is ready..just dip the balls in shera and place it in a refrigerator..your gulab jamuns are ready.

Hope this helps :)

hmmmm........sounds good

i dont have cream right now so till monday i'll have to wait
but sure
i'll try it n come back.......

thanx:)

afia, i have another recipe with milk instead of whipping cream..do you want me write that one as well..i read the reply you wrote to shirin..usually its not the problem with the shera but the frying of gulab jamun..that's what i heard..wallah alam.

Try get some fresh baking powder.
Check the frying time and temperature. Fairly low and slow is good. It needs to be cooked through but not too burnt outside.

thanks a lot Shirin n Qrius…:flower2::flower2::flower2:

no Qrius i think i should try this one first …if u tell me the other one , chances r that i’ll be too lazy to try this one …:slight_smile: so once i’ve tried this i’ll request u to post the other one
but thank u very much indeed…:slight_smile:

Shirin…i’ll keep ur advice in mind while trying this time …thank u :slight_smile:

Oh good to see that you have got some recpies and advices :-) and I am sorry again for being so dumb ...hehe