Help! =)

Re: Help! =)

But you mentioned that they are rare and have been collected with love and affection over the years. I know it must be hard but rather than teekas have pendants made. It would be such a shame for you not to wear them especially if that is what she wants. She should understand that teekas and jhoomars are rarely worn and thus it would not be feasible to spend money on something which is going to be looked away.

These are not things which can be sold etc and she does wish for you to have them and not anyone else. So compromise:)Having said that if she won’t listen to you, then I guess you have no choice. Good luck:hugz:

Hey Gina maybe it is possible to ask the jeweler to design the tikka in such a way that it IS able to be converted into a pendent necklace afterwards. If they know this is what you want, Im SURE they will be able to do it!

Or since your wedidng set is super heavy, maybe you can have a simple delicate matching necklace made as well with the tikka and then afterwards you can wear the tikka with the small necklace and not look so OTT

But in the end, your MIL's heart seems very much set in this. I say just agree to it since it makes her so happy, as it is a gift she wants to give you, out of her love and happiness for this beautiful occasion! Even if you wont wear them again, you can save them to pass on to your daughters and tell them how Dadi had them made especially for you! Im sure this will touch her heart even more :)

This reminds me of an incident that took place in an upper class neighbourhood near Toronto (Richmondhill). New immigrants were attending parent-teachers night at their child's new school and the mother decided that she would really make a big impression on the teachers if she decked out in gold. The pricipal ended up being so shocked that he actually called cops to give her protection on her way home from the school. (It's common to have cops here at an Italian wedding as people are decked out). Desis I tell you....!

Omg hilarious!

She's happy that she can make plenty of "teeka's" i'm having nitemares thinking i'd prolly have to wear them to all the after-shaadi dawats! Inshallah once I'm there (karachi) I can have them made really small. Thank yew girls.. but do remember NOT to get married to the eldest son in the family OR an only son! sigh if my MIL-to-be had her way she's prolly make me wear jewellery all the time!

You know you dont have to wear teeka,jhumoor,bazoobad but you can save it for your daughter/bahoo maybe ? It's such a wonderful gift a mother can give to her daughter ,I saw the set and it's beautiful and wont be out of fashion ever cause it's a unique set .I sold my jhumoor and rani-set and I feel so sad about doing so cause when I see my wedding set from ami's side It just doesnt look complete without jhumoor.I have teeka and the set along with bazoband ,I am thinking of getting a jhumoor made and save it for my daughter :)

and you are so right about marrying the only son :p lolz my mother in law made me wear a rani-haar which i thought was very ugly ( she let me chose everything else but wanted me to go for rani-haar) the first thing I did after wedding was to exchanged it to a smaller set but now I feel bad about it :-/

I'm dreading the day she pulls-out sumthing huge for me to wear on the baraat as well. The feeling of her handing down her jewellery to me and not her daughters already has made me pagal pagal. She gave me her antique "laakh" karra's and a gold/ruby necklace.

Lastnite she called me to say not to bring the jewellery cuz she doesn't want me travelling with it.. and the situation in Karachi isn't too good either BUT she added "we'll figure a way out beta.."

aww such a sweetheart mil you have MashAllah :-)

Your mother-in-law sounds too sweet.

Just relax and enjoy the attention/love and money she is showering on you.... and relish the fact that not all mother-in-laws are nasty pieces of work.

Keep all the pieces and think of them as heirlooms you can pass on to your children.

lol Mashallah she is a dream MIL-to-be! Umm alright another question is, im spending the first day of eid with my family and the next day at my inlaws-to-be's (Karachi) I was wondering if I shud take something for her and my fiance's sisters. And if "yes" what shud it be... I was thinking of gift-sets from The Body Shop for the girls.. and no clue abt Aunty!

Definitely! Giving and receiving of gifts increases the love :)

Bodyshop gift sets sound ideal for the girls.

Maybe get her a perfume gift set? The ones that have the perfume/body lotion etc.

i think u can give aunty some jewellary set too... she seems to love jewellary :D

def, do the gifts :) maybe a nice suit for her?

All I'm going to say is that Gina...we better get to see all this fabulous stuff! I am drooling over the descriptions...jade and diamond...OMG!

Naqsa they're just a locker away.. I just don't get time to bring them home, take pics and post =( my MIL-to-be doesnt wear much jewellery herself khawateen. But I was thinking of a nice bag.. maybe. Any Dubai Guppans wanna come shopping with me..? (my fiance is the WORST shopping companion ever!) he'll say "yeh sure lets go there on Wednesday" and when we reach there he'll find the closest starbucks and turn-on his laptop! Grrr!

if you can wait until december, i am so there! :)

I'm leaving on the 25th =( for eid! But the Dec shopping is ON. So is giving her a handbag a good idea or shud I get her a perfume set etc? I wish they had Bath & Body Works in Dubai!

handbag with a gift set from the bodyshop of the spa wisdom line would be nice

gina, when is your wedding?

she sounds like a stylish lady- i’d say splurge and get her a super nice handbag- i love the new ones that Coach has- practical and fun!

Coach Official Site

^ I agree--she seems super sweet MashaAllah se; someone who is caring and generous--she truly seems to be treating you like a daughter:):):) on the outside it seems that she is well kept and chic as well......

I LOVEEEE Coach handbags--look nice for an age:):) Youthful, and as SGC pointed practical and fun. Really like the silk scarves that hang next to the bag--make it look even more chic and stylish. Fendi has some really nice "grown up" designs as well.

IMO....body shop has such strong scents--some ppl lik them others dont..and its more of a SIL gift.............the Victoria's Secret Angel collection with Halo and Heavenly is more subtle in smell and lots of ppl seem to have an inclination towards it....... hmmm Chanel fragrances could also do the trick for MIL if you are considering perfumes only.

oooooooooooooooooo girls like pajama's---Marks and Victoria in Pak had really outdated stuff when i went there last. So those comfy cotton pj's/or even the long sleeve silky ones (Ralph Lauren, Vic Sec etc) were loved by my girl cousins.....

bride2be wedding was supposed to be in Dec, but as I said my mother goes thru dialysis 3 times a week and dialysis in Pakistan is REALLY bad! So Inshallah begining next year =)

I did go shopping today and bought her an LV bag and a swarovski pink rose bracelet fingers crossed hope she likes them! A HUGE group hug to all the girls for u're help!