Help needed

My daughter attends an Islamic school after regular school hours at our local masjid/community center thrice a week to learn arabic/Quran/hadeeth/Adaab/Akhlaq/seerah, etc. We have about 35-40 students and a few of us moms volunteer there as well in addition to the 2 qualified teachers they have.

I am heading a children’s program that we want to arrange for Thursday, May 28th where we would be inviting the parents to come watch their kids come up on stage and recite different things such as surahs, hurf e muqataaat, 99 names of Allah, hadeeth, Quran recitation etc.

We will also serve refreshments and have a bayaan by a visiting scholar. It will be a 2-3 hour long program.

Please suggest some more things I can add on the agenda, any dos or don’ts as I want this event to be interesting and the parents to feel like their kids are well taken care of at this place and we are actually making a difference in each others lives. we also want parents to feel motivated to donate to this school.

First of all, I need ideas what to call this event. I don’t want to say Talent Show. Suggestions please.

My nephew will get admitted in an Islamic school soon inshaAllah.He is learnin' Quran online from a paki Qari.
He say "who kuch seen ,sheen bhi bolta hai mama"

Re: Help needed

hahaha!!!!

Niksik - I think having EACH child participate in the program is a good idea. Parents are very eager to see thier kids on stage.

I have seen parents cry because it great to see your child embracing and learning Islam.

For the donation or fund raising perspective - make it short and to the point. Get someone who knows how to get the ppl to donate. Some folks are really good at getting people to open up their wallets.

Njgal, I am planning to have each kid come up like you said.

Should I make this a potluck or should the school fund all the refreshments?

Make sure you open up the food AFTER the program. I think the school can do refreshments (coffee, tea, donuts, cake, cookies etc). If you want a dinner (potluck is okay)

If you plan to do major fundraising - then it's better to do refreshments yourself.

some people think "oh I have to bring food AND give money" :)

Also a good idea to give a child a certificate with their name OR a small trophy - something they can remember their accomplishments.

njgal, we are planning to hand out certificates indicating the levels they've completed and give a small goody bag to each kid.

No dinner, just snacks like brownies, lemonade, tea, samosay etc. Yes I think it's a good idea we spend school funds on that if we are to ask for donations.

Thanks.

Can you come?

"The Islamic Variety Show"??

"Let me show you my Islam, day."

"Islam for everyone" day

There are aspects is Islam that we practice in everyday life, such as wudhu etc. These things are usually taught to us by parents. If the parents can see that your school is providing a solid supporting role in teaching their kids the basic everyday stuff, they should feel assured and want to contribute to continue.

Perhaps a kid can demonstrate how to do wudhu on stage using acting, not water for real. Or you can have kids recite the various dua's said before eating, or entering bathroom etc.

:) I would love to if you weren't across the continent. I am happy to donate to the program.

good luck with everything

I am also helping my daughter getting ready for her Sunday School graduation end of May.

Wow great.

For name

Religious reward day
Religious Acknowledgement day
Mazhabi Inaayqaad
Mazhabi celebration
Religious Celebration.
Islami Reward day
Islaami (Acknowledgment) ki urdu naheen aa rahi abhi dimagh main.
Kids Islamic Celebration
Buchon ka Mazhabi (achievement). dimagh main naheen aa rah urdu.
Mazhabi acknowledgement day
Kids Achievement day
Learning Achievement
Islamic Learning Achievement
Mazahabi taleemi achievement
Learners award day
Gr8 Achievement day lol

Oh my I have lots of ideas let me recall my memory.

Give them Papers with outlined names of Allah and Muhammad SAWW to color as a gift. and hang in home.

You could make one on a page or 2 names on a page.

To recite names of the Islamic months.

To tell Some short stories from quran or hadees and about life of muhammad SAWW and or some unbiaa.

Names of Prayers, Number of rakaats

Azaan

Jawaab e azan ( I don't know how old kids are).

Some duas, daily duas

Post more Isha Allah.

Awesome ideas people. You guys are wonderful. Thank you thank you :sheen:

For a name, how about "Our Journey to Islaam"?

I wish I could bring my boyz there!! Please do let us know how it goes!

taveez, amliyaat, qawali, niyaz, langar, patakhay, halwa competitions

okay but seriously, why dont u have the kids work on team projects, make a presentation about Hajj..teh steps..the reason, places, ihram, rituals etc.

diff kids can take on diff parts of the presentation.

maybe do another presentation on ramadan

one on how/what to tell your nonmuslim friends about islam, when they ask about anything from hijab to allah to makkah

kids will work as teams, may learn something new, it will be interestign so ppl arenot listening to the 10th naat or 12th kid read kalma, it may get redundant for audience.

the theme thus could also be on learning..

Awesome idea X2. We have gone over ramadan in detail so that might work well as a team presentation. We've also gone over the entire namaz steps from wudhu to the masail etc. Hmmm. Something to think about.

I don't have much time to plan this out but this weekend I need to have an outline to present at the Monday class.

Thanks people, please have your fantastic ideas coming.

oh i like this name

So our school is called Aisha school. How does this sound:

Aisha School presents
Let me show you my Islam Day

I like so many titles up there....anything else?

My pleasure sweet lady. You mean I have to stop thinking or recalling my memory for more Ideas?

Can I give more idea oar phool laay kar chalta banoon. lol

That’s a wonderful name mama of 3.

That would be great too.

"I is for Islam, I am for Islam"

how do u like dem apples?