Help me make haleem!!

I have daals, I have mutton back chops, and I have a pressure cooker. Have never cooked haleem before but everyone seems to know how to make it - help me make haleem!!

p.s. I have searched for haleem recipes on here but most seem to use wheat and barley which I don’t have and don’t know what to buy from (is it cus I live in the UK??? :confused:) Also, would appreciate recipes both with and without packet mixes :slight_smile:

Re: Help me make haleem!!

Ive only ever made haleem with the Shan packet mix - it comes with all the daals and masala’s included - the only thing you need to buy/have is the meat - Its easily available in the UK, i picked it up from a small local asian shop

I just followed the instructions on the packet but used a slow cooker instead and it came out pretty good

Obviously don’t expect the same as the authentic type aunties make in Muhurram - but for first timers like us its not bad and an easy introduction to making haleem :slight_smile:

I second that, for newbies at haleem that packet is a good option. After a few times you can customise it or be confident enough to make haleem from scratch.

Okay sounds good. I’ll have a look at the packets. I am doing an iftari this weekend and was thinking of making a huge portion of haleem with naan, and then just make a pasta dish as a side. Is this a recipe for disaster for a newcomer like me? Lol

On a side note why do I only ever see Shan mentioned on here? I buy Laziza cus they always have two packets in the box. Is Shan better?

^^ I think by shaan, people mean packet masala.

I have personally found Shan Masalas more tastier than the others. And who says shan doesn’t include two packets in the box. There are large Shan Packets too that contain two packets in one box :slight_smile:

i second the shaan masala, very easy and tastes great

Laziza is far far better.

But better do of your own.

You can get wheat and barley from your local supermarket like sainsbury’s

You can add this to your daals

Pedon 5 grains

Try this one, it will be like “the authentic type aunties make in Muhurram”

1 Kg meat
1 kg onion thinly sliced

fry till golden brown and take off the onions and take half of the frying oil.

And then add ginger garlic past ( 2 tablespoon) and mix the meat and when it turns white then add following masalas

two tbsp chili powder
four tbsp coriander powder
One tbsp cumin powder
One tbsp garam masala
One tbsp haldi
One tbsp mix of cardamom powder, mace, nutmeg
One and half tablespoon salt
10-15 bay leaves

mix thoroughly with meat and then enough water and till cook for hours on simmer till meat is very tender

mean while take mix of daal and anaj (600 grams) (soaked for hours) and cook separately in enough water and when it is done, use a blender to blend it
and then add freshly cut green chilies, ginger, mint and add all these with the meat

and cook on simmer for 10-15 minutes

then add the oil you separated

and serve with lemon, fried onion etc

I personally dont like haleem mix at all. You can easily find Pearl Barley even at any grocery chain in UK. If I can find in Australia its much easier in UK i suppose.
I use my own recipe. If you still want I can write it for u

i use the Shan haleem mix and mashallah have never failed :). i made a batch last week for 2 iftars…and it was GONE…like finger licking cleaned GONE, alh! :slight_smile:

my recipe:

one onion fried and browned
2 tsp garlic ginger paste
packet of Shan haleem masalay
2 lbs boneless chicken breast
boonofy until meat is cooked and oil separates.

soak daal package from Shaan box mix (I usually add more of my owndaal and grains to it…maybe another full cup)

once meat is cooked, add daal/grains and mix. add water, cover and let simmer for a few hours. mix occasionally.

once daal/grains are cooked and meat is fully tender, use big spoon to break pieces apart and mix and serve.

good!!! People have a huge following for shan masalas but I am not big fan of them and mujhey maza bhi nahin ata packet kay masaley sey bana kar :chilly:. bas apni apni adat hoti hai na. no criticism on anyone at all. I do however use Shan masalas for enhancing flavour may be 3-4 tsp

Nabz that is exactly how I start the haleem process but then mush the chicken in a processor after a few hours and give Tarka and let simmer. No fail since the first time I made it a few years ago.

I am craving for Haleem now :yummy: kon bana raha hay? idher bhe bhej de :hehe:

Laziza is better than Shan masala!

Shaan’s Haleem mix is really good, very simple to follow the recipe. I wanted to try national’s haleem mix, but the directions are bit difficult. Why go find ur own ingredients when everything is in one box. I usually add more spices to make a bit hot though.

Have anyone tried National’s haleem mix?

Question to those guppans who use chicken breast in the haleem…is it along with the beef/mutton or just chicken alone?
is the taste any different than the regular authetic haleem? why not just make it with ‘barra/mutton goshst’ :konfused:

Help me make haleem!!

I don’t like using boneless chicken breast if I’m making chicken haleem…it’s too dry. I prefer using boneless chicken thigh, as the dark meat has more flavor. And I only make chicken haleem if I’m having someone over who doesn’t/can’t eat red meat. Otherwise it’s beef all the way!!!

thanks guys - and nice to see some Laziza fans out there too! I think I’ll try the packet mix first before I venture out and make the ‘real deal’ (thanks Mostar95 for your recipe I will try that once I become more adventurous!) And yes AFayiz pls write your recipe here too - I tend to read all recipes and then pick the bits I like from each recipe to create my own version :slight_smile:

Also - chicken, lamb or beef for haleem? Which meat is best?