Help.. advice... :(

AOA,

i never thought i wld actually be writing one of such issues, which i have been reading here on GS.

well, my brother got engaged to our cousin. It’s been 6-7 months ( arranged) . A month back my brother called me and he seemed very upset, saying that our cousin behaves very badly, does not respect our family & him and on top of all that, she talks in a manner which hurts my brother. I cooled him down, and said him, u tend to fight between engagement period, its normal, just try to be calm and ignore if she says something which hurts you etc etc

now, he called me again yesterday, he was very very furious, and angry and he said he wants to get out of it now :S i talked to my mother and she said she’s very much worried because of what is going on between the two.

NOW, i need opinion, I said to my brother that i’ll talk to our cousin, (becoz it is important to know her point of view ofcourse, i cant 100% accept what brother dear is saying, i need to know the problem and issues of my bhabi-to-be too). I am really really skeptical and scared, that SHOULD i talk to her about this matter or not? How will she take it? she is younger than me ( 6 -7 years), we always had a good relation with each other.

yesterday, my brother said he can not struggle with her through all his life, but i think he’s just angry becoz of something she might have said. i kept saying him try a bit more, she’s young, immature etc etc but his point is she does not respect him. This is so bad, i wish things turn back again :frowning:

advice plz, shd i or shd i not ask my cousin, or because as per my brother’s reaction, things will pretty soon be in front of the elders, i think it will be much more complicated then, i personally, want to give it a try on our level…

?

Re: Help.. advice... :(

ure right it is important for u guys to get her point of view as well.
you can talk to her directly or your parents can talk to her parents ?

i think it wld be better if i talk first ( friendly way) you know

but i am really afraid becoz my brother was furioussss.... i asked him, that if she stops misbehaving, then it ok with you?

he said i am not going to compromise for anything now :( i mean on her behaviour

^your brother is already expected to make his rejection public.....so you can talk to the girl......and tell your brother to hold it...untill you have talked it out with the girl......

then wats the problem?itz just the engagement..if girl is not willing to compromise,itz better to take out ur brother from all this for his peace of mind...u should talk to the girl first...

i will have to, i dont even know what i'll say to her :S this is so confusing

will it be ok, if i tell her that my brother is thinking abt ending the engagement seriously because of her behavior? because she likes him a lot, and in the beginning my brother was happy too, but now he's compelled by her behavior...

i think i'll have to tell her this, because she's ruining it herself... i hate family politics i hate it

^ I don't know if you should start out by saying this. She'll feel it is a threat and get defensive. You might just need to mention that you noticed the two of them were upset with each other and if you can help?

it's only an engagement, if your brother isn't interested anymore it's best to not get married into a situation like that. Ofcourse warn her of whats happening, because she may just be joking around while your brother takes that to be "disrespect"

I think you should talk to her in friendly way. In fact i will suggest you to take your brother with you and sit with them and solve their problems. May be they both are immature and have high expectation with each other. And i agree here you should talk to them first before involving your parents.

i wish i cld make us all three sit together, that is the best way to solve the 'misunderstanding' kind of situation. however, we live in three different countries * double sigh*

anyways, yes she might get defensive, that's why i am so confused :(

well, i have planned to talk to her today inshAllah, she's a nice decent girl and so is my brother, both have a great reputation in the family... i dont understand why they are not being compatible with each other :S

Allah karay dono ko aqal aa jaey amin

thx for the suggestions :)

I think the best thing is to speak to her...butter her up and say iv always thought of you as my younger sister and take the 'im saying it cos i care' type approach.

Ask her plainly if there is something wrong between her and your brother. Hopefully it will flow from there. If not you will have to probe her and tell her your brother phoned you and seemed upset. Don't mention he was angry just say he was upset. Don't make it out that its all her fault or even that your brother implied it was her fault.

All i can say is even if 2 people are nice individuals, sometimes the 2 can bring out the worst in each other. Sometimes it is not meant to be. And if it isn't we just accept the hand we have been dealt and do dua to Allah.

Speak to her. I dont know if saying your brother mentioned the issues to you is a good idea because that is another fight right there..."I cant believe you complained to your sister about me". So be careful choosing your words and how you approach her. Your rishta with her is nazuk as well and things can become sensitive.

Also, if the problems are of the worst kind...where there is a true lack of respect...then its best to end things now. You dont want to knowingly put two people who are wrong for each other together only to separate after.

well i talked to her and she admit that she said something very rude to my brother and that she is very sorry

but now my brother is not listening, he is saying that it's been more than 2 weeks since they've talked, and now she is worried only because i talked to her :S he is saying he cant't compromise anymore

i think he shd give her a chance...

How old is the guy and girl? They sound immature. Maybe none should marry until they are older and more mature.

It's important for them to decide now before their nikkah otherwise if they do nikkah and hate each other then getting a divorce is going to be awkward and could even break family relations.

brother is 27 and the girl is 18...

and hmm well bhai told me that whenever they fight, she stops talking to my mother and he said he kept saying her to just talk to ammi once but she said no :S which is also bothering him :S

this is something i really dont expect her to do, she is not like that.... its becoming a mess now...

^ 18 is young. I'm only 19 and I was an idiot a year ago... Probably still am really naive... And def not ready to get married..

Plust he's 27? Of course he's gonna be all like ohh she doesn't respect me.. No matter how much he may or may not love her, he'll always pick on how much elder he is to her...

I just don't know if she's mature enough to handle that.

she doesnt seem mature enough to deal with an engagement to be honest, there is probably a maturity gap its almost a difference of 10 years....

You see, here is the problem now. The Girl is 18, and the guy is 27, so obviously there is a huge age gap. Guy is in the age where he is ready to get married, while girl is in the age where she is ready to start college and needs time to grow up and experience life. It would make more sense to let the girl grow up and complete her education first. 18 is too young and immature age for marriage! Mid 20's makes more sense, IMO.